We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quaint, good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Locanda Salieri

Save Saved
You added Hotel Locanda Salieri to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Locanda Salieri
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Fondamenta Minotto | Canale del Gaffaro, Santa Croce, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Croce)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #183 of 382 hotels in Venice
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean, quaint, good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We arrived at Hotel Locanda Salieri very late, after our flight got inaround 10:30pm to Marco Polo airport. We took the bus from the airport, which drops you off in Piazza Roma, and after a moment of directional confusion, realized it was only 3 small bridges and about 100 yards to the hotel. A GREAT location. The staff attendant was very nice - even insisted on carrying my mother's VERY heavy bag up the stairs. The room wasn't anything special, but was clean and comofrtable, and a great view over the canal. After 22 hours of travel, it was PERFECT. They held our bags for us so we could sightsee the following day and were very kind.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    107
    39
    8
    5
See reviews for
19
139
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is all about the location really. It's tucked away about 5 minutes from Piazza Roma (not 10 like others suggest). It is basic but then again so is the price so not sure why you'd expect anything else. I had room 11 which is just that really. No view... But a very clean ensuite.

The restaurant next door where you are served breakfast (inclusive in the price) is devine. Truely top class food. I will dream about it at home.

The only thing missing from the hotel was that authentic Venetian character that you'd hope for, I don't think it would cost a lot for then to invest in this, and it would most likely earn them an extra star!

Not sure I'd return to this particulat hotel, unless money was an issue, then I wouldn't hrsitate at all. But as I want to experience the whole Venetian decor next time and emerge myself fully in the culture I will probably look around first.

I will defo return to Venice as it was truely amazing and will always visit the restaurant be y door. Dining there is a must!! One of my favourite places to eat!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights, in comparison to other hotels in Venice this was quite cheap. So i would put this in a budget hotel category...and for a budget hotel this definitely deserves 4*. Would have been a full 5 but for couple of very minor things. The double bed we was expecting was actually 2 singles pushed together (minor issue). There was abit of a smell when you first entered the room but which quickly disappeared when you opened the windows. Other than them 2 very very minor issues this hotel is a gem at this price. Breakfast is included in the price in the restaurant next door, there is cereal, croissants, bread and little biscuit type things. Usual tea, coffee, milk and orange juice available. People who say the breakfast is basic should remember that this is a very cheap price for a hotel in venice. Our room was a cosy size and had an en suite, it was very functional. The hotel itself has plenty of character and has 3 floors, no lift. The receptionists we encountered were all very friendly and helpful. It is located near to the Piazzale Roma (main stop for buses and coaches from the airports). Would take 10 mins max from there but we stopped off in a little restaurant before we found the hotel. Overall a great little hotel that fulfilled our needs and we will definitely be visiting this hotel again when we next come to vence.

Room Tip: Theres 12 rooms, 4 on each floor. rooms 1-4 are on the first floor and they work there way up. We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this small hotel in Venice. Hotels in Venice were pretty expensive and Locanda Salieri was one of the cheaper options here. It was about 10 mins walk from the train station as we had heavy luggages. When we arrived, it was quite expected - furnitures were old and the reception had a smell. There was no lift and the reception was very kind to give us a room on the second floor (we had booked a room on 3rd floor). There was no one to help us with our baggages and we had to lug it up ourselves.

The room was clean and smelled nice, the furnitures were however quite old and tv very small. Room was quite spacious and toilet clean. Wifi connection was quite stable as well.

Breakfast was at the restaurant next door. Basic but adequate.

Service was pleasant, they try to answer any questions you may have. You can also ask for a map from the reception. Was puzzled with the housekeeping on day 2 though. They cleaned our room but did not change our towels...

Overall it was a very basic hotel, would recommend it if you just needed a place to sleep in expensive Venice. I will pay for a better hotel next time though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voronezh, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had a room just under the roof. It was room 12. At the first glance it was quite good: a large bed, a table, chairs, a cupboard. There was a shower and air conditioning. Then we started to reveal shortcomings. Firstly, my wife saw a bug or rather some kind of caterpillar. It moved very quickly but finally we were able to kill it. After that we imagined these caterpillars everywhere:) But, fortunatelly we saw and kill only one after that. Secondary, air condition in the next room worked very loudly for me at least. My wife slept very well, but I had problems because of that sound.

But then we found a big big advantage. There is a small area on the roof on which you can sit. We came out of the window onot that area, sat there, drank wine and had a very pleasant view on the channel.

Room Tip: If you choose #11 or 12 you may use a small area on the roof. Read my review for more details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A great value small hotel within easy walking distance of the Piazzali Roma where the Marco Polo airport buses arrive and depart. Easy to find and a good base to walk around Venice. We had a small double room (very adequate) with en-suite (very nice with a good shower) and air conditioning (not absolutely silent but quiet enough to leave running all night). Our room was on the top (3rd) floor (very quiet) and although there is no lift life was made easy by the willing assistance of the friendly english speaking young man on reception who carried some of our luggage. Breakfast was good and taken in the adjoining restaurant. Not a 5 star hotel but fantastic value for a good budget establishment. Our experience puts this hotel top of our list and we will have no hesitation in booking a room there when we are next in Venice.

Room Tip: The higher the room number (of 12) the further from ground level and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

It was good that we only stayed here for 1 night only on our way to our Venice-Rovinj ferry, otherwise, consider other hotels in better locations nearer to Venice' attractions. Though the room has a view of the canal (you have to pay extra for this), the bathroom was clean but reeks of chlorox smell; the room very tight (not unusual in Venice) and furnitures were so dated with the chair not fit to sit on as it is just a cushion without support underneath it. The armoire has that old, unventilated smell so we did not put anything in it. This hotel is supposed to have air condition but we cannot use it because according to the receptionist the season is over and the central control is off. So, on a unseasonably warm day (end of Sept.), we had a very uncomfortable sleep. Also, be aware that beside the hotel is it's restaurant that closes 12:00 PM which means, that there will be lots of noise inside and outside the restaurant until 12:00 PM or so. I requested the female receptionist to place a restaurant for us but when we arrived at the restaurant we were told that they never received a call/reservation from our hotel but was kind enough to seat us. Most important, a very valuable personal item was taken; a first in our 15 years of travel.

Room Tip: Before placing a reservation, make sure you will have access to an air condition, if necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Locanda Salieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Salieri

Address: 160 Fondamenta Minotto | Canale del Gaffaro, Santa Croce, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Croce
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 382 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Locanda Salieri 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Hotel Locanda Salieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Salieri Hotel
Locanda Salieri Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Locanda Salieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;