We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow wow wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Guardi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Guardi to your Saves list
Palazzo Guardi
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Dorsoduro 995, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro / Accademia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 444 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wow wow wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Ok, so here is he truth. I worked in the hotel biz for a long time for Hyatt hotels. I was the front office manager for one of their nicest properties, so needless to say I am extremely critical of every stay. That being said, the stay my wife and I recently had at this property was probably the best hotel experience of my life.

Do not book this property thinking the rooms are going to be absolutely amazing with the nicest amenities imaginable and most comfortable beds ever. You will be disappointed ( although the room was the biggest we have stayed in and the beds were good). Book your stay here knowing you are in a great neighborhood in Venice, away from the craze of people that flock to Marks and Rialto, and know the people at this place are some of the nicest, most accommodating people you will ever meet. I can not say enough about the staff. From their nice little breakfast every morning, recommendations on where to go, help with dinner reservations, finding the place, etc. They love what they do and you can tell.

This was our first time in Venice. We loved it, and a big reason why is the stay we had here. We will be back, and when we are, there will be no question on where we will stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    142
    42
    17
    7
See reviews for
118
226
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed for two nights in palazzo Guardi in Venice and loved it. Our room was large, beautiful, very clean and overlooked a canal. The location was perfect and the staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast in the dining room was delicious with plenty of variety.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the Canal is wonderful, but can be a little noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Dorsoduro is probably the best area in Venice. Close to the center but away from the crowd.
We had a very good stay at Palazzo Guardi.
It is composed by two buildings one minute away from each other.
Our room was at the annex with a nice view over the small canal.
Breakfast ok, very clean, good service and helpful staff (thanks again to help me to get back our lost luggage)
We will return there for sure.
A couple of suggestions:
ask the hotel to send you by email directions as it may be difficult to find it without them.
If you book this place directly through its official web site or by email it is cheaper than other third part web sites.

Room Tip: ask for room Tintoretto or similar. Try "cicchetti" (fingerfood) at the nearby Cantinone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Bays
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Dorsoduro is after me the best neighborhood in Venice.Palazzo Guardi is a 3 story building and half of it in an hotel and the other half is private apartments.Elevator is SMALL for an European for an American is going to be VERY SMALL.You can use it but without luggage!!The speed of the elevator is "romantic" and 2 people inside more likely if they hug will fit!Rooms are nice and a good size but breakfast is terrible.I've been in Venice 4 times now and I found other places much better in location and breakfast but those was much more expensive now and I choose this place for the price.
Overall was a nice experience with this place despite the fact that you will have to carry your luggage through construction area(mybe they finished by now!) but like I said Dorsoduro is a nice area,you can walk and enjoy a table outside on the promenade area 2 blocks away. By the canal is a small deli who sells cheese,salami and you can taste wine and is full with locals.Blend in you will like it.Some people are complaining about the noise we didn't have any noise but depends now where your room is located.If I go again in Venice I will try something else I cannot forget a 15 Century hotel that I booked in the past with fantastic views and gourmand breakfast for a similar price but was a promotion back then.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is our second visit. It is just a few minutes from the vaporetto and only 10 minutes walk from the major sites and the station. However, as it is hte 'wrong' side of the grand canal it is not so expensive. The rooms are large and immaculate, the staff are friendly and helpful and unlike the ' cudafamily' review we have suffered nois on either of our visits. The breakfast is slightly better than the standard continental offering. Any return to Venice will be to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The room itself was very nice, 5 beds and a very large bathroom...very rare for Europe. Breakfast was nothing special, owner or manager, same as the breakfast! The price not bad for the area. The room is located on a canal in a heavy traffic street. With that said, there was noise till probably 4 am, and then the church bells will wake you up at 8 am. The room was quite hot(in March) so we had to keep the windows open.

Room Tip: Don't have a room on a main street or walkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagunitas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Palazzo Guardi is a most wonderful hotel, located in the best neighborhood of Venice, a charming interior in original italian decor, clean, quiet, great price, delightful breakfast, and staff are all extremely kind, friendly and accommodating. This is a place that makes you feel "at home" and a clear reason for our yearly return.
We have stayed at many "small pearl" hotels in Venice, but this is by far the best pearl of them all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Agli Alboretti
Hotel Agli Alboretti
#159 of 383 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#101 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' del Brocchi
Locanda Ca' del Brocchi
#97 of 444 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
#64 of 444 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca Centopietre
Ca Centopietre
#147 of 444 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
San Marco
Locanda ai Bareteri
Locanda ai Bareteri
#57 of 444 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Guardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Guardi

Address: Dorsoduro 995, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Guardi 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Palazzo Guardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Guardi Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Guardi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.