We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as other Novotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Venezia Mestre

Save Saved
You added Novotel Venezia Mestre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Venezia Mestre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alfredo Ceccherini 21, 30174 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 382 hotels in Venice
United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not as good as other Novotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here before boarding a cruise from Venice. We were aware of many of the less than favourable reviews regarding this hotel but, don't be put off it is fine if all you want is a mid range chain hotel. It is most definitely not as good as other Novotel's but it is clean and the rooms are of a good standard. We had two inter connecting rooms on the top floor which was ideal for us as family with teenage children. We walked to the nearby pizzeria which was about 15 minutes away and was ideal for our needs. The following night we walked into Mestra town centre and to be honest it was good to see but we wouldn't bother again. On the downside the pool area has very few sun beds and when it gets congested late afternoon it does become an issue. Equally the bar prices at the hotel we felt were a little over the top, you expect to pay a little more for a hotel and especially in Venice but take a trip to Lidle and put a few beers in the fridge in your room, 7 euros for a local beer is unnecessary. This hotel has the potential to capture the audience provided by the cruise ships as Venice is very accessible without paying Venice hotel prices. On another note we ventured into Venice prior to our cruise ship departing and unfortunately missed the last people mover at 11pm so took a taxi to the cruise terminal. For those who know Venice will understand how close the two areas are, we were told by the very "obliging" taxi driver "20 euros standard charge" we had
plenty of time to return to the ship but didn't feel comfortable walking but on this occasion were completely ripped off.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs. ,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.

My team and I are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the Novotel hotels.

Yours sincerely,
Ettore Cavallino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    591
    256
    69
    30
See reviews for
605
265
35
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very diffrent from a French Novotel. Pay when you check in, grumpy staff, childrens area locked.

On the upside the bus service to Venice was reliable and the room clean.

My recomendation would be to spend a bit more and stay in Venice not Mestre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs. ,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience.

We regret the standards of service fell short of your expectations and we ask you to accept our most sincere apologies.

We would like to reassure you we have already put in place the necessary measures to guarantee that the standard meets your expectations. We are ready to welcoming you again upon your next stay, trying then to regain your confidence.

Yours sincerely,
Ettore Cavallino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband was admitted to a nearby hospital on an emergency basis, and as a result, I stayed at the Novotel Venezia Mestre for 5 nights. During this time, the staff, who spoke English (unlike the hospital's personnel) were thoughtful, informative, and genuinely helpful. The room was clean; the windows opened; the free WiFi allowed me to communicate with my family in the states as well as with my husband in the hospital. This hotel made an otherwise nightmarish experience bearable. Thank you, Novotel!

Room Tip: Get a room that also has a couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs. ,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.

My team and I are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the Novotel hotels.

Yours sincerely,
Ettore Cavallino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Venezia Mestre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Venezia Mestre

Address: Via Alfredo Ceccherini 21, 30174 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#75 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#125 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Venezia Mestre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Venezia Mestre is a modern 4 star hotel with 215 rooms, strategically located only 2 km from Venezia Mestre railway station, 7 km from the centre of Venice and 10 km from the airport. Ideal for business trips, it offers a Convention Centre with 6 meeting rooms (250 guests), business corner and WiFi access. To discover Venice, take the scheduled hotel shuttle service to Piazzale Roma. Also features rooms for 2 adults and 2 children, NovotelCafé restaurant, outdoor pool, garden and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Venezia Mestre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Venezia Mestre Hotel Venice
Novotel Hotel Venice
Novotel Hotel Venezia Mestre
Novotel Mestre
Mestre Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Venezia Mestre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.