We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The waiter even made a heart in our Cappucino” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moresco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Moresco to your Saves list
Hotel Moresco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy (San Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Paramus, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The waiter even made a heart in our Cappucino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Outstanding hotel away from main touristy areas. Would highly recommend!! Room was indeed very romantic and bathroom had mood changing led lights. Very sexy! If you hate romantic rooms with lots of character, please avoid this hotel. =)

Room Tip: Try to get second floor rooms in order to get canal views. Hotel is beautiful regardless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    59
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
58
533
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The other reviews are right, this exceeded my expectations all around. It comes together in a lovely and welcoming atmosphere that can almost make you want to stay inside and relax after a hectic month of work. But Venice calls! The location is really good because you really are only a 5-10 minute walk from where the buses park, and you're in an area where you are more likely to see actual Italians. Every single staff member was ready to help however they could and it didn't take five days to feel like I had a home in Venice. The nibbles at Happy Hour made a relaxing break even better. I can't wait to return. Really. Walking tip: from the bus drop, you'll see a canal in front of you and a huge white footbridge--that's not the one you want. If you were to stand at the top of that with the buses behind you and look to your right, you'd see a smaller white footbridge that is the second footbridge to the right of where you're standing. You walk to the right on the sidewalk that goes in front of bus parking area for just a minute, walk through the collection of touristy stands towards the canal and bear to the right. That's your white bridge. Cross it and you'll see a wooden footbridge, and you cross that too. Ahead you'll see a covered walk that goes under a building and you walk straight through that. The hotel is straight ahead and you'll see the name clearly displayed.

Room Tip: See my note about walking directions. We were told we had a garden view, which was true, but we als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This delightful small hotel, only 23 rooms, is situated very close to Piazzale Roma which is very convenient if you have travelled to Venice from either airport by bus. The hotel is a short trip (about 150 meters) over two small bridges. Very easy to get there pulling luggage particularly with instructions that were sent by the hotel at the time of booking. We stayed in Room 108 which overlooked a small canal at the front of the hotel and were extremely pleased with the view. The size of the bedroom and the bathroom (without bath) were large and both rooms were very clean and tastefully decorated in a middle-eastern meets west kind of way. There is sufficient storage space and a safe. The buffet breakfast was great and provided a variety of choices from fresh fruit, croissants, cold meat & cheese to bacon and eggs. The hotel is situated in a quiet part of Venice which suited us perfectly. More lively areas were within easy walking distance or a short trip on the Vaporetto. There is a Vaporetto stop at the Piazzale Roma (as well as a Coop store if required). There are a number of lovely restaurants serving nice Italian home-style dishes along the canal at the back of the hotel which we preferred after having tried those in and around the Rialto bridge which was a lot livelier but too noisy for our liking. Whilst the location, the size of the rooms and cleanliness of the hotel were commendable it was the service we received from each and every staff member that made our stay so memorable. The manager has obviously carefully hand-picked his staff. They were absolutely brilliant and I can honestly say that in all my years travelling I have ever experienced such a collective will to please by every member of hotel staff. Nothing was ever too much trouble and all the staff were helpful and full of suggestions when asked. They were extremely attentive but without being obtrusive, consequently I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this hotel. A real gem in a very beautiful city!

Room Tip: Room 108 at the front has a delightful view of the canal that runs outside the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore/San Francisco
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Beautiful room with all the modern amenities and a very large shower (especially for Venice!) and comfortable bed, yet still with a good Venitian character.

Breakfast was very good with fantastic Italian coffee and a great mix of continental buffet (breads, pastries, cold cuts, fruit) and hot cooked served food (omelettes). We had great weather so we were able to eat breakfast in the garden, which was very nice. The little library is cute and the ambiance feels very authentic. The staff was helpful and spoke fluent english and french.

The map that they sent to help us find it was totally useless and we got lost finding the place multiple times (a common situation in Venice). It turned out to be very close to the bus station which was good for convenience but bad for cuteness. This was not in the cutest neighborhood of Venice - it was OK and there was a canal out front, but it wasn't surrounded by windy tiny streets to the same degree that many other neighborhoods of Venice are. That said, all of Venice is a wonderland of awesomeness, so the standards are high. Also, the really cute neighborhoods tend to have tons of tourists, so this neighborhood being more residential also had the benefit of fewer tourists (definitely avoid the hotels right next to the train station). If you've never been to venice before, I'm sure you'll think this neighborhood is super cute - just explore more and you'll see that it does actually get cuter.

Overall, it was a good compromise to have an awesome room in a quieter area. It was a relatively good value for money (for Venice), although if you're staying in the off season you may want to stay somewhere more central.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We came on our honeymoon to this quaint hotel along a canal (not sure of the name!) in Venice. We travelled from Rome via train and thus could walk to the hotel (about a 10 min walk). The hotel is beautifully finished with all the trimmings one would expect from a 4 star. Our room was not overly spacious (contrary to the reviews we had read) but this could be because we booked a very basic room.

The service and attention to detail was so one on one we just loved it. There were added extras which we didn't get in our previous 5 star hotel in Rome which makes me rate this an "Excellent" experience. Free water in the rooms, a very good breakfast included and specialised attention makes this a highly recommended experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just back from a 4 night stay at Hotel Moresco. It's a charming hotel with excellent service. We arrived early by water taxi from the airport. The hotel is convenient to both the bus and train stations, but water taxi is a fun (although more expensive) way to arrive.

Our room wasn't ready yet as it was only 9:00 am, but they put us in the lovely garden with a pot of tea while they checked us in. They told us our room would be ready by Noon, so we wandered around a bit until it was ready. We were in room 203, also known as The Town Crier's Room. It had a view of a pretty garden, and you could see the canal if you looked out to the right. I agree with another reviewer that the canal view was of a more modern section of Venice, and not necessarily any better than the garden view rooms. The room was small but lovely, with a beautifully tiled bathroom, large walk-in shower and good storage space on the shelves. The changing colored lights was a fun touch, and the fluffy robes and slippers were very nice. The beds were comfortable. My only complaint in the room was that there were only 6 hangers in the rather small closet.

The breakfast was wonderful and we ate outside in the lovely garden every day. You could order eggs any way, and bacon; and in the buffet they had a great selection of fresh fruit, delicious pastries, cold cuts and cheese, juice and water and always a bottle of prosecco in case you wanted to start your day with a mimosa.

In the afternoon, the bar opened and served a nice selection of appetizers. Drinks were reasonable and it was nice to have a cocktail either in the lovely bar or in the garden before going out for the evening. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and accommodating.

Another plus...the Wifi connection was fantastic. Very strong and you didn't need a password to connect.

Thanks for a lovely stay, Moresco! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our stay at Hotel Moresco, Venice, was better than excellent. Hotel is absolutely beautiful! Has all the charm and character one could hope for. Staff is always available and very helpful. Rooms are modern and well appointed. Breakfast is the best we ever had. Everyting is clearly fresh and homemade. They even provide bacon and eggs at no additional cost. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Moresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moresco

Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moresco 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Moresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moresco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.