We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem - Beautiful B&B at a Reasonable Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Guardi

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Guardi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Guardi
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Dorsoduro 995, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Attraction tickets
Ranked #98 of 421 Venice B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem - Beautiful B&B at a Reasonable Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here for our time in Venice on our honeymoon, and all in all, this was a very wonderful stay. Palazzo Guardi is conveniently close to the Academia bridge and vaporetto stop, so we didn't have far to walk with bags. It was a little difficult to find initially (the front door is tucked down a very narrow alley), but nearly everything else was superb. The room was gorgeous - we stayed in the Green Room, which is one of the junior suites (I guess they have two?). The room had some restored antique furniture intended to give it a 16th Venitian feel, and the wall and furniture treatment made for very memorable decor.

The windows all opened up overlooking a nearby bridge and side canal, where we could occasionally hear the boats pass, though not terribly frequently, since it wasn't a terribly busy canal. The food was very good too - the included breakfast was very tasty, and had a good variety of foods (pastries, cheese, charcuterie, juice, eggs, decent coffee, etc.) The only downside was that the promised in-room wifi connection lagged terribly, and we were hardly able to use the internet the entire stay (which really isn't the end of the world when you're on your honeymoon).

Palazzo Guardi had an early booking discount (20% if I recall?) so the experience was very good for what you pay. All in all, I would highly recommend a stay to friends staying in Venice.

Room Tip: Ask for the green room - it made for an exciting, unique stay, with a good view, and right outside o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    119
    32
    13
    7
See reviews for
97
190
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lodging in Venice is always tricky: either terribly expensive or lacking in quality and confort. Palazzo Guardi is not easily reached, since it is not located on a major thoroughfare of the city. However, once you realise that it is just some 100 meters from the Accademia vaporetto stop (to get you from or to the train station), and some 400 meters from the Zattere vaporetto stop (to get you from or to the airport), you will find the location just perfect. The neighbourhood is fairly quiet, so you get the best of two worlds: budget central location in Venice and a certain peace from the hordes of tourists. There are a couple of good restaurants around (including marvellous Ai Cugnai), the Accademia and the Peggy Guggenheim Collection, and beautiful Santa Maria della Salute. Campo Santo Stefano is just at the other side of the Accademia Bridge (mind that there are not many bridges to cross the Grand Canal) and Piazza San Marco is just a 10 minute stroll away. The hotel itself is clean, acceptably decorated and even economic for Venetian standards.

Room Tip: The hotel has a main building and an annex. While the annex is OK, keep in mind that the original bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

