We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel - lovely oasis in a busy city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moresco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Moresco to your Saves list
Hotel Moresco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 383 Hotels in Venice
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A great hotel - lovely oasis in a busy city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We chose the Hotel Moresco on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews and were very glad we did. It was so well located, just a short walk from the main station (we had arrived by train) and within easy access of all the sights. A 10 minute walk had us at the Accademia and the vaporetto stops were even closer, so we were able to come back to the hotel during the day if we wanted to. The hotel overlooks a little canal and was SO quiet at night (a welcome respite to the crazy hustle and bustle of daytime Venice). We stayed 7 nights at the hotel and although it was among the most expensive accommodation of our overseas trip, we decided this was Venice and the comfort this hotel offered was worth the extra. It may be worth noting that, as for some other hotels in big cities, the room price differs depending on when you stay, so weekends are a good deal more expensive than other weekdays. The hotel staff were consistently friendly and welcoming and this added to the enjoyment of our stay - they were very keen to please us and help us and this seemed entirely genuine. Breakfast was a highlight and there was also a Happy Hour where finger food was provided if you ordered a drink (we didn't do this, but lots of other residents did). We had a Superior room in the loft, which was spacious and well appointed, with a very comfortable bed. There was a lovely bakery and also some reasonably priced restaurants close by. We would definitely return to the Hotel Moresco on a future visit.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms in the loft, which means you aren't disturbed by lots of opening and clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    77
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
84
761
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Upon check in we were asked for our passports and given a complementary welcome drink as they filled out some paperwork. After finishing our drink, our luggage was already in our room and we were taken to it. The room was clean, modern, well-lit. The bathroom actually had a bathtub which is unusual for most of Europe. We were given a bottle of sparkling wine in our room (we booked it as such through their website but I think it was a deal where it was free or nomimal as I dont usually go for those type of things). The staff was always warm in their greetings and they must remember who shows up at breakfasts because at our first morning at the hotel instead of just a good morning, we also got a "nice to meet you" which we did not get on any subsequent trip to breakfast. The breakfast was pretty good with pastries, cheeses, fruit, and the option for omlettes and to make your own mimosas. We enjoyed eating our breakfast in the room outside of where breakfast was served because it was just more comfortable for us, but were were never forgotten about because we were not in the main dining area.

The hotel is also close to the train station, a huge plus for those not familiar to how difficult Venice is to traverse. The streets are not well marked and we actually found ourselves looking at the mcdonalds maps on the trashcans. Somehow, 10 minutes into our walk, we stumbled onto Hotel Moreseco. I had directions but a map is much better for Venice. I'd stay here again, no questions asked.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel was our first stop on our brief tour of Northern Italy.We stayed for just one night. It is ideally situated less than five minutes walk from Piazzale Roma, where we got a bus to from the airport for €6 (bargain compared to the expensive water taxis and water buses)
The hotel itself is a perfect example of a boutique hotel, we arrived a little early and our room wasnt quite ready but we were given a seat in the beautiful garden and brought coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. We were then brought to our room which was beautifully decorated and came complete with a Nespresso machine. The shower was also amazing.
The hotel is away from the chaos of the main tourist trek but near enough that we were able to walk everywhere around the city. There are also a number of restaraunts around the corner.
Could go on but I think anybody who reads this will get the point, Simply amazing all round, staff, location, surroundings. Well worth the money (not just because my now fiance and I got engaged here).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I chose Moresco because of the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. We arrived at the airport and decided to take a private water taxi directly to the hotel doorstep which was the perfect introduction to Venice. My husband and I stayed in a superior room which was spacious, comfortable and quiet. Oh yes, and a welcome bottle of Prosecco. The staff was professional, courteous and helpful. The breakfast was delicious including the fresh coffee/cappuccino and eggs if you ask for them. I loved the location of the hotel as it was close to everything but in a quiet area. I could not imagine staying too close to Piazza San Marco. Enjoy your stay and don't forget to get lost!

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room with canal view, however, the building across from us was not Venetian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A lovely hotel located only 5 minutes from the bus station at Piazzale Roma, yet far enough away to give a quiet hotel experience. The staff were very friendly, and the rooms were styled with a modern Venetian theme. Free WiFi was very handy, the breakfast was very good, and as part of our package we had a bottle of prosecco & a basket of fruit on arrival which was very nice! There are some lovely restaurants close by, and our favourite gelateria, Grom, was only 10 to 15 minutes walk in Piazza San Barnaba.

Room Tip: All rooms are different, so enquire with the hotel if you have a particular need for extra space, or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broendby, Denmark
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

After reading all the great reviews on Tripadvisor for the Moresco, we decided to spend our 4 days vacation there.
And everything you read in the reviews are true, the service is really good, similar to the service you expect in asia, but not on a european hotel.
From the moment you step in the door, you feel at home. The rooms and the interior are all renovated and working as brand new.

The hotel is perfectly situated, you can walk to all attractions, and the area is quiet in the evening and nights. We took a watertaxi to the hotel from the airport,
but it is not a problem to take a waterbus, bus or normal taxi to the Piazzale Roma, where there is a 5 min. walk to the hotel.

Breakfast is good, but you need to ask the waiter (he will also ask you) for any kind of eggs, bacon or pancakes. There is not a big breakfast buffet, but when you get any kind of freshly made eggs from the kitchen, you do not miss anything. The coffee is the best I have ever had in a hotel.

The bar is great for a short rest before dinner, or after dinner - plenty of snacks during happy-hour.

The room we stayed in, was spacious with great view of the canal passing by the hotel. Big kingsize bed, bathroom with big showerhead and good waterpressure.
Day 2 we came back to our room and they had installed a Nespresso machine, best thing after a day of canalwalking.

If you go to Venice in September, just beware of mosquitoes, they are really hungry at that time.

Highly recommend this hotel, going to Venice - no doubt stay at the Moresco.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in May to celebrate my birthday. We arrived early evening to a warm welcome from friendly staff and were offered a complimentary drink of our choice and selection of canapés in the comfy bar area, which was a very nice surprise. We were shown to our comfortable room which had a modern bathroom and a luxurious shower. The room wasn’t huge, but it was enough for a short stay and the bed was very comfortable and big enough for 4 people - not that we tested that of course!. The hotel is very clean throughout and has some glorious paintings dotted around. The breakfast was delicious with eggs/bacon to order and a good choice buffet, as well as a glass of cava if you fancied starting the day off with some fizz!

The hotel is very convenient for the bus and rail station. Just a stroll away are some lovely restaurants, bars and shops, and its around a 30min walk into St Mark’s square, maybe less if you didn't continue to get lost like we did. But it’s a splendid walk, however long, passing through the wonderful lanes, over many bridges, browsing in the many many shops, eating in the wonderful restaurants and sipping away Italian wine in the variety of bars. That, as well as the amazing sights that Venice has to offer. This was my first visit and I was simply amazed at the whole place and I would definitely recommend staying at the wonderful Hotel Moresco to enhance your experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Moresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moresco

Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moresco 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Moresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moresco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.