We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth , pretty ordinary place in a 5 feet narrow street !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Guardi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Guardi to your Saves list
Palazzo Guardi
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Dorsoduro 995, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro / Accademia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 440 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“not worth , pretty ordinary place in a 5 feet narrow street !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

was shocked to see the location of the hotel !! , it is located in a 5 ft narrow street where we have to struggle to take our suitcases !..
the doors always closed & locked since the building has some residences/offices ..you press a calling bell of the so called hotel ,the receptionist from 3rd floor of the building will ask for your details by video door phone & she opens the lock .. you go up to 3rd floor in a tiny lift which can
accommodate one person at a time to register your stay formalities ..
then we were sent to an adjacent building in the same narrow street for our room !!
again come to reception area for morning breakfast !!
its not worth going to this place by paying so much !!

Room Tip: they have very few rooms in upper floors only, take very little luggage !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    136
    40
    16
    7
See reviews for
114
218
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We've spent two nights in the hotel in May. The hotel is located few minutes walk from the San Marco Plz. and 1 min walk from the bus station. However, I think that next time I'd rather stay near the Rialto bridge.
The room was big but organized in a weird way - it was like two narrow rooms. The bathroom was quite big but without any heat. The AC doesn't work on this season.
In the second day we had some issues with the WiFi and couldn't access the internet. The staff didn't help in that case, though they were very nice.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed with the Husband for 3 nights in May. Read a few reviews before arrival saying that the hotel is hard to find...with the instructions given through Email about a week before arrival it was simple! Didn't get lost and found the hotel straight away. Okay so it is down an ally slightly hidden away, however, Venice is packed with little snickets and alleyways.

The staff upon arrival were very friendly and welcoming and were throughout our stay. We stayed in room 5, one of the premier rooms over looking the canal and the views were amazing. The canal where it is situated is very clean, doesn't get too busy and in a great location. The room was also very clean and can not fault the room at all. Loved the little touches like providing dressing growns and slippers and a well stocked mini bar. Also another lovely little touch was that there was a complementary bottle of prosecco chilling on the table for our arrival (I'm currently 7 months pregnant so was slightly jealous of the husband enjoying this but can't blame the hotel).

The hotel is located in a perfect location. Around 10 mins from St Marks Square, 15 mins from Rialto Bridge and 5 mins away from two water ferry ports. There are a couple bars nearby to which get busy and is nice to sit alongside the canal with a drink. Must also point out that although they were busy on the Saturday night, couldn't hear the hustle and bustle once back in the room at night which was good.

Breakfast was also great. Lots of choice, fresh and plenty of it. Never felt rushed and was so relaxing and personal.

For the price I think the hotel is brilliant and is really reasonable. I seriously can't fault this place and would definitely recommend staying here to friends and family. There is so much choice out there hotel wise, so if you're still deciding seriously choose this place and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

LOCATION: Easy access [short walks] to several decent restaurants, a very nice supermarket [Billa]; a good Gelletto shop and the Vaporettos [Lines 1, 2 and 5.]

ROOMS: The Junior suite with Canal View that we had [Room 5 for 3 nights] was very large; very clean; and nicely decorated. It had 3 windows which opened easily . The room had a GREAT VIEW down the canal as well as nice views over rooftops. The Beds were comfortable. There was a safe and refrigerator but no hot-pot for making coffee or tea.

BATH: Large, with plenty of hot water and good water pressure. The Shower was in a tub that presented me with a bit of a problem both in getting in and getting out. There were no safety bars over the tub – but, than, very few European hotels have them.

ELEVATOR: Though very small and slow [1 person plus luggage or 2 people max] The elevator seemed new, reliable, and definitely necessary since reception and our room were on the 3rd floor. NOTE: the elevator is only in the main building not in the Annex. In the Annex walk-up is required unless your room is on the ground floor. I m mobility limited. The Elevator was a life saver.

BREAKFAST: 8:00 – 10:00am Large selection - deli, cereals, croissants, pre-cooked egg with cheese, cold hot dog. Fresh fruit, coffee, juice, pastries, cookies, etc. Very adequate- but not exceptional.

STAFF: Valentina, Giorgia, Gackimo; also the night fellow whose name I didn’t get. Five stars all the way. They were very helpful, friendly, and spoke good clear English.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGuardi, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Guardi, responded to this review, April 18, 2015
Dear sir,
we work because we’d like that our guests holidays remain a memorable souvenir and we hope you'll remember us!! Thank you for the good feedback, hope to see you again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

We stayed in the suites, which are in a different building. The room was huge and quite clean. Walking down the narrow Venice "road" and unlocking the door to get into the building felt very authentic. The location wasn't exactly "prime," but there's really no bad spot in Venice. You're never that far from anywhere else, especially with a vaporetto pass.
The room had windows on two sides that allowed a great view of the canal below.
The breakfast was very basic and not great. The wifi was very slow, which we found to be typical of hotels in Southern Europe.

Overall, we'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGuardi, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Guardi, responded to this review, March 19, 2015
Dear customers, thank you for your positive review and we hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We've stayed in this hotel last year and were very pleased with it.
We had the Family Suite: an appartment next door, with two bedrooms and a bath room, fitted for a 5-person family like we are. The room was a slight bit outdated, which is actually fitting in with the Venice atmosphere and did not bother at all. Not taking into account those outdated parts was the room very clean.

The location was very convenient. It isn't easy to find, but taking the boat stop Zattere, it is only two streets away. The hotel is only 2 minutes away from L'Accademia, about 8 minutes away from Guggenheim and 15 minutes away from S.Marco square.

The hotel staff was very friendly. As we were staying next door, we did not have a lot of contact with them - we only passed by at breakfast in the morning.
Breakfast is served in the main building. There is only a suitcase elevator, and the breakfast room is 3 floors high. You need to consider this if you are limited in your movements. The breakfast was very tasty, and plenty in choice.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for families with children and/or other people that are looking for a good price/quality stay. This hotel is suited most for people that like to go their own way.

Room Tip: Families up to 5 should ask for Family Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGuardi, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Guardi, responded to this review, January 13, 2015
Dear guest,
thank you for your nice review. We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

This is a really good small hotel and the staff are really nice and helpful.
I stayed in a suite for 9 nights over the new year. The suites are in a different building which has a separate breakfast room. I had the large red suite featured in most of the advertisements and it is HUGE. Very comfortable with brilliant canal views. I read a few noise complaints on here before booking but I had no issues. There is double glazing and thick curtains.
Breakfast was alright. Enough choices for everyone. Only problem with breakfast was that for the last few days, I had to go to the main hotel which was a little bit down the road and 3 flights up (but there is a lift). Staff were really really nice and I really enjoyed my stay a lot.
The location is excellent near Accademia and Campo Santa Margherita. It's also really easy to find which is unusual for Venice. It's not too far from the station if you like a walk and don't have too much luggage.
Free strong WiFi was always available.
I would go back any day.

Room Tip: Take a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGuardi, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Guardi, responded to this review, January 13, 2015
Dear Sir,
I thank you for your review and I hope to have you again at Palazzo Guardi.
Unfortunately we had to close our second breakfast room in the annex building for a few days, but usually the two rooms are always open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Palazzo Guardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Guardi

Address: Dorsoduro 995, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Guardi 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Guardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Guardi Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Guardi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.