We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Locanda Salieri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Locanda Salieri to your Saves list
Hotel Locanda Salieri
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Fondamenta Minotto | Canale del Gaffaro, Santa Croce, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Croce)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #183 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in late August 2013. Great location on quiet canal an easy walk from St Marks. Arrived late at night but this was not a problem. Very friendly service. Conveniently located near bus and train stations

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a canal side room and are glad we did
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    113
    43
    9
    5
See reviews for
21
149
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed recently for 2 nights. The room was very small but full of character. We had a view over the garden which was lovely as the sun was going down.
The breakfast was very nice and served in a nice restaurant next door.
It is in a good location about 10 mins walk from the train/ bus station with lots of lovely canals all around.
Very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent a few nights in Venice where hotels are notoriously expensive, and service can be diffident because of high demand. I can highly recommend Hotel Locanda Salieri for its excellent value. It is easy walking distance to bus, and train station, located on a quiet canal, and within comfortable walking distance of St Marks. Also close to vaporetto stops. Our room was very comfortable and offered all the amenities we required. Breakfast is offered next door in their restaurant, in a charming courtyard, where you can also dine in the evenings.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Aloha from Hawaii.

I stayed at the hotel from 26 July through 2 August 2013.

The only glitch was someone other than Gianluca confirmed a change in my plans when I emailed them and I didn't have the right room for the first two nights. Make sure if making any changes to your itinerary -- and I'd made a few via email, so it's easy to see how this could have happened (that more than one employee may respond) -- get in touch with Gianluca himself to be sure you're in the right room, etc. He's a solid guy, really nice, super vibes, and I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Love that guy. Good people.

A canal view single room was large, with compact but roomy enough bathroom w/shower. Super modern and excellent toilet and shower. Don't remember any hot water problems, maybe a bit less hot during peak morning hours, but excellent overall room, bathroom, and great little balcony overlooking a pristine sample of Venice. Some photos are attached, and the breakfast superb!

It is served in an outdoor back private courtyard area of the restaurant which is adjacent to the hotel. Lush with greenery, it has plants of all kinds, trees, and an authentic small Venice courtyard feel -- intimate, private and welcoming like a garden setting you'd want to be in over and over again, with staff that are pleasant, friendly, and make you feel at home. This hotel offers this tranquil place to you, sometimes all to yourself, each morning.

Breakfast consists of you picking a table for yourself, then they bring you a roll and a croissant. If you want more, they always brought more (for the experience shared here, at least). There are jams, preserves, chocolate, butter and other things for the bread, plus a little more bread on the counter, and... hard-boiled eggs. Plus cheese and cereal, orange juice and coffee. I think that was it. And water. So each day I'd have the served bread items with a wedge of the cheese in each, and a hard-boiled egg. It made a great sandwich. The setting was serine. What a fantastic way to start the day. I will treasure my time just there in the breakfast area, let alone my large room with a stunning view, day or night. The energy it provides in terms of a cool setting to get your day started cannot be underestimated. Something good happened there. I just felt great there each morning, and one time Gianluca was doing some photos for a new website, and spent time talking with me, looking at the map. It was a blessing to have a host like him, and our chat that morning in the empty breakfast room I will always treasure.

Location for bus visitors perfect. Highly recommend if wanting an easy way to experience actual canal-front hotel living and come via bus (cheap and easy), this is a great option. There are so many hotels, though, so countless other great places await there, with many other likely hosts similar to Gianluca, I imagine.

The Coop grocery store is ESSENTIAL. Items for friends back home like pasta from Italy, to cheap soda, beer, wine and every other food a grocery store in the states may have. It reminded me a little of the Don Quiote Japanese grocery stores we have in Honolulu, as for selection, but catered to Italy. Great prices, close to the hotel, and the 20 oz. beer, .85 Euros -- cheaper than a 1.35 Coke -- was as tasty as any beer I've ever had. Unreal prices, lower than in Hawaii, basically, on everything. Pizzas down the block away from the bus station about 2 blocks were 4.50 E for a small plain -- 3.50 for a marinara. So tasty.



If you stay there and this review helped and was accurate, please tell Gianluca Dave from Hawaii says aloha. He'd remember. I gave him some nice stuff from here-- coffee and chocolate covered macadamia nuts-- he was a wonderful host and all his staff I encountered over a week fantastic. My best to them all.

Room Tip: Ask for/book a canal view room. Ask for one with a balcony; small but nice to have. Take advantage o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a really nice experience at this hotel and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone traveling to Venice that doesn’t want to pay an arm and a leg for a hotel room. The hotel is very simple but has everything that you need for a comfortable stay. It is right on the water and they have a really nice restaurant next store that they serve you a complimentary breakfast. The owners were nice and even made sure to be available when we arrived at the hotel, even though, due to flight problems, we were arriving at 1 something in the morning. Also, the hotel is located close to Piazzale Roma which I thought was nice because that is where the buses and taxis can get to which made getting to/getting out of Venice with our luggage much easier. Additionally, the location is away from the huge crowds near San Marco which is nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We needed a few rooms for one night before hopping onto a cruise ship. This adorable hotel located on a quiet canal was perfect for our family. It was clean, comfortable, affordable, casual, authentic and had everything we needed. Cute shops and restaurants are located nearby and we enjoyed the free breakfast in the outdoor courtyard. I would definitely recommend this place and would love to go back.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the courtyard and others overlook the canal. I think both views are equally as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Tiny room, no 'frig, tiny bathroom, tiny window looked onto small canal. Hardly worth paying the extra for a canal view. Everything is old but clean.
The Wi-fi worked well in the room and in their restaurant. It is well situated, being a short walk for those arriving by train or cruise ship. Otherwise, a porter will bring your bags to the hotel for a small fee. The
140 Euros per night seems exhorbitant for that class of hotel but maybe you can't get much better in Venice.

Room Tip: If booking into older type, small hotels, check if there is a lift. Lugging suitcases up narrow sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Locanda Salieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Salieri

Address: 160 Fondamenta Minotto | Canale del Gaffaro, Santa Croce, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Croce
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Locanda Salieri 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Locanda Salieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Salieri Hotel
Locanda Salieri Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Locanda Salieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.