We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value, Good Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Casa Peron

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Casa Peron to your Saves list
Albergo Casa Peron
1.0 of 5 Inn   |   Salizzada S. Pantalon, 84, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Croce)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 433 Venice B&B and Inns
London, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, Good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Venice is never cheap, but when it comes to value for money, we were extremely pleased with the Casa Peron. The owners were welcoming and very helpful, English is spoken. We had a room facing the street, in-room wash basin and shower with WC across the hall. Everything was spotlessly clean. There was noise from the street with the windows open, but double-glazing on the windows blocked out the noise if closed. We found that leaving the windows open, everything was still by midnight and we got the fresh air.

The breakfast is the basic continental one and to be honest, the coffee was quite weak for my taste, but it was hot and we went out to a cafe for an espresso before starting the day.

There was both a fan provided in the room, as well as the plug-in mosquito repellant, but we had cool October nights and didn't see any mosquitos. The bed was quite comfortable as well, a British super-king size. No lift and we were on the 2nd floor, but we travel light.

It is a five-minute walk to the bus terminal and 15 minutes to San Marco, but it's a lovely island to get lost on and we found quite a few nice restaurants and cafes.

Room Tip: We were in room 3 on the 2nd/3rd floor, right across from the WC, and although it was facing the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    46
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
48
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

In Venice but not that near St Mark Sq (~15mins walk) but in a nice and slightly cheaper area. Everything was in walking distance. Hotel is small, but quiet and clean, had ensuite toilet and sink room and a separate shower cubicle room off the bedroom with curtain - worked well. Our air-con was broken and it was Very hot at night, but we didn't tell them. Breakfast was basic, overall it was good value, quite and clean. Had to be back at night by 1am and the owners had limited english.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Do book at Casa Peron if you are looking for clean, cheap and convenient. It is close to Piazza Roma so hefting luggage is easier.
Our room was a reasonable size, good bathroom and even a little balcony.
Don't book if you are hoping for a 'b and b' experience. Breakfast is perfectly adequate - coffee, pastries, fruit juice and rolls but, perhaps due to language difficulties, the welcome was not particularly friendly or welcoming.
Despite booking a double room with aircon - and being quoted a price for 'with aircon' - we were told 5E extra per night and anyway it's not working. In the end it didn't matter as Venice was struck by a cold spell but I hate 'so many euro extra' things particularly if it had just been included in the original quote it would still have been a good deal and I would have booked.
No lift!! and if other noisy guests they are easily overheard.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is everything you can ask for in a budget hotel. Very very clean..very nice hosts at the hotel. Decent breakfast (Croissants and bread rolls with spreads along with juice and coffee). Clean linen and towels..We had a double room, and it was small but very clean with AC. We loved our stay and we would definitely consider it again for our future trips..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011 via mobile

It is nothing fancy but it was clean and comfortable. It was not too hard to find you just need to be able to read a map. Breakfast was ok...

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

I have stayed in numerous Italian hotels of comparable price - that is to say, inexpensive (singles range from 50 to 65 Euros, we paid 100 Euros a night for a double). This is one of the best I've found.

This place is very clean. Our room also had a nice terrace.

More importantly, the owners are friendly and helpful. For instance, when our train was delayed and we did not arrive until 2am, we had to wake up one of the owners. He was most gracious and understanding.

The location is excellent. A five minute walk from the train station or from Campo Santa Margherita (a lively piazza frequented mostly by tourists), it is only a fifteen minute walk to the Accademia or the Rialto. It is less convenient for San Marco.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

This cute little place can't get any closer to the train stn! It was literally a 7-min walk and in a nice cute part of town. I loved the place - clean and quaint.

The only caveat is that if you're a light sleeper, you may not want to stay here because it's right on the walking path to the bus station, so every morning, all the folks staying or living over in Mestre would clop by our window... and same again at night.

As my first trip to Venice, I really liked staying here because it was SO close to the station that we were able to dump our bags and be out exploring in only half an hour. It was also good because the layout of the neighbourhood that this hotel is in featured a fine-grained lacework of canals and bridges - which was a fantastic introduction to Venice - an immediate immersion to the special feel of this magical town!

Word of advice: before our trip I used Google Maps to map our walk to this little place in Santa Croce - Google originally tried to make us cross 4 bridges but I was able to map it out so we only had to cross the big one over the Grand Canal. So move that little path around until you figure it out . (tip - after you're on the south side of the Grand Canal, force the path to turn down the near side of the first little canal off the Grand - Google will try to make you cross to to the far (west) side of that canal... you don't need to do that: go alongside the Institute of Architecture instead.) Voila - only one bridge!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Casa Peron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Casa Peron

Address: Salizzada S. Pantalon, 84, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Croce
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Casa Peron 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Casa Peron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Casa Peron Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Casa Peron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.