We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth visit - good as ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Ca' San Marcuola

Save Saved
You added Locanda Ca' San Marcuola to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Locanda Ca' San Marcuola
Cannaregio, 1763, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 382 hotels in Venice
Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fourth visit - good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Although I knew this hotel was good, one is always apprehensive about bringing friends who might not feel the same as I do. I need not have worried - my 8 friends and I were all delighted with this small friendly hotel. The staff are helpful and pleasant, the breakfast is a good start to a day out and the location is perfect. A few steps from the vaporetto stop, and within easy walking distance from nearly everywhere (as we discovered on the first day when the vaporetti were on strike!) The surrounding area is full of shops, restaurants and bars perfect for people-watching. It is excellent value for money and I shall be there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are marginally quieter - but this is Venice and one expects street noise - which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    75
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
38
69
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Hotel was traditionally decorated. Clean with modern bathroom. Staff very friendly and helpful. Centrally located for walking around city. Breakfast was delicious. Our room overlooked small plaza which was a bit noisy in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Close to the train station. With my back pack on, I managed a 10 minute walk with my husband and it was easy! Didn't have to take any water taxis. Hotel close to restaurants and shops. Loved our room! It was clean, spacious, had air conditioning, tv, fridge and surprise, a hidden balcony that we did not realize till later. I believe ours was the only room that had it....:).....The staff, warm and friendly. No complains at all. A great find on trip advisor.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay here. We were a family of 4 and shared a room with a double and 2 single. Our room was clean and the space adequate. The breakfast was typical, meat/cheese, cereal, yogurt, fruit.

This hotel is in a great location and easy to find. But by far, what made the experience most outstanding, were the staff. All nice. All helpful and attentive. The staff here helped make our Venice stay most memorable. Highly recommend. When we return to Venice, we will again stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

A 700 m walk from the train and easy to find hotel.
The room wad a good size with a fridge and even a balcony. The breakfast was very good and location was perfect.
But by far the most memorable thing was the staff. From the booking to the checkin the staff were very nice. Marlina was exceptionally nice and helpful, as was the pretty black haired breakfast attendant and cleaning staff.
Look forward to returning and can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had a great stay at the San Marcuola. We loved the location, it was close to to the water taxi stop as well as great restaurants and shopping. The rooms were clean, we had a balcony which was nice. The breakfast was okay, not the best we had in Italy, but not the worst either. It is great value for your money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Staying here made my vacation in Venice perfect. A great location, wonderful service and a gorgeous room overlooking a typical canal. Just amazing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Locanda Ca' San Marcuola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca' San Marcuola

Address: Cannaregio, 1763, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Venice
#37 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Locanda Ca' San Marcuola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca` San Marcuola Hotel Venice
Locanda Ca San Marcuola Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Ca' San Marcuola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.