We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic venetian hospitality...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Ca Zose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda Ca Zose to your Saves list
Locanda Ca Zose
Dorsoduro 193/b | Calle del Bastion angolo Fondamenta Ca Bala, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Authentic venetian hospitality...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Me and my wife spent two nights on 4th and 5th of feb 2014. First of all the location was fantastic as it was just 1 stop away from saint mark's square. It is situated just by the the salute vaporatto stop. Please take the first bridge on your right as you get down from the vaporatto and continue straight down the alley.It is the last building on the row on your left.
N.B. Take a 24/48 hour unlimited vaporetto travel pass if you are not planning to shed some weight or guilt by walking off those beautiful meals you will have in Venice
Regarding our room.... There was no view to speak off from the room. On the other hand the room was spacious and toilets were very well maintained. The bed was comfortable, excellent heating arrangement... well stocked minibar all of these made up for this glitch.
The buffet breakfast was good and had adequate choice of breads, meat, fruits, variety of cheese and desserts. The choices for beverages was extensive that would suit almost all your demands.
The staff was very efficient and helpful. Almost all of them understood and spoke english flawlessly. They provided us with maps and tour info.
Only fly in the ointment is the lack of free wifi in the hotel.
We will definitely go back to this hotel if we are lucky to visit Venice again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    181
    40
    9
    3
See reviews for
56
272
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Msida, Malta
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Spent a romantic weekend here with my boyfriend. Simply loved the room. The decor was totally in with the Venetian atmosphere. Rich surroundings and a very friendly staff! All our needs were met; we had a small fridge in the room, and a lock box, as well as a tv. The bathroom was very spacious and comfortable, and everything was cleaned daily and layed out afresh.

The breakfast was varied and very tasty. This hotel is a real gem situated in the middle of Venice, very close to Piazza San Marco. I was really surprised at the reasonable price of the hotel considering its location, decor and services. Will definitely stay there again when I visit Venice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pieta, Malta
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Spent 4 nights with my partner. The hotel is situated in a great location close to Santa Maria Della Salute. The hotel is quite cheap when compared to other Venice hotels and considering the area it is in. The room was very clean and beautiful. I loved the decor!! The only downsides of the room are that the TV is too small and wifi is not free. Apart from that, the room was great.

Breakfast was in a small room by reception. There was a good selection of food.

Staff were very friendly and helpful and cleaning staff were very attentive to detail.

A great hotel if you are looking for affordable good quality accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in early February. Hotel was in great location and convenient for many of the wonderful sights Venice has to offer.

Hotel was clean and compact. Our room was overlooking narrow passage which made it very gloomy but quiet. Reasonable sized room which was very clean and bed was really comfortable. Bathroom small but again very clean. Lack of shelf space caused a few problems especially as the only small glass shelf leant forward so made putting things on it pretty impossible. The heater/air con unit in the bedroom could not be fully turned off and the cool air did not work so this made the room quite stuffy but when we left the window open, we got attacked by mosquitos!

Breakfast room was ludicrously small and continental breakfast was ok (usual assortment of meats, cakes, cheese and bread. I don't think they replenished things so you need to get down early. Tea and coffee was served to you. We were told the night before we left that we would be able to get into the breakfast room early the next morning but when we turned up at 7:45 (usual opening time was 8:00am) we were informed quite forcefully by one of the sisters that we could not go in before 8:00. which meant we had to wait 2 hours before we got to the airport before we got anything to eat.

Wifi was available at 1.5 euros an hour and was pretty reliable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here for two nights & loved it. Great location, off the touristy beaten path. Staff super helpful and friendly. The only thing that bumped my 5 stars down to 4 is that there's no wifi in the rooms & it's a pretty steep charge to use it in the lobby. That was a bummer, but breakfast is included and is a really solid buffet. Better than most places. We'll definitely stay here again the next time we go to Venice.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I find it quite difficult to rate places on Tripadvisor as I'm never quite sure whether I'm giving a star rating or a recommendation rating. So first off let me say - this is not a five star hotel, however as a cheap, cosy and friendly B&B it's a five star recommendation.

Our room was reasonably sized and nicely furnished, with a couple of chairs, a desk, telephone, lamps, wardrobe and pretty reasonably priced mini bar. The bathroom was modern with a good shower and large bath. The location is particularly good for the Santa Maria della Salute which is a gorgeous church and my favourite building in Venice. There's a vaporetto stop nearby or a bridge to the 'main' part of Venice 5 minutes away.

Probably the best part of the stay was the service - every single member of staff we encountered was friendly and helpful. A perfect example of this was when one day we came back exhausted from walking miles and miles of alleyways gasping for a cup of tea (how British!). We didn't have a kettle in our room but asked the receptionist who went out of his way to bring tea up to our room.

Breakfast is nice, nothing to shout about - pastries, cereals, toast, fruit, yoghurts etc - but as it was included in the price we can't complain! The breakfast room is very small which I think was quite quirky but in busier times may be a little cramped.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We went to Venice during carnival and wanted to stay inside the city, since normally we stay in Mestre where it's quite a bit cheaper. We chose this hotel because of it's location, it is easily reachable by the public boats, just opposite (1 stop) St. Marks Square. We loved this hotel, the rooms are small but nice and clean, the bathroom was newly renovated. The staff was extremely helpful, especially when the city started to flood after snow- and rainfalls and we could not leave the hotel anymore to go out for dinner, the staff brought us some food that was actually meant to be for breakfast and didn't even charge us. Only downside, the electricity stopped working a couple of times in our room, according to the receptionist that's quite common when the city floods. But they helped us out with lamps and candles. All in all, great place to stay for a fair price!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Ca Zose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca Zose

Address: Dorsoduro 193/b | Calle del Bastion angolo Fondamenta Ca Bala, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#95 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#116 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has been restored it is equipped with all comforts, and is located in one of the most elegant and quite area of Venice Accademia/Dorsoduro close to the Peggy Guggenheim Collection,a few steps from the Accademia Bridge and from the Galleria of the Fine Arts, just 100 meters from the local waterbus stop of Salute located in front S.Mark Squareall rooms have ENSUITE BATHROOMS, tv, air conditioning , minibar and safe, wifi ALL OUR HOTEL and ALL THE ROOMS ARE NON SMOKER as by italian lawsCHECK IN TIME 14:00 p.m.CHECK OUT TIME: 10:00 a.m.BREAKFAST FROM 8:00 a.m.TO 10:00 a.m.CHILDREN OVER 2 YEARS OF AGE PAY AS ADULT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Locanda Ca Zose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca Zose Venice
Locanda Ca Zose Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Ca Zose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.