One night, August 2014. Room in the main building. A small challenge to find, but when you do you'll be positively surprised. Got an upgrade - and was happy about it. Good bed, Clean and large bathroom. Close to the major sights. Helpful staff who took care of our luggage the day of departure.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a triple in the main building for two nights in June and were very happy with our choice of accommodation, We found Dorsoduro to be a very nice part of Venice and the hotel was perfectly located. Our room was large and light, though the bathroom was very tiny. The view was straight into the next building just a meter away across one of the narrowest streets I have ever walked. We were not there a lot so it did not matter much. The staff in the reception was very helpful. Breakfast was ok and served in a nice room overlooking the canal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our home away from while we were wandering wondrous Venice. The best thing about this place is its location that is close by to the water taxi/restaurants/bars though it was really hard to locate the hotel when we first arrived at night as there were no signboards in sight! Having said that, it is of course pretty fun to get lost and lose yourself within Venice' narrow alleys though I'd beg to differ with myself with heavy luggage in hand. We miraculously managed to find the property and thought that the triple room was okay, though it was a little bit rundown and needed an upgrade. To add to that, the noise levels could get quite unbearable in the wee hours since our room is situated right above an alley with a famous night club below. We were also required to walk to another building to check in and out as the lobby is not located in our particular building, perhaps they also need to built another reception in the other building for the convenience of guests. Take note that you would also have to walk up the stairs as there was no elevators in our building..The wifi connection was good though, accompanied by basic breakfast with not much to offer, which leaves you with an opportunity to indulge in Italian excellence elsewhere. Bellisimo!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our party of 3 spent 2 nights in a triple person room in late July 2014, arriving from the Santa Lucia train station by vaporetto water bus. Like the previous postings, Irene was super nice. We were early for check in and were fiddling around with the lift directions and I guess making lots of noise. Irene quickly ran three flights down the stairs and greeted us and explained that our room was in the Annex side. She showed us the room and let us put our stuff in and told us to just come by the office later to get our passports back. The triple surprisingly consisted of 2 rooms. One large room with 2 single beds, and the smaller room with a single room with an adjoining bath/toilet room. The rooms were large for European standards, with excellent aircon and tv. Lots of cool tile and real wallpaper. The room was on the second floor overlooking the alley (street Callede Pistor). Yet the street was very quiet at night. It drizzled some while we were there, so we used the aircon to keep the mosquitoes out. The free wifii was great, as I hadn't gotten an international data plan. The tub/shower unit is very narrow and tricky to get in and out of and with all the tile it can be slippery in there. The Annex also had a sitting area with a dining table, chairs, and a couch. We used this area to eat some of our snacks that we had purchased at the supermarket down the ways a bit. The awesome free breakfast buffet consisted of hot coffee and water, fresh orange and pineapple juices, several kinds of delicious rolls, all kinds of cold cuts and sausages, butter and jams. It was a great way to load up for the day's adventures. The kitchen staff were very attentive and cheerful. The owner was there a lot and he too was very nice. Later we found out that using the vaporetto water bus took you to Accademia stop, not even a 5 min walk to the hotel compared to the Zattere stop (8 min) which was wonderfully depicted on the hotel website using a You tube video and what we used when we first got there. Keep in mind that the vaporetto is usually standing-room only crowded, so you might want to pack light. Be sure you validate your ticket. Tickets are usually checked at non-peak hours and if you get caught the penaly is 52 Euros! We took advantage of the 12 hour passes, as often times riders are kicked off at certain stops for driver changes and so we didn't have to keep buying single ride tickets. The hotel is located in a quiet section away from the stupendous tourist crowds near Rialto and San Marco square, but is a convenient launching place for all the sightseeing spots including the islands of Murano and Burano. Do your girlfriend/wife a favor and take a gondola ride! After 7 PM the night prices of 100 Euros apply so keep that in mind. Staying in a family run bed and breakfast is much nicer experience compared to the indifferent staff at the chain hotels. Overall, we enjoyed our short stay at the Palazzo Guardi and made a good connection with its wonderful staff. I actually felt a bit sad when we all said our Ciaos!

Room Tip: Annex is quieter and out of the way. Canal side rooms have the view and close to the buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family of 4 and a friend's family of 5 stayed at Palazzo Guardi for 2 nights in July, 2014. We took a private water taxi from the airport and were dropped off near the Accademia bridge. The taxi driver pointed us in the right direction and the hotel was easy to find. Irene was very welcoming upon check-in. We got there just before lunchtime but the rooms were not ready yet, so they held our luggage for us while we walked a few minutes down towards the water and had lunch. There is one small lift (elevator) that can only fit one person and maybe 2 large suitcases at a time. You have to hold down the button to get to the third floor. Many hotels don't have elevators at all, so we were lucky to not have to haul our luggage up 3 flights of stairs, even though it took a few trips in the lift. Our junior suite w/ canal view (the golden colored room- I think it was room 3?) was ready when we returned. Nice big room with a high ceiling. Everything was very clean. The bathroom had a hair dryer and towel warmer. The shower was a hand-held shower head. The holder for the shower head was down low though, so you couldn't actually stand up under it without holding it. It was fine, just not what we're used to in the states. It felt great though to take a nice hot shower/bath after traveling for so long! Breakfast was light, with croissants, pastries, sausage, cereal, fruit. The breakfast area was RIGHT outside our room. Seemed a little odd at first, but it was a neat older building that had character. Not once did it bother us (very quiet). Also, there was no clock in our room so if you need an alarm, be sure to use your phone or bring your own travel alarm clock. Upon checking out, we were headed to the cruise port. After seeing the very crowded public water taxis go by, we decided to get a private water taxi. Irene called one for us. She even helped us haul ALL of our luggage out to the canal (and there was a lot with a party of 9!). When the water taxi arrived she even negotiated a reasonable price for us (all in Italian so I'm not sure exactly how it all went down!) Overall, Palazzo Guardi was a great location (10 minute walk to St. Mark's square) and Irene and the staff were great! The free WiFi was great too!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Guardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Guardi

Address: Dorsoduro 995, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 421 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Guardi 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Palazzo Guardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Guardi Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Guardi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.