We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Venice happy hour!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Al Squero

Osteria Al Squero
Via trovaso,Zattere, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro / Accademia)
+393356007513
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,209 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Description: Al Squero is the only Osteria in Venice exactly in front of the Ancient Squero of San Trovaso.There is no other place where appreciating from its window the construction or restoration of original Venetian gondolas. Is is a cozy and comfortable place where you can share with friends a glass of Italian wine and taste an appetizing “cicchetto” at a small price.The selection of wines you can taste or buy at Al Squero comes from small regional wine firms of Friuli, Trentino-Alto Adige and Veneto, so that it is guaranteed unique care at the quality and distinctiveness of their products
Hollywood, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Venice happy hour!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were at Osteria Al Squero this past week and had the most amazing time. The service was the best I had the entire time I was in italy (1 week). The waitress took her time with us, she recommended excellent wines and spritz; including the best crostinis in town.
I regret not going back the next day:(

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    137
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful small tipical osteria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We found this place in reccomendetion by Hotel Palazzo Guardi that is 1 minute away from there.
Wowww the view to The squero is really interesting and unique.
Cicchetti were delicius and fresh!
Cicchetti + ombra = paradise

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for lunch and pre dinner spritz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We ate and drank here a couple of times in April 13. Great value spritz, fresh crostini and good location.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Chicchetti on the wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Great little place with, shock horror, cheap drinks and super snacks in Venice. Grab your spritz, and a plate of crostini, constantly refreshed from the kitchen and sit in the canal wall watching the boatyard opposite at work. Lots of locals popping in. The owner is really laid back and carefully prepares all the drinks individually. Drink and a snack for less than five Euros.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good value Spritz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

After a long day of walking the narrow streets of Venice we stumbled upon this tapas bar when we were heading north towards the train station. We noticed people sat on the wall outside having their refreshments. When we saw that an Aperol Spritz was 2.20 Euros and a bottle of beer was 2 Euros we didn't need second invitations to stop. It was lovely, and we were basked in sunshine on the little wall outside and there was a nice atmosphere all round. Highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Al Squero also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Al Squero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Al Squero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.