We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Venezia Mestre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Venezia Mestre to your Saves list
Novotel Venezia Mestre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alfredo Ceccherini 21, 30174 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Offer
Ranked #185 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Poor Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Novotel on our third trip to Venice, we had stayed in the heart of Venice on the Grand Canal on our last two trips, and would highly reccommend to stay in the heart of Venice. The only reason we decided to stay here was because we knew the standard of the hotel and had hotel membership. You may pay a more to stay in Venice for an average hotel, however the benefit of easily walk around the key sights or short boat trips is a better option than a decent wel recognised hotel in an inconvenient location. The Novotel is a modern, good quality, well maintained hotel with a pool, expresso machines in the room, free internet, great meals, so a good hotel, but poor location where public transport is not a good option. After reading up on details prior to booking we felt we had been given poor information. Information on travel from the airport advised an easy bus journey that passes close to the hotel. This was not easy with luggage, the need to transfer buses, and not obviously being able to see the hotel from the main road and language barriers proved the journey difficult. Best to travel via taxi or hotel shuttle service from the Airport, however if you were to pay for these services, you might as well pay the additional cost of staying in the centre of Venice. To travel to Venice was also too much trouble and additional cost, a taxi to the train station, train to Venice main station then boat to St Marks. Same drama when we were needing to travel to the cruise ship port with luggage and the journey plus carrying luggage over Venice's bridges, could have caught a boat from the centre of Venice with less hassle. Have learnt the lesson of never staying outside the main city centres when travelling.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view to the pool have a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.

My team and I are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.

In our website is well indicated the location of the hotel, the bus stop to Venice is 400 meter far away and the bus start the minutes 23 and 53 from each hours.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the Novotel hotels.

Yours sincerely,

Ettore Cavallino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    646
    280
    74
    36
See reviews for
702
292
38
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The novotel is in mestre being only a few miles from MARCO POLO airport in Venice , Italy. Upon one's arrival , all one needs to do is tell the taxi to take you to this nice hotel.From the outside of the Hotel, one can tell that it is not near a cafe or restaurant but you find out that it has its own cafe /restaurant with exorbitant prices. There are no bargains here!
It is very clean and the staff is superb in dealing with any problems we had except the worn out mattresses that existed in each room that we had. The pull- out couch was awful too. New beds would make me come back here ; the wireless and staff and nice pool make it very handy for families with kids and we had 5 kids and we really enjoyed the pool i n the july heat.

Room Tip: All the rooms we were given on 2 separate occasions had poor mattresses and couches. If the hotel ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mr,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience by responding to our survey.

We regret the standards of service fell short of your expectations and we ask you to accept our most sincere apologies.

We would like to reassure you we have already put in place the necessary measures to guarantee that the standard meets your expectations. We are ready to welcoming you again upon your next stay, trying then to regain your confidence.

Yours sincerely,

Ettore Cavallino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Cozy room with comfortable bed,pillow and sofa- had a good sleep. Hotel design is modern- flat screen tv with English channels and excellent FREE wifi all over the place. Good selection for the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Client ,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.

My team and I are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the Novotel hotels.

Yours sincerely,

Ettore Cavallino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Was a good and clean hotel. Spacious enough to have a sofa in the room. Bathroom was stocked with the necessities.

Bed was comfortable enough for an overnight stay. Slept very well.

Hotel is located outside of the city centre but near the autostrada so the tour used it as an intercity stopover after visiting Venice. Quite a few other tour buses dropped off hoards of tourists.

Free WiFi was great!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear ,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.

My team and I are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the Novotel hotels.

Yours sincerely,
Ettore Cavallino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Bar still open past 11 without a bribe. My coolleague booked through Expedia and was informed on check in that he would not get any frequent guest points which was a bit dissapointing.

Otherwise it is pretty much another standard business hotel but also with coach parties of tourists from the far east but thats normal for this area.

Room Tip: Book through Novotel website or you don't get frequent guest points
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs.

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.

On The Program Le Club Accor Hotels you can find all Terms and conditions about elegibility rules; Eligible rates give right to the advantages of the Program.
All public, corporate and promotional rates are eligible, except for the following
rates:
– room rates for business group or leisure bookings when the rooms are
reserved as part of a conference or trip, on a grouped account or paid
overall (except for Meeting Planner promotional offer),
– Partner rates,
– crew room rates (airlines, maritime or other),
– Accor employee rates, employees of partner companies and providers
to the Accor Group,
–TUOUR OPERATOR RATES

I stay anyway at your disposal for any further information you may required.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the Novotel hotels.

Yours sincerely,

Ettore Cavallino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you're a tourist hoping to explore Venice, this hotel is not conveniently located. However, hotel staff very helpful with giving directions to Venice. Hotel is beautiful and modern with spacious, comfortable rooms, excellent WiFi, delicious breakfast buffet. The service is pretty efficient with nice breakfast and good price even during high season. The room was clean and comfortable. Not much of a view from the window in this area though.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.
My team and I are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.
Regarding the location, it is well shown in our website, we are only 200meter far away from the main street and the bus stop is 400 meters. The bus start at minutes 23 and 53 of each hour or alternatively there are taxis.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the Novotel hotels.
Yours sincerely.

Ettore Cavallino,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

2-3 minutes walk to bus stop, approx. 30 minutes ride bus to Venice City Centre. Room comfortable and clean. Helpful staff at the front desk. Swimming pool nice enough for a quick dip. The restaurant have a slow service and big prices for small portions ( 5 ravioli for a main meal plate). We have eating cheaper and better in the center of Venice (50 yards off St Mark Square).
If you can stay after the 6.30pm in Venice City Centre you will enjoy the photogenic and breather from the heavy crowds of the day ( you may need to return by taxi if you don't fancy a short walk from the bus to the hote at nightl, however we did it). Great Break!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Venezia Mestre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Venezia Mestre

Address: Via Alfredo Ceccherini 21, 30174 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#74 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#133 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Venezia Mestre 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Venezia Mestre is a modern 4 star hotel with 215 rooms, strategically located only 2 km from Venezia Mestre railway station, 7 km from the centre of Venice and 10 km from the airport. Ideal for business trips, it offers a Convention Centre with 6 meeting rooms (250 guests), business corner and WiFi access. To discover Venice, take the scheduled hotel shuttle service to Piazzale Roma. Also features rooms for 2 adults and 2 children, NovotelCafé restaurant, outdoor pool, garden and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Venezia Mestre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Venezia Mestre Hotel Venice
Novotel Hotel Venice
Novotel Hotel Venezia Mestre
Novotel Mestre
Mestre Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Venezia Mestre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.