We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Ca Zose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda Ca Zose to your Saves list
Locanda Ca Zose
Dorsoduro 193/b | Calle del Bastion angolo Fondamenta Ca Bala, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming.
Our room was enormous and beautifully decorated. Even though we did not get a room with a canal view (you can choose this when you book) we instead had a view of a neighbor's cute courtyard. The bathroom was a good size and the shower had a fully closing door!!! No water on the floor!
Good continental breakfast with made to order coffee beverages.

The Dosoduro area was an excellent choice for hotel location. The Accademia Bridge was about a 5 minute walk away, so both sides of the canal were accessible without having to pay for a Vaporetto pass. If you are taking the Vaporetto, the Salute stop is only a few minutes away in the opposite direction.
Dosoduro was quieter and more local than the other side of the canal. The Campo Santa Margherita was a great nearby restaurant, drinks and local nightlife spot.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    181
    40
    9
    3
See reviews for
56
272
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We enjoyed the Ca Zose very much. We were on the top floor which proved to be a little warm in November because the heat may have been on throughout the building.

The staff was VERY helpful, and spoke excellent English. The woman on staff (I didn't catch her name) was especially helpful and pleasant to work with.

The location is great. Nice and peaceful neighborhood, away from the extremely touristy areas. Our room was plenty large and comfortable. Mini bar prices were very reasonable and the free wifi was fast and reliable. Great value for our stay.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

This was our first trip to Venice and we stayed a few days with another couple. Ca Zose is on the south side of the Grand Canal, on Dorsoduro. It is literally a five minute walk to the Salute vaporetto stop and from there you can go anywhere. The location around the hotel is quite peaceful compared to the bustle of other locations in Venice. There are restaurants within a short walk, the rooms were quite comfortable, and the staff was very helpful. We would definitely stay there again when we visit Venice. The city is surprisingly compact and you can cover a lot in a day by walking and by vaporetto. This hotel is in an excellent location for day trips.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roslyn, new york
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

This was my third trip to Venice and the first time staying across the canal. Ca Zose has a wonderful location. Take the traghetto a block away, and you are within blocks of San Marco. The neighborhood has real people, not only tourists, and craft stories not Fifth Ave. the hotel is nice and the staff extremely warm and friendly. And getting back to the train station, is a quick efficient and inexpensive way from the back of the island.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCaZose, Direttore at Locanda Ca Zose, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for choosing our Locanda and your kind review!
All the best from the staff, hope to see you again soon, arrivederci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseheads, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Room was pretty small, even for European standards, but it was very comfortable. Breakfast was typical in Europe. Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. Location was great - in a quiet area, but only 5 minutes from a water bus stop,and less than 15 from St. Mark's Square. If you want something nice, quiet, with the basic European imentities, this is the place - not fancy, but very accomodating and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCaZose, Direttore at Locanda Ca Zose, responded to this review, October 12, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for being our guest and for your encouraging reviews! Hope to see you soon and best wishes from all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

When I first started looking for hotels, I was finding it nearly impossible to find a hotel in Venice for less than $300/night that looked clean and close to the major sites (St. Marks square, Rialto Bridge, etc). Thanks to tripadvisor, I found this hotel and it was one of the best we had on our trip to Italy! The room was surprisingly spacious (since I had read that rooms in Venice can be tiny with barely room for luggage) and beautiful. Location wise was great. We were 2-3 min away from the water bus stop Salute so was very easy to get to from the San Luzia train station with our luggage. We were easily able to walk to St. Marks square within 10-15 min walking at a moderate pace. Rialto Bridge was probably more like 15-20 min but even the walk along the way was beautiful. Location was in a nice area next to the Peggy Guggenheim museum which is convenient because when you get lost (which you are bound to do in Venice but it's just part of the fun!), it is easy to get directions back by just mentioning the Guggenheim. All in all, a beautiful hotel in a perfect location. Would stay here again if we go back!

Room Tip: Since there are no elevators, I'd recommend emailing in advance to request a room on a lower lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Finding a nice little hotel in Venice located close to San Marco is not simple when you are not looking for a luxury hotel ! Thanks to this hotel we found it ! - I would also recommend Albergo San Samuele if this one is sold out. The service was more than excellent : all the employees are very kind and helpful. The hotel is located right beside St. Maria del Salute and at 2 min. from the Peggy Guggenheim museum. It is very easy to take a Vaporetto right beside the hotel to go to Piazza San Marco (2 stops only). Dorsoduro where Ca Zose is located is a very nice area and very typical in Venice. It is pleasant to walk there and it is less touristic too. Easy to fine a good wine bar or little restaurants. Also, it is good to be close to the Accademia bridge to have a direct access to San Marco without taking a Vaporetto. The room was big - we had a double room on the last floor - and calm and very clean. The toilet has been renovated and is modern.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Ca Zose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca Zose

Address: Dorsoduro 193/b | Calle del Bastion angolo Fondamenta Ca Bala, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#95 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#116 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has been restored it is equipped with all comforts, and is located in one of the most elegant and quite area of Venice Accademia/Dorsoduro close to the Peggy Guggenheim Collection,a few steps from the Accademia Bridge and from the Galleria of the Fine Arts, just 100 meters from the local waterbus stop of Salute located in front S.Mark Squareall rooms have ENSUITE BATHROOMS, tv, air conditioning , minibar and safe, wifi ALL OUR HOTEL and ALL THE ROOMS ARE NON SMOKER as by italian lawsCHECK IN TIME 14:00 p.m.CHECK OUT TIME: 10:00 a.m.BREAKFAST FROM 8:00 a.m.TO 10:00 a.m.CHILDREN OVER 2 YEARS OF AGE PAY AS ADULT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Locanda Ca Zose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca Zose Venice
Locanda Ca Zose Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Ca Zose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.