We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Guardi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Guardi to your Saves list
Palazzo Guardi
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Dorsoduro 995, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 435 Venice B&B and Inns
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good family hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've stayed in this hotel last year and were very pleased with it.
We had the Family Suite: an appartment next door, with two bedrooms and a bath room, fitted for a 5-person family like we are. The room was a slight bit outdated, which is actually fitting in with the Venice atmosphere and did not bother at all. Not taking into account those outdated parts was the room very clean.

The location was very convenient. It isn't easy to find, but taking the boat stop Zattere, it is only two streets away. The hotel is only 2 minutes away from L'Accademia, about 8 minutes away from Guggenheim and 15 minutes away from S.Marco square.

The hotel staff was very friendly. As we were staying next door, we did not have a lot of contact with them - we only passed by at breakfast in the morning.
Breakfast is served in the main building. There is only a suitcase elevator, and the breakfast room is 3 floors high. You need to consider this if you are limited in your movements. The breakfast was very tasty, and plenty in choice.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for families with children and/or other people that are looking for a good price/quality stay. This hotel is suited most for people that like to go their own way.

Room Tip: Families up to 5 should ask for Family Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGuardi, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Guardi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,
thank you for your nice review. We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    127
    36
    14
    7
See reviews for
105
206
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a really good small hotel and the staff are really nice and helpful.
I stayed in a suite for 9 nights over the new year. The suites are in a different building which has a separate breakfast room. I had the large red suite featured in most of the advertisements and it is HUGE. Very comfortable with brilliant canal views. I read a few noise complaints on here before booking but I had no issues. There is double glazing and thick curtains.
Breakfast was alright. Enough choices for everyone. Only problem with breakfast was that for the last few days, I had to go to the main hotel which was a little bit down the road and 3 flights up (but there is a lift). Staff were really really nice and I really enjoyed my stay a lot.
The location is excellent near Accademia and Campo Santa Margherita. It's also really easy to find which is unusual for Venice. It's not too far from the station if you like a walk and don't have too much luggage.
Free strong WiFi was always available.
I would go back any day.

Room Tip: Take a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGuardi, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Guardi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sir,
I thank you for your review and I hope to have you again at Palazzo Guardi.
Unfortunately we had to close our second breakfast room in the annex building for a few days, but usually the two rooms are always open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There was nothing I didn't like. Staff was friendly, courteous and helpful with advice. Room was clean, nicely decorated, comfortable and quiet. Enjoyed the many choices at the free breakfast. While this hotel is down a narrow side street, it is a great location which is accessible to all without the crowds and noise. Would stay here again if opportunity arises.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGuardi, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Guardi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,
thank you for your nice review. We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the Junior Suite which overlooked the canal - just gorgeous. The room is a good size and was very comfortable.
We found the location easy walking distance to all the sights. The neighbourhood was great and had an authentic feel. There were a few bars up the road which we had drinks at and there was a great coffee shop just around the corner.
Our suggestions would be to put an ironing room in the second building where our room was located (we had to walk to the main reception building carrying all the items we wished to iron and then back again. The hotel seems to be spread over 2 buildings that are approx. 5 mins walk from each other). The breakfast was only average the hot food was cold or only luke warm and was pretty basic.
There is also a great restaurant just below (too the right) that is worth visiting.
We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGuardi, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Guardi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,
thank you for your nice review. We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irthlingborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Our second visit to this delightful Hotel. We again stayed in a junior suite in the annexe overlooking a small canal. The staff are lovely and very obliging. The location is fantastic. Just a stones throw from the Academia Art Gallery and vaparetto stop. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: The annexe is away from the main Hotel and has very luxurious rooms. Well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGuardi, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Guardi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,
thank you for your nice review. We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Its true, the house is old.but it is only one floor with some rooms and you can listen to all what happened at reception or at the breakfast.Its a special athmosphere and the stuff do the best.Its also not easy to find because the street is doubled in Veneice and there is only a small symbol at the door.The room is small and clean and give with its furniture a little view to the old Venice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

We made reservations online and got our confirmation number, but when I sent the hotel a phone number for us while we were in Italy, I got a response that our reservation had been lost. We didn't get our originally reserved room, but the staff did arrange other rooms for our two nights stay. The staff were most helpful and pleasant. As others have noted, it is slightly hard to find as it only occupies the top floor and roof loft of a three story building, and the actual entrance is down a narrow alley (we later saw a sign for the hotel at the alley entrance, about 2.5m high on the alley wall). There is a very small elevator, which we used only when moving our luggage; otherwise, we took the stairs to burn off all that gelato and pasta. It was clean, quiet, and the breakfast was pleasant. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Guardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Guardi

Address: Dorsoduro 995, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 435 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Guardi 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Palazzo Guardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Guardi Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Guardi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.