We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Pisani Canal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Pisani Canal to your Saves list
Casa Pisani Canal
Cannaregio 6105, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #208 of 383 Hotels in Venice
dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Only OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

The hotel itself is lovely - adequate sized room - shower stall could have been bigger my husband is 6"5 so it wasn't the best experience for him.
My main complaint is the customer service or lack thereof in this hotel. We knew it was the Annex of another hotel so don't expect someone to be there all the time but we had a real issue trying to check out where there was no one there and we had a train to catch. We buzzed the sister hotel and were told several times someone would be with us in five mins - this happened three times at which point we had to leave. We actually met the receptionist randomly on our way to the train-station and she tried to get us to go back so we could pay the tourist tax in cash, needless to say we didn't. The lady that runs this hotel needs to actually learn what customer service means. On our first morning I was really sick and would have liked to have had a light breakfast in bed but she wouldn't allow my husband to bring me even a croissant. Asking her for basic things like milk on the table for coffee elicited a sigh and a blank look. She also was unable to provide a secure space for leaving bags and seemed to be asking why we wouldn't be comfortable leaving our bags in an open hallway. Not a pleasant woman to deal with. She didn't provide any type of information about the surrounding area at all. I

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    28
    7
    2
    8
See reviews for
17
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Lovely hotel complete Venice experience , Venice is a warren of tiny alleys we felt like PAC MAN while trying to find hotel, when we booked we led to believe we had booked 2 separate rooms, but were given 1large family room 1double room and a double put me up bed, bearing in mind I was traveling with my husband, sister and my mother, we Aired our disappointment, then all of a sudden they no longer understood English, we obvs were offered an extra room for extra cost, the breakfast was quite good as long as you didn't want more than 1 coffee because more than 1 there was a charge even if the rest of us had tea.

Room Tip: Ideal for couples, family's beware
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Davids
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We wanted a hotel that overlooked a quiet canal in a peaceful area not too far from the hustle and bustle of the city. We found it!
We booked 3 nights in a junior suite. The room was just as we had hoped, a little over the top but perfect for a stay in this special romantic city. Four poster bed and sumptuous decor, with two small balcony views of a quiet little canal.
Not many facilities were provided however, we had the basics, hair dryer, air con, TV, fridge &safe... And this was all we needed as we weren't there for much time.
Breakfast was very nice with good choices, accompanied by lovely classical Italian music and served by a very friendly lady!
The hotel was spotlessly clean.
Having read other reviews I was concerned about the unmanned desk, and yes, when we got there we had to wait for someone to come from the sister hotel but having said that, we only waited for about 10 minutes and we were buzzed into the reception to wait. I have waited longer in some manned hotels!!! We were told there was staff around from 7am-3pm and if any problems they were only a buzz away... But no problems occurred!
The other thing I have to agree with, the hotel tells you to get off the vaporetto at Rialto... DONT!!!!!! It's much easier to get off at Ospedale, turn right, and then first left right along the side of the hospital (fundamental dei Mendicanti) to campo Santiago Giovanni e Paulo keep to the right of the square, and take the little bridge over the canal and there you have calle de la Erbe!!
Anyway, we would definitely stay there again! Lovely location, lovely hotel, lovely city!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This place is a gem located far enough away from the tourist noise, but close enough to walk to most touristic sites. The room had hardwood floors, a beautiful old Venice decor, comfortable bed, and great shower and bathroom. The breakfast room took you back to the days of Venice history. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had our room booked for three nights and left after one night. The first impression was poor; we were "buzzed" into a tiny reception area and had to wait 15 minutes for someone to run from another hotel to check us in. The lights are on a timer and kept going off so we had to keep reopening the front door just to have light while we waited. We were shown to our room and the receptionist left immediately again, so there was no one to answer any questions we had. They advertise air conditioning, and our room was very stuffy. We had been told not to open the windows in Venice as the mosquitoes are horrible, especially since we were right on a small canal. In order to contact anyone, you have to go back outside and use the buzzer - I did that to inquire about turning the air on, and the receptionist hung up on me! After one sweltering night in the room, we had enough and changed hotels. The sister hotel of this one appears to be quite lovely, and I'm sure we would have had a better experience had we stayed there. We also had to pay for a second night even though we had voiced complaints and nothing was offered as a remedy. Another person staying at the same time as us also checked out early. Staff was horrible. The room was clean, just extremely warm.....and this was April, not in the summer!!

Room Tip: Make sure you are booked into the sister hotel, not this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Comfortable, classy, clean with a good location in the main part of Venice. This is definitely where you want to be, as outside the main island (eg in the Mestre) would make everything more difficult as you would be out of the city and would have to factor in travelling, and you may also miss Venice's night time charm. This hotel has this charm in bucket loads.

We actually booked at the Casa Pisani's sister hotel, the Locanda, and at first were a little annoyed when we had to move as we had chosen the Locanda as it was close to St Mark's square - apparently this is standard practice for the hotels, so keep this in mind.

When we got to Pisani's our annoyance disappeared. It is only a bit further away from St Mark's, making it about 10 minutes walk away. We also went through a lovely smaller square, Santa Maria Formosa, that we probably wouldn't have seen otherwise.

Casa Pisani is lovely on the inside with big rooms elegantly furnished. The whole place had a classical, old time feel that made us feel very at home. It was comfortable and clean, and the breakfast wasn't too bad either.

The only negative may be that the views were not great and that it wasn't always staffed on site, but that was minor for us. Overall we, loved the hotel, it was quiet and classy in a wonderful city.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

-good breakfast environment with music
-good bedroom
-good bathroom
-good hotel decoration
-very poor staff service and attitude for room service and breakfast
-no customer service for reception

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Pisani Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pisani Canal

Address: Cannaregio 6105, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Casa Pisani Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Pisani Canal Venice
Casa Pisani Canal Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Pisani Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.