We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Venezia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast Venezia to your Saves list
Bed and Breakfast Venezia
Calle Bainsizza, 3 | Sant'Elena, 30132 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 440 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this little gem for 2 nights at the end of April 2013. Beautiful spot in San Elena...out of the way of the busy area which was nice for those of us who hate crowds! Decent variety for breakfast and a lovely roof top patio.

Room Tip: Dreamlike Deluxe Garden room was beautiful and had a great view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    50
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
101
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I searched probably every B&B in Venice (listed here on Tripadvisor and not only) as we were on a budget, and VE is quite expensive. Trust me when I tell you you won't find a better offer.
For a VERY small price we got a lovely big double room (en-suite), and breakfast.

- OWNER: Roberto is friendly and approachable, great at giving you info of any kind. A few days before arrival I was worried about the high tide, and he sent me fantastic info and resources for me to consult. In the room there's a booklet with plenty of tips and info about the city/how to get around.
If you need something, just ask Roberto, he'll try to help. He lent me a small but good hairdryer for example, and he allowed us to leave the bags in the B&B after checking-out.

- ROOM: big and clean; small bathroom, but very functional with a good shower. Plenty of storage space. Free wi-fi. Extremely quiet at night.

- BREAKFAST: decent enough, it could be improved. There isn't much choice, and I'm not a big fan of packed pastries. A couple more types of cereal would be nice for example. There was bread and cold meat though, which was lovely. As I said, it could be improved a bit, but for that price I really can't complain too much!

- LOCATION: St. Elena is the greenest area of Venice. Extremely quiet, residential, far away from the chaos of the city center, but a short walk to it. About 20' to San Marco. The walk is a lovely one, just walk along the coast, it's gorgeous.
If you are tired, you can take the vaporetto, which stops one minute from the B&B. There are some fast ones, but at least once, take the panoramic one (same price), that brings you as far as the train station in about one hour, going down the Gran Canale. Gorgeous.
Just opposite the B&B there's a cafè, where you can get coffee and sandwiches at a really good price. Nearby there's also a mini-market.

We had a lovely experience at B&B Venezia and I'd surely stay here again. I will also recommend it to my friends.

Grazie mille Roberto!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was just thrilled with my accommodations with Roberto at B&B Venezia. The Laguna room, which I booked through airbnb, was exactly as depicted in the photos. It was spacious with plenty of light and a modern bathroom. The decor was carefully selected, and evoked the traditional Venetian opulence without feeling stuffy or overwhelming. The room is located on the ground/first floor, and has a window overlooking the park, where you can watch locals walking their dogs. The windows are mirrored for privacy but also have blinds and then a metal rolling security shutter that you close at night using a switch located in the room. The room was adequately heated, and had plenty of linens.

As for amenities: 1) I did bring my own hair dryer, and did not see one in the room, so if you need one ask Roberto whether it's available. 2) I brought my own wash cloth (face cloth) as most European hotels/apts/B&Bs don't have them. 3) I brought my own shampoo and conditioner, which were not provided in the room. They did provide soap and shower gel, though. 4) The tv didn't have English channels, but was a modern flat screen. If you bring a cord you can watch movies from your iPod/iPad or listen to music.

There were no other guest rooms on this floor, so the Laguna rooms felt like having my own private apartment. It is also the most recently renovated room. Roberto gives you a key to the front door, so you can come and go as you please without worrying about disturbing his family. He was friendly and helpful, but not the least bit intrusive.

The St Elena area is quiet and more residential, with fewer canals and more sidewalks. It is charming, and removed from the tourist throngs while still being a short 15 minute walk to the center. The B&B was a 2 minute walk on a paved sidewalk from the St Elena vaporetto station, which you can use to get anywhere, including Lido. The vaporettos are timely and easy to use.

Just across the small street is a cafe with great cappuccino, pastries, and a decent sized menu. A small block away is a market with cheeses, cured meats, bread, baked goods, wine, and other sundries. And there's a 24 hour vending machine area just at the entrance to the park. A ten minut walk away is Via Garibaldi, which has many restaurants and a big Coop grocery store.

Room Tip: The Laguna room, which I booked through airbnb, was exactly as depicted in the photos and felt like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days and it was absolutely amazing. The rooms were amazing, cleant daily and very well managed. This B&B is at St Elena which is about 4 water bus stops from St marks's square or a quite walk over.

The hotel Roberto was excellent and very helpful in providing information on places to see, timings of the bus, etc. Loved the area around and far from the busy mad crowd at St marks's square.

Strongly recommend that you have your meals in and around St Marks' square and there aint too many good ones around here.

travelled in oct 2011

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Thank you Roberto and family,

The room was beautiful, cleaned daily and very well presented. It was situated in a great location - quick picturesque walk to St. Marks Square. Roberto helped with everything we could possibly have needed and was friendly and approachable. Everything was perfect and at a great price! Will definitely stay here again.

Chris

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sokcho, Gangwon-do, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here and had the most wonderful time! The hosts were gracious and helpful, and I absolutely loved St. Elena where the B&B is located. This is a quiet neighborhood, so you have to walk a bit to find a grocery store, but we preferred this area to the busier, touristy parts of Venice. However, it's still a reasonable walk to San Marco to check everything out. Highly recommend and look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this BnB for 3 nights in the superior double room which was very comfortable, warm in winter and spotlessly clean. The family have their own apartment in the same block so it felt very private.

We liked being away from Piazza St Marco and its touristy restaurants and touts. St Marco is a short walk away (20 mins max for us) and we enjoyed the walk and most of all exploring all the lovely and local parts of Venice in between.

We also like the little local cafe across the road which had no other tourists, the little fruit and vege shop round the corner and the local deli 30 seconds walk away and the butcher round the corner where we bought half a roast chicken one night (3 euro) for a picnic - he roasts potatoes with the chicken we wanted to try but they were sold out!

The area is very quiet especially at night but there are two great bars with lunch or dinner chichetti (Venetian bar snacks) 10 mins walk away - they are next to each other on a large local walking street called Via Garibaldi between the Arsenale and Giardini vaporetto stops (half way between St Marco and St Elena). One is called El Refolo and is great for lunch, the other two doors down (can't recall name) is great for dinner. Very local and excellent food that was great value (beats touristy restaurants for us) and tall bar stools and umbrellas where you can sit outside.

In short, an excellent choice if you don't mind a stroll.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed and Breakfast Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Venezia

Address: Calle Bainsizza, 3 | Sant'Elena, 30132 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Venezia is located in the most verdant discrict of Venice, an island of unspoiled serenity on the eastern shore of the city's fabled lagoon. Its most delight feature, however, may be the dreamlike vision of ancient Venice shimmering across the lagoon, especially as the sun sets behind the tower of San Marco and the great dome of Santa Maria della Salute. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Venezia Hotel Venice
b&b Venezia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Venezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.