We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palazzo Guardi Woman Alone Review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Guardi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Guardi to your Saves list
Palazzo Guardi
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Dorsoduro 995, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro / Accademia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 444 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Palazzo Guardi Woman Alone Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Palazzo Guardi was an excellent choice of hotel for me. The neighborhood is very quaint compared to the rest of Venice, from my experience, which I enjoyed. The staff was very helpful, especially a young man named Nico, who spoke perfect English and helped me map out a route to San Marco square. As for cleanliness, the room was one of the cleanest rooms I've ever stayed in and very cutely decorated. The elevator is a little tricky to use, especially if you check in at night (the lights go off on a timer at night, and you can get "stuck" in the elevator in the dark if you don't read the instructions properly. Basically, you hold button 3 continuously until the elevator stops on its own, and the exit door for the elevator will be on your LEFT if you face the entrance to the hotel. Other than this minor factN as a woman travelling alone, I felt very safe in this neighborhood and also loved how quiet and authentic it felt compared to San Marco area. If I return to Venice, I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    146
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
121
231
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our family of four stayed quite comfortably in this quaint
Boutique hotel. The value was fantastic, breakfast was included and there were two bedrooms with a spacious bathroom. The hotel was easily accessibly by water taxi. The neighborhood had lovely little shops and restaurants.

Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Located in Dorsoduro, it is about 50-60m from the Accademia water ferry/vaporetto stop and the Accademia museum. The canal it runs along is the Rio San Trovaso, and it is located down a small alleyway, you will see a small plaque at the start of the alley and a plaque at the door. So it's quite easy to find if you use those landmarks.
Our room was separate to the reception, the gentlemen at the office led us to it once we checked in, it was only 2 doors down.
The area is a lot quieter than San Marco, but it's in a good spot where you can easily get to St Mark Square and other main areas.
The staff were helpful and accommodated any needs we had.
The room itself was very spacious, we didn't have a view of the canal, but it didn't bother us as we were out most of the day and night. The bed is comfy and there is a small fridge and lots of cupboard space, our bathroom was big and had everything we needed. Shower was hot and good pressure, lots of room too so we weren't cramped. We went in mid July 2015 so it was hot, the room had an air conditioner and kept the room nice and cool.
The curtains were a bit thin, they didn't block out much sun in the morning but that's really the only negative with the room.
The wifi was free and we had no issue with speed or it dropping out.
Breakfast was cereal, fruit, yoghurt, pastries, eggs etc.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGuardi, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Guardi, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
dear guest, thank you for your positive review. We hope that you enjoyed our beautiful city and that you will return soon to Palazzo Guardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is really handy, just a short walk from the Academia water bus stop. It is down a narrow alley but not as narrow as some of the reviews make it sound. There is someone on reception 24/7 and they buzz you in. You go up to the hotel in a quaint two person lift. The room we had was really charming and very comfortable. The staff were great. We really liked the hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. However, I would ask for a room on the upper floor as our room was on the same floor as the reception area and the breakfast room was just outside our door. I am a light sleeper and could occasionally hear the person on reception shuffling about. In the morning I was woken up as soon as the first people came for breakfast. Not a problem though, it made me get up and seize the day and make the most of our time in Venice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor and make sure you aren't put in one of the rooms in the next bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGuardi, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Guardi, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
dear guest, thank you for your positive review. We hope that you enjoyed our beautiful city and that you will return soon to Palazzo Guardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

We stayed as a couple for 2 nights in July in a double room with canal view. The hotel reception, plus some rooms, are in a narrow street (Calle del Pistor) but our room was in another building about 30 metres away. The people at the reception desk were very helpful. Our room was not ready as we arrived mid-morning, but they stored our luggage and put it in the room as soon as it was ready. Our en-suite room was on the first floor with 2 windows overlooking the canal plus narrow walkway. Even though people were walking close by and there was a tobacconists underneath the building, it was quiet in the room and we weren't disturbed. The self-service breakfast was very good: croissants, eggs, cheeses, yoghurts, fresh fruit etc. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGuardi, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Guardi, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
dear guest, thank you for your positive review. We hope that you enjoyed our beautiful city and that you will return soon to Palazzo Guardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

We spent two nights at Palazzo Guardi exploring Venice after a cruise in the Western Mediterranean in June 2015. Located in Dorsoduro, right on the Rio San Trovaso, the area is a lot more quiet than San Marco, but yet quite convenient to get to the Square and sights after a short 15 minute walk. The hotel was quiet and the staff were accommodating to store our bags after a very early arrival and to ensure a quick early checkout on departure day. Our quad room was actually a suite with 2 bedrooms, each with a king sized bed. Perfect for our family of 4 with 2 teenaged girls who like their privacy and their parent s who also enjoy a little quiet time without the kids. The room also had a large and nicely appointed bath with full sized tub and shower.

Palazzo Guardi is very conveniently located, only about 100 meters from the Accademia bridge and museum, the Guggenheim collection and a short walk from Santa Maria delle Salute. If you don't want to walk to San Marco, take the short walk towards Santa Maria and hop on the traghetto across the canal to the Square. A gondola ride for just a few Euro! There is plenty of small shops and restaurants near the hotel and we actually liked browsing the shops here rather than dealing with the San Marco crowds. For those so inclined, one can walk from Palazzo Guardi to the Piazzale Rome in about 20 minutes to catch a bus to the airport, although we chose to hop on ACTV 5.2 vaporetto from Zattere. Clean, accommodating and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and per night it was less expensive than the hotel near the Piazzale Roma that we stayed prior to the cruise. Palazzo Guardi is certainly worth a look if you want a locale near to all the tourist areas but away from the hustle.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGuardi, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Guardi, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
dear guest, thank you for your positive review. We hope that you enjoyed our beautiful city and that you will return soon to Palazzo Guardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

Announcing a "palazzo" and showing misleading pictures just as if this were a huge luxury palazzo rooms and view, this is just a neat 2 star B&B, with a standard rooms. The best part is that it is an excellent location, quiet and clean. However, there is no service, and breakfast does not offer any food for guests suffering form allergies or gluten/lactose problem. Very expensive for the offering. IM

Room Tip: better quality at surrounding 3 star hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGuardi, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Guardi, responded to this review, July 9, 2015
Dear guest, we are very happy you have been able to verify the CLEANLINESS of the rooms.
The buffet is actually decently stocked and if you asked, we could give you all you needed for your allergy. In fact we provide gluten free food on request but you have not asked for anything and we are not able, for now, to intuit the allergies of our customers.
The palace is actually a Venetian palace, perhaps you were expecting something similar to Buckingham Palace....we are sorry but Venice isn't a metropolis.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Agli Alboretti
Hotel Agli Alboretti
#161 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#103 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#152 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#114 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' del Brocchi
Locanda Ca' del Brocchi
#111 of 444 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Castello
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
#66 of 444 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Guardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Guardi

Address: Dorsoduro 995, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Guardi 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Palazzo Guardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Guardi Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Guardi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.