We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find ,but worth the hunt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Guardi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Guardi to your Saves list
Palazzo Guardi
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Dorsoduro 995, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 432 Venice B&B and Inns
Portland,texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hard to find ,but worth the hunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After making the reservations,the hotel sent a you tube video on how to find it in the maze called Venice. Quietly tucked away in an alley,it is a convenient location to walk to water front or take the taxi to St. Marks. Right outside the hotel is a great place for drinks and nibbles...can't remember the name but the front desk directed us there when we told them we just needed a quick bite before exploring the city. Staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    125
    35
    14
    7
See reviews for
101
200
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself and my friend stayed here for 3 nights in oct, we struggled to find the place because it's literally down a dark alley and you have to look very hard to find it. Luckily I had already researched where to go on google maps before I arrived in venice a few days before. The hotel entrance is a little spooky since no lights were on, and all that we saw was this weird contraption which turned out to be the lift. I wouldn't recommend using it if staying here as it feels like your going to fall straight down to the bottom! On the 3rd floor where the hotel was we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who shown us to our room. Our room was beautifully decorated and immaculately clean, although I did think it would of been bigger. Our room looked out onto a little garden which seemed to be like someone's apartment, which I didn't feel safe with.

Breakfast was okay, although the food did go cold and I was left with cold omelette and sausages. I think there could of been more choice.

Although, The location is brilliant as you are kept out of the manic tourist spots such as St marks sq and it's only short walk from the main attractions in venice. There's local shops and restaurants near the hotel as well which is also handy. There's also 2 vaperetto stops such as Zattere and academia.

Staff are very friendly and seemed very nice. The only downside to this hotel was I don't think the price matches to the hotel, it's such a small hotel so I thought it would be cheaper. However I did enjoy my stay here and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Venice for the first time.. But research where it is before hand to avoid getting lost!

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we just returned from our trip to Italy. we stayed at the Palazzo Guardi and really enjoyed our stay.
what is good about it:
-the location. it is in the Dosoduro section of Venice. It lies in between 2 Vaporetto stops, Zattere and Academia. so it was extremely convenient when getting around. the crowds were left to fight San Marco Sq.
-the rooms. they were large and well appointed. our room overlooked the canal. the AC was fantastic. could cool the room down to a very comfortable degree.
-the annex. while it is not in the main hotel, it is actually a very convenient. we felt like we had our own apartment. after the day our party of 4 would sit outside our rooms in the breakfast area and open up a bottle of wine and have some snacks while reviewing our photos.
-quietness. when the windows are closed the outside world is blocked out.
-the price. a good value for Venice.
-convenience to small restaurants, gelato shops, and wine stores.
-directions. the hotel is a little difficult to find but they have a great you tube video showing you how to get there from the Vaporetto stop. Way to go!!

what they need to improve:
-WIFI was iffy and not always working the best
-our room had a tub and a hand held shower attachment. while not the end of the world, it would have been quite simple to put an attachment shower high so you didn't need to hold it in your hand while trying to lather up.
but these two things are extremely minor when looking at the whole picture.
i recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to venice

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a simple 3 * style hotel in Venice in the Dorsoduro district near the Accademia museum. I think it offers good value for money, the room was clean and the bathroom spacious. The shower worked very well and there was always hot water. Breakfast was plentiful and varied and the staff were helpful and friendly. My only criticism is that it is extremely hard to find. I arrived on my own after dark, and had to ask a nearby shop for directions otherwise I would never have found it. It was tucked away in a tiny dark alley and there are no signs anywhere or directions to help you find it. I am sure every single visitor would have to ask for directions, which must annoy nearby shopkeepers constantly. Some come of sign Must be put up to direct travellers to your door.

Room Tip: I chose a room in the annexe to keep the cost down and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

We recently stayed at Palazzo Guardi for five nights in a "junior suite". The pluses are strong: a superb location in Dorsoduro, right alongside the Trovaso Canal, very good breakfast choices, well-maintained by a helpful staff. As other reviewers have noted, the main hotel is on a single floor up three steep flights of stairs or accessed by the slowest miniature elevator I have ever been in. Some of these rooms overlook the canal and all of them are just off the breakfast area. We were in the Annex, which is accessed right off the canal and next door to the Taverna SanTrovaso, a good, if not historic restaurant. The entrance is unmarked but opens into a lovely old lobby area (unmanned) and rooms up one easy flight of stairs. Here again, some rooms are just off the breakfast area (but slightly more removed than at the hotel). Our junior suite wasn't one, really. It was a decent sized room with a small loveseat, table and two chairs and a desk. The furnishings are nice, in antique style. In the summer, this could be quite noisy as the two windows open right onto the canal where there is quite a bit of foot traffic, but we enjoyed seeing the small boats coming and going and hearing the buzz of activity (two excellent wine bars down the street, too). For the price we paid, I would not rate the value as high due to this being a nicely sized room rather than a junior suite, very poor internet connectivity during almost all of our stay, a small TV with no English channels at all, and a very dated and difficult to access hair dryer attached to the wall of the bathroom in an awkward location. We did note that the there are now shower curtains and the shower (over tub) was fine.
All hotels in Venice are expensive and it might be hard to find such a great location at a lower price but I would suggest going with your expectations under control.

Room Tip: From what we saw, we were glad to be in the Annex, rather than the hotel. Note that the outdoor terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Found this hotel by following their instructions to the letter as the door is down a little alley and you really have to look for the nameplate. However perfectly placed for exploring Venice and so near to both Zattere and Acedemia stops. We had the Junior suite looking out on the canal and it was a huge room with seating area and well equipped clean bathroom. Bed comfy and I loved the white crisp linen. Breakfast fine and staff helpful. We will not hesitate to use again if we come to Venice.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGuardi, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Guardi, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed Palazzo Guardi.

We hope to have you again as our guest.
See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

We highly recommend this hotel. As a last minute booking we were pleasantly surprised as it was easy to find although it was down a narrow alley, but set in a beautiful and quiet part of the city yet still close to San Marco Square. The room was clean and more than generously sized.
The staff were very warm and attentive with at least one staff member speaking good english. Set in a pretty part of Venice where you can explore and walk beside the canals. There are also many good restaurants (but then again this is Italy - good restaurants are everywhere). Breakfast again was excellent with a wide variety of choice and a good start to the day. There is a small elevator and steps to contemplate. We will be booking this hotel on our next visit to Venice and cannot wait.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGuardi, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Guardi, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed Palazzo Guardi.

We hope to have you again as our guest.
See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Guardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Guardi

Address: Dorsoduro 995, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 432 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Guardi 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Guardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Guardi Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Guardi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.