We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Venezia Mestre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Venezia Mestre to your Saves list
Novotel Venezia Mestre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alfredo Ceccherini 21, 30174 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Offer
Ranked #186 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not the best.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Pillows lumpy. Mini bar fridge didn't work so we mentioned it the first day then the second and third day and it was never fixed. Breakfast was ok but the main bar rarely had a barman during the day so you were always hanging around waiting. Best thing was the free wi-fi and x-box for the kids. I also dislike hotels that remove your card from the power slot so the a/c goes off and after being boiled alive in Venice for the day you come back to a hot room. As my title suggests "Not the best".

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    646
    281
    74
    36
See reviews for
702
292
38
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Looks like a very upscale location, but falls short on a lot of aspects. The mattress was thin and ROCK HARD, to the point that we pulled the 'mattress' off the pull-out couch to add padding. Free wi-fi was available in the lobby but "not working" in the rooms. They didn't have a reserved space for our group in the breakfast room after the first day, as pre-arranged (the buffet, however, was quite ample and well replenished). It was a decent location to bring a group of teenagers, but I wouldn't stay this far in mainland on my own. At least everything was very clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We happily bought the package online but were rather disappointed with the food and the service in the restaurant when we arrived. On the 1st day, the place was absolutely packed and the staff that took our orders did not seem to know what was on the menu for the package; it took some time before we were able to order and eat. We were not served our sides; however it did sort of improve on the 2nd day. The stay in the hotel was alright and the reception staff were very helpful with directions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Venice was stop 6 of our honeymoon. Novotel is about 15min by taxi from the airport or 5min by taxi to Venezia Mestre train station. It is around the corner from a bus stop to take you to the heart of Venice, about a 15min ride. Not being right by the canals, price per night is reasonable.
There is a business feel about Novatel meaning its clean and service is good. You get a sofa, luggage bench, marble bathroom basin, flatscreen TV, restaurant, buffet breakfast with the works (if paid for in room rate),swimming pool and basic gym. There are also two computers with printer for your convenience.
Novotel was an excellent base for us to explore the amazing canals and alleys of Venice (make sure you get a map of the canal area as it's easy to get lost).

Room Tip: Get the breakfast, it's delicious and filling
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Hotel was lovely but we stayed for only 1 night. What a waste! Breakfast was really good. You could do your own cappucino, espresso and even hot chocolate for the kids. Swimming pool is also available if you have time to chill after visiting all the Venezian sites

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Venezia Mestre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Venezia Mestre

Address: Via Alfredo Ceccherini 21, 30174 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#75 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#133 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Venezia Mestre 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Venezia Mestre is a modern 4 star hotel with 215 rooms, strategically located only 2 km from Venezia Mestre railway station, 7 km from the centre of Venice and 10 km from the airport. Ideal for business trips, it offers a Convention Centre with 6 meeting rooms (250 guests), business corner and WiFi access. To discover Venice, take the scheduled hotel shuttle service to Piazzale Roma. Also features rooms for 2 adults and 2 children, NovotelCafé restaurant, outdoor pool, garden and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Venezia Mestre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Venezia Mestre Hotel Venice
Novotel Hotel Venice
Novotel Hotel Venezia Mestre
Novotel Mestre
Mestre Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Venezia Mestre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.