We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good a Food, Service & Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostaria da Zorzi

Hostaria da Zorzi
Calle dei Fuseri, 4359, Venice, Italy (San Marco)
+39 0415208816
Improve this listing
Ranked #387 of 1,131 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: San Marco
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good a Food, Service & Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Based upon other reviews my wife and I had dinner here. We were pleased with our shared antipasto and we each liked our dishes (Tomato Pasta & Baked perch fillet. The service was good and venue full of old world charm. We are so impressed that we plan to go back again to try something else from the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    57
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Loved this olde world place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had lunch here on our first day in Venice and returned a couple of days later. The atmosphere is olde world and the place if full of locals. I loved the dated and original decor, with mosaic marbled floor, wall tiles and an fabulous wooden staircase leading to further tables upstairs The food was typical Venetian style (I understand!), authentic and tasty, the service was warm, we were made to feel very welcome.. Tuna with fat penne pasta was excellent and the Chicken breast & lightly grilled vegetables scrumptious. Accompanied by a carafe of house frascati, highly recommended, A two course lunch for two is circa 60 euro, but this is Venice!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alphen aan den Rijn
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Traditional Italian and Venician food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Look out, you easily walk past this restaurant. That would be a shame. The place is filled with Italian people, gondoliers, workmen etc.. In my opinion a guarantee that you get good Italian food. And that guarantee was met. We had spaghetti con vongoli (sort of small mussels), pizza, coteletta a la Milanese, steak and delicious desserts (a really good homemade titamisu, pannacotta with chocolate and a caramel cream). A great traditional place away from the touristic restaurants around San Marco Square, yet not far away from there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a big disappointment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We came here late one evening for dinner because the neighbouring restaurant was full. We soon found out why this one had lots of room at the patio tables. I was recommended to try their spicy special pasta dish with scampi. The pasta did not have slightest hint of spice and the scampi was literally all shells and no meat. No one came by to ask how our food was and when I was finally able to flag someone down for Parmesan cheese, I was almost finished the pasta which I ate only because it was late and I was very hungry. The wine was the most expensive we saw in Venice. I will never go back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Decent choice for the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We ate here twice and were well served (in all senses). Prices were reasonable, for Venice. Menu had a reasonable range although it was laid out in rather peculiar fashion.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hostaria da Zorzi also viewed

Noventa di Piave, Province of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
 

Been to Hostaria da Zorzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostaria da Zorzi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.