We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice easy way to experience venice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Ca' San Marcuola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda Ca' San Marcuola to your Saves list
Locanda Ca' San Marcuola
Cannaregio, 1763, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 383 Hotels in Venice
london
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“nice easy way to experience venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Liked this hotel, fully warrants its 3 star rating. Nice and central to everything, easy to find near the water bus stop, Rialto bridge ten minutes walk, St. Marks twenty minutes walk, or take the water buses. Breakfast was good, hotel was clean, bathrooms a little small, the best value for money you are likely to find in Venice. The slowest lift in the world, but there are only two floors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    102
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
52
87
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was my third stay at Locanda Ca' San Marcuola and my boyfriend's first, and it was just as lovely as I remember it to be! The staff is friendly and personable, and the location is great - within walking distance of everything if you're interested in wandering the streets of Venice, but also just a few steps from a vaporetto stop. The accommodations themselves are simple yet elegant, creating a balance of modern conveniences and a true "getaway."

We will absolutely return, and would recommend Locanda Ca' San Marcuola to anyone! It's a true gem!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We chose this hotel through our internet searches in spite of many recommendations from traveler friends who had stayed at some more well-known hotels. It was perfect for us -- & now we'll recommend this one! Located just a few paces from the San Marcuola vaporetto stop, it is so handy to trattorias, shopping & sweet little neighborhoods. Our room was on the ground floor & its casement windows looked out on a minor canal that brought us glimpses of local boat traffic & life on the canals. It was quiet except for some birdsong & the bells of San Marcuola church nearby. The breakfast included more than we expected; it was served in a pleasant breakfast room & started our day off nicely. Most of the staff speak English & all are friendly & helpful. This hotel is comfortable for us modern travelers while maintaining that Old World Charm we came to experience in Venice.

Room Tip: The only room we saw was the ground floor one on the back of the building next to the canal & it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Although I knew this hotel was good, one is always apprehensive about bringing friends who might not feel the same as I do. I need not have worried - my 8 friends and I were all delighted with this small friendly hotel. The staff are helpful and pleasant, the breakfast is a good start to a day out and the location is perfect. A few steps from the vaporetto stop, and within easy walking distance from nearly everywhere (as we discovered on the first day when the vaporetti were on strike!) The surrounding area is full of shops, restaurants and bars perfect for people-watching. It is excellent value for money and I shall be there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are marginally quieter - but this is Venice and one expects street noise - which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Hotel was traditionally decorated. Clean with modern bathroom. Staff very friendly and helpful. Centrally located for walking around city. Breakfast was delicious. Our room overlooked small plaza which was a bit noisy in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Close to the train station. With my back pack on, I managed a 10 minute walk with my husband and it was easy! Didn't have to take any water taxis. Hotel close to restaurants and shops. Loved our room! It was clean, spacious, had air conditioning, tv, fridge and surprise, a hidden balcony that we did not realize till later. I believe ours was the only room that had it....:).....The staff, warm and friendly. No complains at all. A great find on trip advisor.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay here. We were a family of 4 and shared a room with a double and 2 single. Our room was clean and the space adequate. The breakfast was typical, meat/cheese, cereal, yogurt, fruit.

This hotel is in a great location and easy to find. But by far, what made the experience most outstanding, were the staff. All nice. All helpful and attentive. The staff here helped make our Venice stay most memorable. Highly recommend. When we return to Venice, we will again stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#130 of 383 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Leon Bianco
Locanda Leon Bianco
#164 of 383 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Fontanea
Ca' Fontanea
#92 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Alle Guglie
Hotel Alle Guglie
#225 of 383 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#106 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Malcanton
Hotel Al Malcanton
#206 of 383 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Ca' San Marcuola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca' San Marcuola

Address: Cannaregio, 1763, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Venice
#26 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Locanda Ca' San Marcuola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca` San Marcuola Hotel Venice
Locanda Ca San Marcuola Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Ca' San Marcuola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.