We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B San Firmino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added B&B San Firmino to your Saves list
B&B San Firmino
Campo Santa Maria Formosa, Sestiere Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 439 Venice B&B and Inns
Lake Arrowhead, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cozy place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Privately owned little place, centrally located. Luciano, the owner only has a few rooms but they are beautifully decorated and clean. He was very helpful and always ready to tell us the shortcuts and most economical "locals" way the go. Quiet, rustic 15c., I believe. Sits next to a canal so great view and in the evening live saxophone music outside. Would return for sure. Breakfast was good too

Room Tip: As to see rooms and he'll gladly show them to you. We had 2 bedroom suite 120euros
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a great location for walking anywhere in Venice. Our room was large charmingly furnished and we even had a fridge. We looked over a small canal and my favorite thing to do was enjoy prosecco in the evening and watching the gondolas go by. We were right off the breakfast room as others mentioned we woke up early in Venice to walk around before the cruise ships and tour groups appeared then came back for breakfast so the noise was not a problem for us. Our room was even cleaned while we were on our morning walk. The day we left we had to leave quite early but the owner got up and put out breakfast for us so we didn't miss it! Down the small ally by the canal is a grocery good for getting water, wine etc. Directly across from the hotel is a foccacia pizza place and a cheese shop. The owner doesn't speak much English which was not a problem. We bought a map when we got off the train and managed to find the hotel after only a couple wrong turns. I thought it was a good value and was a great experience. Previously I had stayed in Lido and a larger hotel further away it was worth the extra money to be right in the middle of everything for the entire stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a small and unique place in a good location with big rooms and reasonable price for venice. There are two problems though - the owner does not speak good english and it is sometimes problematic in a place like venice where help is needed. Second thing is our room was entered through the breakfast room and in the morning the noise woke us up.
Overall would recommend and go back

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My family booked the larger room facing the Campo Santa Maria. Cafés, vendors, and 5 min walks to San Marco or Rialto. It's an ideal location. Our stay included free WiFi, modern bathroom, fridge, a dining room with a comfortable couch and bedroom that could sleep 3-4 people comfortably. This room also offered it's own private entry which I loved.
Just off the bedroom is access to the large common room that is beautifully furnished. Off of this room is the dining room where breakfasts are served by the delightful staff. The owner, Luciano, always seemed to be there when we needed something or had a question, and you can tell that he loves his place from the atmosphere. Just a delightful stay.
I might add more to this review once I look into the building a bit more. This was once a very affluent Palazzo for some family of repute many years past.

Room Tip: Even for couples, book the larger room for its private entry and romantic views of the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

After a short walk off of the main tourist road we found our B&B on a lovely plaza. The room was quite spacious and lovely. The view from our room was on a side canal with gondoliers passing by. Quite a memorable and lovely experience. Unsure of where to go for dinner, the owner walkes us over to a restaurant once we explained what kind of place we wanted. ABove and beyond!! Would recommend it to all!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B San Firmino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B San Firmino

Address: Campo Santa Maria Formosa, Sestiere Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B&B San Firmino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B San Firmino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.