We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this hotel! Would definitely stay again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moresco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Moresco to your Saves list
Hotel Moresco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 383 Hotels in Venice
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We loved this hotel! Would definitely stay again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When you initially arrive to Venice from the train station you kind of get lost but if you stop and look around it really isn't far at all. 5 minute walk. Beautiful hotel and nicely decorated with lots of attention to detail. That's what we loved about it.....attention to details. Also convenient walk to San Marco and the Grand Canal for the vaporettos. You will definitely get lost in Venice but that's the fun and beauty of it. We LOVED Venice and can't wait to go back. And our stay in this hotel made it even more special. With a free Prosecco bottle upon arrival. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We got the room with Garden view but you could still see the water from it. I don't think view i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    77
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
84
763
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel was lovely and the room was great. But what makes the Hotel Moresco worth staying at is the staff. They were all (from the desk to the wait staff) were so extraordinarily courteous and helpful! We will stay at the Hotel Moresco again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Moresco was simply lovely. The hotel itself is charming, warm and inviting. The staff is a reflection of what I just described. The rooms are modern and sexy. The high tech bathrooms are amazing. We all agreed that the shower was the best part. Breakfast was included and there was something for everyone. 4 stars? No way, this place is a jewel. Lucky you, if you get to stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I don't really want to write a review as I would like to come back but have to share the love. This hotel is amazing !!!! The rooms are perfect the breakfast better than we have received elsewhere in Italy. But and the biggest plus about the hotel are the staff... No more needs to be said they make this place what it is.

I still have two more nights to stay just had to share how special this is

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Hotel Moresco for three days and two nights over New Year's Eve and we both agreed that it was quite possibly the best hotel in Venice (we have been to the city twice before) and one of the best we had ever stayed at generally. I would even say that calling the Moresco a 4* hotel is doing it a great disservice - it is certainly on a par with all of the 5* hotels we have visited across continental Europe and the UK.

If you fly into Venice Marco Polo and take the shuttle bus to Piazzale Roma, Hotel Moresco is less than 5 minutes from the bus station. Some may complain that the hotel is situated on the outskirts of the city in the lesser-known Dorsoduro area and is around 15-20 minutes from Piazza San Marco and Ponte Rialto, but if you have been to Venice before you will know that the further you are from these tourist hubs, the better. Instead of being charged inordinately higher prices for a smaller, lower-quality hotel with questionable service, staying at the Moresco will give you exceptional accommodation and far more value for money, not to mention being well away from the mad centre of Venice.

If you haven't gathered from previous reviews, Hotel Moresco is new. Very new. At the time of writing, the hotel had only been open for six months (since July 2012) and still looks and feels brand new. All the fixtures and fittings sparkle and shine, and everything - from the high-spec bathrooms to the luxurious wood-panelled bar area and the guest-use iPad at reception - oozes quality and class. If you have been to Venice before, you will most likely have stayed in a dusty, crumbling palazzo which has seen better days - the Moresco couldn't be more different. It is obvious that someone has set out to create something very special with Hotel Moresco and has put a lot of money into achieving just that.

We had booked a classic room with canal view (Classic con Vista) and asked for the Gondolier's room as it was the only classic room with a bath. The room was perfect - larger than most Venetian hotel rooms with a soft bed, small seating area, desk and flat-screen TV - and it is noticeably high-spec from the start. The key card system, now used by most modern hotels, is taken to a new level with magnetic touch access and the futuristic LED panels outside each room (which show whether the room your occupied, vacant or set to "Do Not Disturb") are like something from Star Trek. The bathroom, similarly futuristic, had high-quality fittings and was very luxurious indeed.

Having read all of the above, most people by now would be thinking about price. If the Moresco is so incredible surely the cost is astronomical, making it unaffordable for everyone except Hollywood stars and Russian oligarchs? Happily not. We paid €370 for two nights (including breakfast) and booked via Expedia, which worked out at about £150 per night. Not cheap, certainly, but well worth the quality. On our previous trip to Venice we paid around £100 per night for a more central 3* hotel which, whilst being a great base to explore the city, was dusty, tired and generally second-rate. Personally, I would far rather spend a little bit extra for the Moresco and feel terrific.

The only thing left to say about Hotel Moresco is the service. You would be forgiven for thinking that such a high-quality hotel would come with lofty staff who look down their noses at some guests, but this was not the case - we have never felt more welcomed by hotel staff or more at home. They simply could not do enough for us. A special mention must go to Lorenzo, who offered us free prosecco on at least three occasions (and on one evening a free buffet "because it's Christmas and we're happy"); Barbara, who was excellent on the front desk and impressed us with her extensive command of English and French; and Dario, who was so helpful at breakfast and a real gentleman. It is a true testament to the quality and class of the Hotel Moresco that staff who welcome new guests to the hotel every day can remain so genuine, friendly and welcoming.

So, in summary, we absolutely loved the Hotel Moresco and would defy anyone to find a better hotel in Venice. If you are looking for a relaxing, luxurious break at a top-quality and welcoming hotel, far enough away from the madness of San Marco but close enough for sightseeing, you simply will not find a better choice. When we return to Venice, which will hopefully be often, we would never stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: We stayed in a classic room with canal view (Classic con Vista), which was more than adequate. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

On our recent visit to Venice, we stayed in Hotel Moresco for 3 nights. This hotel is simply wonderful, it makes us feel like home. The room was simply amazing and superbly clean! upon our arrival we had asked for a smoking room, instead of providing us with a smoking room, we were given a room with a smoking area attached to it which was more than we could have expected. The room was huge and the the bed was comfy. The only thing this hotel did not have was a 24hours room service, but it is worth just without it. On our second night, I came down to the lobby to ask if there is any shops open because I was looking for a place to get myself a cup of coffee or an expresso. The guy from the hotel insisted that he made us both coffee himself which was not part of his task. I will definitely recommend Hotel Moresco to anyone going up to Venice without a doubt! Thank you for making our trip a memorable one!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMorescoStaff, Responsabile reception at Hotel Moresco, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guests,
thank you very much for your kind words of appreciation. We always try to do our best to meet your expectations and to make your stay even more pleasant.
We will be glad to welcoming you in your next visit in Venice and we wish you happy new year!
Best regards,
Barbara Marcato
Hotel Moresco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

the staff was beyond awesome. arranged concerts, got us special kosher food without us even asking, all smiles. we also liked the location very close to bus terminal and in a quiet side hub. wish i could go back soon

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMorescoStaff, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Moresco, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Sirs,

thank you for your gratifying feedback.
We always try to do our best trying to meet guests expectations.
And also what do you not expect!
We hope to have the chance to surprise you again.

Sincerely,

Fabio Feliziani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Moresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moresco

Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moresco 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Moresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moresco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.