We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, well located, with great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foscari Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Foscari Palace to your Saves list
Foscari Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campo Santa Sofia 4200 / 1 / 2, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel, well located, with great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We booked last minute so got a room with no view (our choice so no complaints), however it was very comfortable, a/c when we needed it and the wifi worked well. Buffet breakfast was excellent and the coffee machine churned out as much good coffee as was needed to get one started. Proximity to Ca d'Oro vaporetto stop is a real bonus when hauling suitcases, and after a long day wandering the streets of Venice such that one needs to return to the hotel by vaporetto. Location generally was excellent, just off the main street so with easy access to good restaurants and shops, yet far enough away from San Marco to avoid the worst of the crowds. The glass of prosecco on the roof top in the evening was pretty special. Best of all were the staff, they were very friendly and very helpful, and really made our stay!

Room Tip: Book early for Grand Canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    171
    41
    27
    17
See reviews for
95
366
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Venice is a magical place, and this hotel is a great way to add to the magic. We found Foscari through TripAdvisor, and after debating whether to splurge for one of the canal-front rooms, we took the plunge. Completely worth it. My wife was just in awe of the space of our main bedroom (+20 ft ceilings), and the kids loved sleeping facing the canal. I had really feared something beyond the hotel's control - noise and smells from the canal. We were there in July, after all. But there was nothing of the sort. Yes, there's boat traffic, but not so loud as to impede sleeping in the front room, and certainly not in the master bedroom. And even with the fish market directly across the canal from our room, there was no smell. The beds were completely comfortable (a bit on the harder side, as is typical in Europe, in case you are used to softer American beds). The bathroom (1) was perfectly fine for 4 of us. The shower, as usual in Europe, was a bit on the small side for a big guy like me. But I'm used to it (see my profile), so it generally doesn't bother me. Hotel staff were pleasantly helpful, not the brush-off I've gotten elsewhere in Italy (that said, Venetian proprietors of all stripes do tend to be a bit on the friendlier side - they know from where their living comes). The breakfast buffet was surprisingly on the larger side. Lots to select from (though I must admit I get some perverse pleasure watching Statesiders - and my kids - having difficulty picking through what they might like). Coffee was served by machine, and it was a bit funky figuring out which buttons to select to get what I like. That took some experimenting, but there's little getting around it. Finally, the rooftop was a relaxing way to end the day before setting off for dinner, with vistas all across Venice's rooftops, and campaniles chiming away the time as the sun set.

We found the location fantastic, but others might differ a bit. Definitely there were perfectly fine restaurants within a 5 minute stroll of the hotel, and a nearby full supermarket (first time seeing one in Venice). Still, it is a 20+ minute walk each way to St. Marks, which, since we love walking, is a plus. It is far longer to the Accademia! And while it might be tempting to "short cut" over Rialto, which you could see from our room, it winds up taking longer because the path is not well marked. You could walk here from the train station, but honestly there are too many stairs crossing canals to use a rolling case. Take the vaporetto to Ca d'Oro instead, though with a family a water taxi becomes price competitive. Finally, even though the fish market is a 5 minute walk via Rialto, there is a traghetto station right outside the hotel's front door. For half a euro this is an amusing way to experience local public transportation (2 minute ride across the canal), and cut time off a walk.

Room Tip: Take the traghetto over to the fish market first thing in the morning to experience some local flavo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Foscari Palace. The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is right on the Grand Canal ( make sure you book a room with the Grand Canal view. If possibe ask for one of the balcony rooms..there are only a couple of these. When you walk out on the street side and make a left at the end of the block, there is a great wine bar with the most friendly owner. We bought a couple of bottles of wine from him to drink on the rooftop of our hotel and he gave me a corkscrew for no cost. Speaking of the rooftop at the hotel, it is a nice place to sit and bring your own wine and enjoy the view, There is no service up there, just a couple of small tables and chairs and a great view. Nice to go up before dinner to relax. You are also walking distance to the Casino if you like that.There is not much service at this hotel..I think they only have 2 ice buckets in the whole place, but the staff tried their hardest to help me get ice when I needed it. There is rarely a bartender at the downstairs bar and I ran out of toilet paper every day in the room. The shower was very small..I think a large person would have trouble moving around to shower. None of these negatives should be taken out on the staff. I found the staff extremely pleasant. I personally don't agree with the Amazing reviews that are written, but then again I don't agree with the person that trashed it entirely. The hotel is priced well and you don't come to Venice to sit in your hotel anyway. Again, location is great in a quiet area with a beautiful view.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

