We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely premises and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Al Squero

Osteria Al Squero
Dorsoduro, 943/944, 30123 Venice, Italy
+393356007513
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 1,203 restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Al Squero is the only Osteria in Venice exactly in front of the Ancient Squero of San Trovaso.There is no other place where appreciating from its window the construction or restoration of original Venetian gondolas. Is is a cozy and comfortable place where you can share with friends a glass of Italian wine and taste an appetizing “cicchetto” at a small price.The selection of wines you can taste or buy at Al Squero comes from small regional wine firms of Friuli, Trentino-Alto Adige and Veneto, so that it is guaranteed unique care at the quality and distinctiveness of their products
Pincourt, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“lovely premises and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We made a quick stop in Osteria Al Squero to purchase some wine (to go) and to use the facilities. The shop was immaculately clean, attractive and bright. The service was courteous. The restroom was spotless and tastefully decorated. The location was just marvelous with a view overlooking the gondola boatyard.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    130
    69
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Cappuccino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were on our "get lost in Venice" part of the day when we came upon this Osteria. While aimlessly meandering and ending up on wonderful dead end streets we found this little gem on Fondamenta Nani. An eclectic group of patrons from around the world mixed with locals to enjoy the view and have a refreshing moment. The barista was very friendly while creating our outstanding cappuccinos. Now firmly in our memories, Osteria Al Squero represents what Venice is all about...enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A great place to take a break and have a glass of wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stumbled upon this place on search for all the churches and museums we want to see. There were a lot of people out side which always grabs my attention and then the deal closer was the cheap dollar sign next to the wine. I had to stop and was I glad I did we had a glass of the white house and red house wine and both were good and then both tried a little finger food sandwich that was pretty good also!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic little wine bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I visited this great Osteria recently on a visit to Venice while staying at the Molino Stucky Hotel across the water. Came across it by accident really,as had just been dropped off by the hotel shuttle at their Zattere stop and wandered along taking a shortcut to the Accademia bridge and the Grand Canal. It's on Fondamenta Nani on the Rio S. Trovaso,across from the last remaining gondola workshop in Venice!! Spent several delightful visits there sipping on 2Euro Prosecco but there was a good list of local wines available served by the charming owner who seemed to run the place singlehandedly. My companion and I also snacked on various crostini which had amazing toppings....
I highly recommend this place,getting away from the hassle bustle of Venice and the Grand Canal

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had fun finding this place as we wandered through the Dorsoduro district of Venice. The Spritz's set the standard by which we compared all the others, although none came close. At such a reasonable price it is difficult to stop at just one, and they were in small glasses. I couldn't get too excited about the little crostini, but my sister said that they tasted good. I liked the setting of the bar as it was comfortable to spend time at.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Al Squero also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Al Squero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Al Squero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.