We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for lunch and pre dinner spritz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Al Squero

Osteria Al Squero
Dorsoduro, 943/944, 30123 Venice, Italy
+393356007513
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,216 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Al Squero is the only Osteria in Venice exactly in front of the Ancient Squero of San Trovaso.There is no other place where appreciating from its window the construction or restoration of original Venetian gondolas. Is is a cozy and comfortable place where you can share with friends a glass of Italian wine and taste an appetizing “cicchetto” at a small price.The selection of wines you can taste or buy at Al Squero comes from small regional wine firms of Friuli, Trentino-Alto Adige and Veneto, so that it is guaranteed unique care at the quality and distinctiveness of their products
Wellington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for lunch and pre dinner spritz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We ate and drank here a couple of times in April 13. Great value spritz, fresh crostini and good location.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    76
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Chicchetti on the wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Great little place with, shock horror, cheap drinks and super snacks in Venice. Grab your spritz, and a plate of crostini, constantly refreshed from the kitchen and sit in the canal wall watching the boatyard opposite at work. Lots of locals popping in. The owner is really laid back and carefully prepares all the drinks individually. Drink and a snack for less than five Euros.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good value Spritz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

After a long day of walking the narrow streets of Venice we stumbled upon this tapas bar when we were heading north towards the train station. We noticed people sat on the wall outside having their refreshments. When we saw that an Aperol Spritz was 2.20 Euros and a bottle of beer was 2 Euros we didn't need second invitations to stop. It was lovely, and we were basked in sunshine on the little wall outside and there was a nice atmosphere all round. Highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good cichetti”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I stopped here a couple of times for good cichetti washed down with a glass of wine.this place has advantages and disadvantages from gia Schiavi which is very close by. the cichetti aren't quite as good, but you can sit down and the service was much more welcoming and cheerful. Also, it wasn't as crowded.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Great cicchetti and my first Venetian spritz!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stopped here for lunch/spritz after completing our free walking tour. Our guide had pointed this place out and it was only 10 minute walk from our tour's ending point. Great, great, great place. Cicchetti and spritz were both fantastic. Yes, it's across from the gondola boat yard. I was more concerned with good food/drink and getting a seat inside. Check for all three requirements! And yep, € 2.20 for spritz (I did find a cheaper spritz at another place for € 2.00!). When in the Dorsoduro area, seek this place out. You won't be sorry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Al Squero also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Al Squero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Al Squero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;