wow! right then .. well presented lobby with great ambiance..our superior room? window looked onto cal d'oro with traghetti station and grand canal to left... great! room nice modern and good size... ok not millions of channels on tv but did not come here to watch much of that... cnn and bbc world about it for english...but if they are your priority you should not be here.........roof terrace is just great!!! to that family from wisconsin who we met there.. hope you had a great time and love to the kids! location... yes yes yes ! rialto 5 mins and st marks about 12... but 5 min walk to direct boat to islands from f nova cuts off a lot of ferry time if you are based in st marco....but two best bits? as people have said there seems to be two female staff working am/pm shifts on reception...i have to disagree with a couple of negative comments on here about one of them.. they are both so pleasant and helpful...the pm lady we had most to deal with was unbelievable! try a smile at them you people.For info .the bar closes at 10 officially.(but be quiet and bring your own ) For us our bestest bit of all was the water landing onto the canal with a table and four chairs which faces the sunset. (why has noone else mentioned this?) especially when we were served a bottle of proscetto at 11... " no problem sir" .... LOVED IT!!!

Room Tip: SUPERIOR... good view of canal to left of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The location of the hotel is amazing. The staff was friendly, especially the blonde lady who works afternoons/evenings. I couldnt find any advil, and she offered me some of her own out of her purse, very sweet. The concierge also sent us a beautiful bottle of prosecco to our room for our honeymoon. The breakfast is awesome, take advantage of it. The only reason I gave the hotel 4 stars out of 5 is because 1 it's very expensive for even the cheapest room (700 euro for 2 nights), and because the location of our room was horrible. It was on level 1, and all night all you can hear are people screaming and the boats whizzing by. (Didn't have this problem at our other hotel in venice on the grand canal with a canal view, which was 960 euro for 2 nights and well worth it). Overall it's a very nice hotel, good location, but my advice would be to splurge and get a nicer room or request to not be on the side of the hotel that the street entrance is on.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the right side of the hotel (when facing the water)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Loved this Hotel as it was in a great location very near the Vaporetto stations on the Grand Canal and within easy walking distance to St Marks Square and the Rialto Bridge.

Staff were very friendly and helpfull, rooms were large and very clean. Breakfast was really nice with a good choice and plenty of room for guests to eat comfortably.

Our view from the room was ok overlooking the entrance but my boys had a wall and were not very impressed as they had no view.

Would use this Hotel again the next time we visit Venice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This place should be 2* at the most. Terrible rooms, air conditioner doesnt work properly, small and uncomfortable beds, our night there was the worst night of our vacation in Europe. We stay in 40-50 hotels every year, this was by far the worst this year. There are two staff working at the front desk, one is rude and the other seems like she wants to be nice but the boss wont let.

We walked into the hotel and asked to see a room, our answer was "No".
Asked Why not? Our answer was "We only have one room available and its non refundable anyway so whats the differance". After we saw the room we requested a refund, they said "you can leave but its non refundable"

Its shocking to see this horrible hotel with only about 20 rooms had a number of good reviews. Percentage compared to other hotels with a few hundred rooms make no sense to me. I came to the conclusion that they must either write their reviews by themselves or use a company that offers that service.

Room Tip: If you are considering staying here. Make sure your booking is refundable and you see the room befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Foscari Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foscari Palace

Address: Campo Santa Sofia 4200 / 1 / 2, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#112 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Foscari Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Foscari Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foscari Palace Hotel Venice
Foscari Palace Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foscari Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.