We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moresco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Moresco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Moresco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy (San Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 382 hotels in Venice
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

hotel is great with lots of nice touches. breakfast was very good, nice food, eggs and bacon if required, and you can either eat indoors or in the garden. rooms where very nicely decorated, with great aircon, we had to have a quilt!! evening happy was great, little snacks for free with a nice drink.
we used the hotel to our sellected resturants, which we arranged well in advance, they were great at this. they also arrange private water taxi and then car back to airport (nice black merc).
location is great, just away from the main areas but close enough, just as we wanted.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

561 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    509
    46
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
422
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cornelius, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

There's a reason this hotel is ranked #2 out of all the hotels in Venice. From the moment we walked through the entrance, it was an outstanding experience.

The classy and romantic atmosphere of Hotel Moresco surpassed every expectation.

Mirco and Barbara at the reception desk were very attentive to our needs and they seemed to be determined to ensure we had a great time.

Alex, who seemed to be a jack of all trades, was a true pleasure to talk with and he worked very hard to accommodate the needs of every guest. They are lucky to have him. (He deserves a raise!)

A few tips:
- We stayed in room 108 and as far as we were concerned, it was perfect. It was a corner room that gave you a great view of the canal.
- If arriving by plane, set up a water taxi through the hotel when making your reservation. It takes you door to door from the airport to Hotel Moresco and it's the perfect way to begin the amazing experience you'll have in Venice.
- Forget the water bus when trying to San Marco Square. It's faster and cheaper to walk. The water bus takes a very long time and it's very uncomfortable and hot when it gets crowded. (It was in the mid 90's when we visited and we still found walking to be the best route.)
- If you have trouble walking and are not rich, the water bus is the best route.
- If you don't mind the expense or have several people in your group to share the expense, the water taxi is nice. It cost around 60-70 euros for very short rides...we didn't feel it was worth it for general sight seeing & exploration.
- If you would like to visit Moreno, be sure to make a reservation through the hotel. They will provide you with a free taxi that will take you directly to one of the glass factories. That tour is also free. You're on your own to get back to Venice. (A taxi here might be the way to go. This is a much longer trip. We had friends that took the bus and it took them over an hour.)
- The best meal we had there was at Enoteca Ai Artista...my wife and I are true Foodies and we both found it to be an all around amazing experience. It's less than a 10 min walk from the hotel. (They will set reservations for you at the hotel).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Morescco for 4 nights, I highly recommend you try to avoid carrying too much luggage. You will have to walk up and down canals etc, even to train station 15 min walk. Boat ride to train station whopping 50 Eur. Suggest you get a taxi service to hotel cost 50 Eur as you seriously will get lost. Hotel feels like a bed and breakfast but of course with amenities of hotel. Clean and spacious. I stayed in both the canal and superior room and both are spacious rooms. Superior room has more shower gadgets compared to canal room which is the upgraded one. Croissants amazing- downside menu- should provide menu for breakfast for guest to know what they can order. They make decent cuppacino. Recommend 3 nights Venice - I went to amazing Leonardo da Vinci exhibition in one of the churches- loved it. St Marc's square of course is lovely. Amazing culturally rich place to visit( my 2nd time) Mosquito season in July bring repellent. Dinner average for 2 adult one child around 47 Eur without alcohol

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from staying here and we have to say; the Hotel Moresco is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. It is classical with modern twists and very romantic. The staff are amazing, the rooms are beautiful and clean, and the breakfast buffet is enough to get you through to supper.

We had just come from a rubbish hotel in Rome, so this hotel had a lot of ill feelings to deal with. After we eventually found it (10 minutes from Piazzle Roma) we were greated with cold drinks and biscotti, our bags were taken care of and our room air conditioned. We could even see the canal (room 204).

I would recommend this hotel to anyone considering a visit. Thank you Hotel Moresco for a truly memorable stay. Thanks to your hotel saving our holiday, I plucked up the courage to propose - she said yes :)

We hope to visit again soon. For me, 4 stars are not enough.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were here for two nights before our cruise. The staff is terrific - very helpful in every way. Our room was nice and overlooked the canal. We were lucky to have air conditioning. Venice was hot and so many people we met were complaining that their hote was not air conditioned. We had breakfast every day in the lovely garden. Get the bacon and eggs!
Also, this is key, have the hotel arrange for a car to meet you at the airport and help you get your luggage to the hotel. You really only get to the hotel front door by water taxi -- an expensive way to get from the airport. If you just get a taxi - he can only go to the Piazelle Roma, and you have to deal with your luggage for about a ten minute walk ove at least one bridge.
You can access te vaporettos along the Grand Canal by walking about 15-20 minutes in either direction from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal. It's a charming location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for our honey moon for 2 days. Amazing hotel, very romantic but stylish and modern at the same time. The Hotel is amazingly decorated and the rooms are very comfortable and clean. We chose a bathroom with shower and it was superb. Our room also had a access to a private small patio which was perfect for a midnight champagne and chocolates.
The Hotel staff was very welcoming, nice and helpful. The breakfast was good with the chance of sitting in the outside garden. The Hotel is quite well located near Piazzale Roma and near several restaurants and coffees. Hope to come back again and strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The reviews don't lie!, this hotel is a gem! Only a short walk away from the train/bus stations, this hotel is unassuming from the outside, but on the inside the people, the service and the rooms are second to none. The hotel is located in a quieter neighbourhood in Venice but only a very short walk to excellent restaurants and popular destinations. The staff here were fantastic and extremely helpful with every request and suggestions on what to do whilst in the magnificent city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Moresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moresco

Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 382 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moresco 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Moresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moresco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.