We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moresco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Moresco to your Saves list
Hotel Moresco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 384 Hotels in Venice
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Having stayed in a lot of nice hotels in Italy we have to say that the service at this hotel really stood out. It was fantastic. Upon arrival we were served an esspresso on the outside deck. Meanwhile they carried our bags up to our room. The staff detailed walking directions for several locations and made reservations at nice restaurants. This hotel is very well located as it is 5 minutes from the train station and Piazzale Roma. This is very convenient for easy arrival and departure with bags and saves a lot of frustration and money. The hotel is only about a year old so everything is in perfect condition. We needed to leave early in the morning and the staff even packed us a breakfast to go. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    73
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
75
720
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here. Lovely helpful staff, nice breakfast, clean and smartly decorated rooms, great location. Hotel also warned guests about high water and advised customers to come back to hotel beforehand. Being on high land meant we didn't suffer discomfort from it. The drinks and cookies we had in the lounge were also reasonable.

Staff made an excellent dinner reservation and reserved table for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Close to piazzale Roma. Friendly staff.
Great room.
We felt very comfortable there.
Cookies 24 hours and tea for free.

You will love it.
That was our the best hotel. We stayed too in Florence twice, Assisi.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Echo the comments from earlier reviews. We had a superior room overlooking the Rio Nuovo and it was spacious, and kept meticulously clean throughout our stay. Staff were A1 throughout, friendly and helpful with recommendations for places to eat. Good room soundproofing, so you get a great night's sleep. Breakfast room is lovely, and choice of food was good. Had breakfast in their tranquil garden as well as it was warm, and that is even nicer!
The location is great, not just because it is convenient when you arrive/depart Venice, but it is a more peaceful area than the tourist-packed St Marks square & Rialto Bridge areas. I'd say its about 20 minutes walk to Rialto, 1/2 hour to St Marks, but what's the rush - get lost in Venice and see the quiet canals as it's worth it.
Only things I'd say is I wished they had tea/coffee making facilities in the room and DVDs or movie channels, as for UK visitors you just get BBC World news. Loved the place and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Hotel Moresco is a lovely boutique style hotel with superb decor throughout. The staff are excellent, very helpful and actually made us feel that they really cared about making sure our stay was as enjoyable as possible.

Location is excellent, only a short walk from the taxi/bus drop off point. Breakfast is a delight and again the waiting staff were superb.

The rooms are very comfortable, tastefully decorated and exceptionally clean.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for anyone wanting to stay away from the main tourist areas but with easy access to any part of Venice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have just spent 4 nights @ the Hotel Moresco in Venice. It was our first visit to Venice and this hotel suited us perfectly.

In Venice, location IS everything. When you are newly arrived, you do not want to have to struggle to find your hotel, nor do you want to be lugging cases up & down steps over lots of bridges, nor battling against a tide of tourists in the St Mark's Square area - and we saw lots of people having to do just this. Hotel Moresco solves all these difficulties.

Having decided that we would travel by road from the airport, we found that the "drop-off point" would be Piazzale Roma - that is where all road traffic (bus, taxi) terminates - and therefore we wanted to stay fairly near to Piazzale Roma. In addition, we wanted a hotel away from the busy Piazza San Marco (St Mark's Square). This hotel meets both requirements. It is less than 5minutes walk from Piazzale Roma, with only 1 bridge to cross (an important point when you have luggage to carry), in a mainly commercial area, which is thus fairly quiet.
But it is only about 20minutes walk from Piazza San Marco and all the main "sights" of Venice are in easy walking distance. In short, perfect location.

The hotel is small, newly renovated but in a traditional style. Beautiful windows & light fittings. The bar & breakfast room are both attractive rooms. We had a good-sized bedroom, very well fitted out, with a large comfortable bed; well fitted bathroom with an excellent shower.

Good choice for breakfast and freshly cooked eggs are available if you wish.

There is a small garden area at the side, with tables & chairs; this is useful for a quiet relax on a sunny day when you need to re-charge batteries between sight-seeing excursions!

Last but not least, as everybody has commented - the staff! Friendly and so helpful. If you are struggling with anything (especially how to find your way somewhere) just ask. And of course they can suggest places to eat. Incidentally, although the hotel is in a mainly commercial area, there are plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance; those suggested by the hotel which we tried were good.

In short, this is a great small hotel and we wouldn't hesitate to stay again if we return to Venice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Moresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moresco

Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moresco 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Moresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moresco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.