We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel close to vaporetta stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Ca' San Marcuola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda Ca' San Marcuola to your Saves list
Locanda Ca' San Marcuola
Cannaregio, 1763, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“nice hotel close to vaporetta stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

this hotel is very central, yet far away from the busy tourist areas. its located just off strada nuova and 10 mins walk to rialto bridge. a vaporetta stop is 50 yards from hotel. be careful though as the no 2 vaporetta does not always stop there. the number 1 does.. we stayed in a superior room (202) which was charming. it had a little balcony and side view of the canals. breakfast was ample, continental. we booked through booking.com and at 510 euro for 3 nights, it seemed reasonable enough in comparison to other hotels. i would definitely recommend this hotel. also i would strongly recommend venice travel card from venice connected.com. we bought a 72 hour card to include return bus from airport. it cost 43 euro each. the card needs to be validated on your first journey. your 72 hours starts from then. a single vaporetta journey costs 7 euro and only valid for an hour. with the venice card you have unlimited use of vaporettas to include lido, murano and burano islands

Room Tip: room 202 spacious room with nice view of side canals
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    87
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
43
78
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moorpark, California
Top Contributor
409 reviews 409 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We spent six days in Venice and enjoyed our stay at this fine hotel. Our room by a side canal was large and comfortable and we enjoyed the small boat traffic and a few gondolas that sailed by our window. The breakfasts were good and well run, the staff is friendly but we were told there would be a concierge, when there really isn't one, just desk clerks, some with limited English. Other than the fact that the shower is the smallest we encountered in four weeks in Italy, we had absolutely no complaints until the last 24 hours. We returned to our room to find the door was wide open, which is always alarming. Luckily nothing was taken. What was truly upsetting occurred the final morning, when we were preparing to leave for the airport. We had almost finished breakfast and were ready to leave when the desk clerk told us the Vaporetto wasn't running because of a regatta. What???? Why someone didn't tell us about that earlier is still beyond us. We paid for our stay the night before and it wasn't mentioned then, in spite of our saying we wanted to get an early start. Nor was it mentioned at our 6:45 wake up call. If we had been told then, we would have made it to the last Vaporetto before the regatta began. It was raining and we were very lucky to be able to quickly hail the last water taxi on the canal, which cost us an extra 40 euros, plus the loss of the Vaporetto ride we'd already paid for in a seven day pass. On the bus to the airport, we learned from other travelers who stayed at different hotels that they were warned about the regatta the day before AND their hotels made alternate plans for them. We really felt let down by Locanda.

Room Tip: 101 was large and comfortable by a side canal that gets some boat traffic that can be a bit noisy du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had two great nights here- our family room was comfortable, quiet and modern. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is continental with endless supplies of bread, croissants, cheese, coffee etc, all served with a great smile.

The loaction is fantastic- the main railway station, St Marks, the vaperettos and good restaurants are all close by.

We will come back!

Room Tip: ask for a side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is gem of a hotel in Venice.

The location is great only 10 mins by walk from the main station, 50 metres from a vaperetto stop. The hotel itself is very well kept, clean, well renovated and relatively spacious for Europe (and Venice in particular) . The bathroom is spacious.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating - breakfast is served at 8, but since we had to leave early, they organised breakfast at 6.30am without any issues. Staff advised us of the best and most economical ways around Venice.
Good value considering all the above, definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a family room which was pretty good (sleeps 4) room 303
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Liked this hotel, fully warrants its 3 star rating. Nice and central to everything, easy to find near the water bus stop, Rialto bridge ten minutes walk, St. Marks twenty minutes walk, or take the water buses. Breakfast was good, hotel was clean, bathrooms a little small, the best value for money you are likely to find in Venice. The slowest lift in the world, but there are only two floors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury Heights, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was my third stay at Locanda Ca' San Marcuola and my boyfriend's first, and it was just as lovely as I remember it to be! The staff is friendly and personable, and the location is great - within walking distance of everything if you're interested in wandering the streets of Venice, but also just a few steps from a vaporetto stop. The accommodations themselves are simple yet elegant, creating a balance of modern conveniences and a true "getaway."

We will absolutely return, and would recommend Locanda Ca' San Marcuola to anyone! It's a true gem!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We chose this hotel through our internet searches in spite of many recommendations from traveler friends who had stayed at some more well-known hotels. It was perfect for us -- & now we'll recommend this one! Located just a few paces from the San Marcuola vaporetto stop, it is so handy to trattorias, shopping & sweet little neighborhoods. Our room was on the ground floor & its casement windows looked out on a minor canal that brought us glimpses of local boat traffic & life on the canals. It was quiet except for some birdsong & the bells of San Marcuola church nearby. The breakfast included more than we expected; it was served in a pleasant breakfast room & started our day off nicely. Most of the staff speak English & all are friendly & helpful. This hotel is comfortable for us modern travelers while maintaining that Old World Charm we came to experience in Venice.

Room Tip: The only room we saw was the ground floor one on the back of the building next to the canal & it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Ca' San Marcuola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca' San Marcuola

Address: Cannaregio, 1763, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Venice
#32 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Locanda Ca' San Marcuola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca` San Marcuola Hotel Venice
Locanda Ca San Marcuola Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Ca' San Marcuola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.