We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value Spritz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Al Squero

Osteria Al Squero
Dorsoduro, 943/944, 30123 Venice, Italy
+393356007513
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,189 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Al Squero is the only Osteria in Venice exactly in front of the Ancient Squero of San Trovaso.There is no other place where appreciating from its window the construction or restoration of original Venetian gondolas. Is is a cozy and comfortable place where you can share with friends a glass of Italian wine and taste an appetizing “cicchetto” at a small price.The selection of wines you can taste or buy at Al Squero comes from small regional wine firms of Friuli, Trentino-Alto Adige and Veneto, so that it is guaranteed unique care at the quality and distinctiveness of their products
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good value Spritz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

After a long day of walking the narrow streets of Venice we stumbled upon this tapas bar when we were heading north towards the train station. We noticed people sat on the wall outside having their refreshments. When we saw that an Aperol Spritz was 2.20 Euros and a bottle of beer was 2 Euros we didn't need second invitations to stop. It was lovely, and we were basked in sunshine on the little wall outside and there was a nice atmosphere all round. Highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    84
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good cichetti”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I stopped here a couple of times for good cichetti washed down with a glass of wine.this place has advantages and disadvantages from gia Schiavi which is very close by. the cichetti aren't quite as good, but you can sit down and the service was much more welcoming and cheerful. Also, it wasn't as crowded.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Top Contributor
479 reviews 479 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
“Great cicchetti and my first Venetian spritz!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stopped here for lunch/spritz after completing our free walking tour. Our guide had pointed this place out and it was only 10 minute walk from our tour's ending point. Great, great, great place. Cicchetti and spritz were both fantastic. Yes, it's across from the gondola boat yard. I was more concerned with good food/drink and getting a seat inside. Check for all three requirements! And yep, € 2.20 for spritz (I did find a cheaper spritz at another place for € 2.00!). When in the Dorsoduro area, seek this place out. You won't be sorry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cicchetti!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Nice little place. One of the cheapest Spritz places we found. Only 2.20 Euros for an Aperol Spritz. Many Cicchetti on offer that looked lovely. Get a selection of them and sit back enjoying a sit down and a nice drink. Plenty of good quality wines at a cheap price. Closed Mondays I think as we went back and it was shut. A must when travelling to Venice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect bar.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Lovely little bar opposite gondola boat yard. Lovely selection of snacks for 1 or 1.5 euros. Delicious prosecco @ 2.20 euros a glass. Friendly service too! Splendid.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Al Squero also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Al Squero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Al Squero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.