We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for visiting Venice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Antiche Figure

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Antiche Figure to your Saves list
Hotel Antiche Figure
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce, 687 | Fondamenta S. Simeon Piccolo, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #8 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for visiting Venice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

NOTE: WE VISITED IN JUNE OF 2008 (the site wouldn't let me choose a date that far back). It has been AGES since we were there, so be sure to consider that this review/our experience was from several years ago. I've been meaning forever to come and post a review though as this hotel was really special.

It was our first time in Venice, my wife and I (just turning 30 at the time), coming off a family wedding in Tuscany and a few days in Rome. Venice was charming an fascinating beyond description! We loved it so much we ended up staying several extra days. I would never tire of walking that labyrinth and eating delicious food and drinking chilled Lambrusco for lunch and fantastic Italians at night, enjoying the true MAGIC of that city. Amazing! We visited gorgeous cathedrals, watched an opera which unfolded in 5 separate rooms in a mansion and was one of the neatest experiences of our lives; the town is so romantic, so magical, it was a dream come true. As to the hotel...

This, in our opinion, was the perfect hotel for visiting Venice. First, it's right across from the train station, so you avoid the very common and very difficult experience of lugging your stuff across the tough Venice bridges and walkways. The hotel was charming and we loved the location, a bit away from all of the touristy-madness of the popular areas. Small, but lovely (if you're looking for a lot of amenities, this is not the place; but that's not what we were there for). The staff was very attentative and kind. The downstairs bar made wonderful coffees, the breakfast was very nice in the morning, we spent several evenings drinking good wine and limoncello and sitting out front enjoying the company of each other and other travelers. We spent a few extra bucks and booked the Blue Room, and it was worth every penny! It was large and spacious and the view was fantastic! When we extended the stay the Blue Room was not available the extra nights, so we had a standard room. While very elegant and nice as well, it was small, and paled in comparison to Blue Room. If we went back (no, WHEN we go back!) to Venice, we are going to stay at Antiche Figure again, and we will absolutely book the Blue Room again. Fantastic experience we had there! One of the best of our lives.

Room Tip: See my review above. The Blue Room was worthy every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,998
    412
    46
    6
    3
See reviews for
448
1,399
50
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Location: Ideal for bus connections from the airport. Ideal for train connections. We arrived by bus and the hotel was a very easy walk from the bus terminal. Likewise, leaving by train was convenient. The hotel offered a free boat taxi to Murano as part of the hotel cost. Walking from the hotel to the main tourist sites was very little effort, even in the extremely summer temperatures we experienced.

Rooms: Quite small in general, but reasonable for Italy. The only negative with our room was that the bathroom windows opened with a view to the bar next door. This is unlikely in most rooms – most commonly, there will be no view. Spend the extra to get a canal view. Free wifi is offered with a login/password per device, per day.

Staff: Extremely helpful.

Would I stay again: Without a doubt. It’s the perfect location for Venice and ensured we didn’t carry bags far (unlike the many tourists we saw around Venice)

Room Tip: Room facing the station better than the non view rear side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las Vegas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel was the nicest one we stayed at in Italy and was extremely wonderful. It is very close to the train station and the front staff was helpful and informative about the area. They also gave us a great map of the city was in invaluable in Venice. The room was very well appointed and large enough for our family of four. The bathroom was also quite spacious. The room included breakfast in the morning which was great. The breakfast included cereal, luncheon meat, cheese, danish, fruit, toast. The woman at the bar also made cappuccinos that was also included with the breakfast. There are tables outside the hotel to use which meant our breakfast was enjoyed while watching the morning canal traffic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were very nervous about the hotels on the Grand Canal, the hotel was ideally located, across the canal from the Venice Train Station and is very modern inside with all the amenities. Our room was a mini suite with a small kitchen/sitting room, separate bedroom and reasonable sized bathroom complete with bidet and modern multi-directional shower with at least 6 shower heads. But beyond the clean comfortable accommodations the continental plus breakfast was free of charge including cold cut meats, cheeses pastries,breads, cakes, juices and cappuccino made fresh while you sit. Staff went out of the way to give advice on sites, transportation options and all in English (second language, however very articulate) Staff assisted with luggage, provided walking maps and advice on what to avoid. In my opinion they could not have done more to make our stay enjoyable. Checkout was a breeze and the final bill held no surprises or extra charges. In Venice on the canal at about $250 a night it was the best stay we have had in a major city in Europe.

Room Tip: Since we experienced only one room, I say choose a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our first stay on the canal in Venice and it was absolutely perfect. We were exhausted by the time we got there after having to lug our luggage over the steps, so we were pleasantly surprised to fine that it was located near the bus and train station. When we arrived, they upgraded us to a suite, which gave us more room than we expected. The hotel is located on the Grand Canal so we had an excellent location. We had a quaintly decorated bedroom and a separate sitting room with a mini kitchen, which provided additional unexpected space for us. The bathroom was modern and the room was clean. There was free Wi-Fi and a free basic breakfast. The staff were extremely friendly and we cannot say enough about Alessandro Fornasier, the General Manager. He took a special interest in our questions and assisted us with every minor question we had in regards to directions, best places to eat, and every other aspect of our confusion with staying in the city for the first time. We had no issue with getting our luggage to the bus station to catch the airport shuttle because he arranged for it to be transported over the steps, which was a huge relief, after buying additional luggage as a result of shopping. He was kind enough to step outside to take several photos of us together. We will definitely return to this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Suites are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We chose to stay at Hotel Antiche Figure primarily because of its proximity to the Venezia Santa Lucia train station. It's right over the bridge across from the station, which meant we could roll/carry our own things without requiring a porter or water taxi. We originally wanted the sister hotel, Hotel Canal Grande, but it was sold out and more expensive anyway. This hotel was a great alternative.

Some say that because it's near the station that it could be noisy. I'm picky about noise when I try to sleep, and I heard absolutely no noise while inside the room. The room was quite small, as was the bathroom, but The red and gold decor was cozy, and the room had all the basic amenities you would need. I did find the beds a bit on the firm side.

Front desk staff were nice and helpful and even highlighted some things on a map for us. Just assume you will get lost in Venice; it's half the fun!

Everything in Venice seemed to be pretty expensive, and I had a hard time finding a hotel that was not going to blow the budget. Antiche Figure was a decent value, esp since we wanted to stay close to the station. To me it was more enjoyable to meander through the alleys on the way to Piazza San Marco rather than stay in that tourist-heavy part of Venice.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of a hall on the fourth floor. No real view, but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on way to Verona. Great location just a minute from rail station and few minutes from bus station. Great to sit outside and see the bustle of the river. Staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. Room lovely, very high quality and perfectly kept.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Antiche Figure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antiche Figure

Address: Santa Croce, 687 | Fondamenta S. Simeon Piccolo, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#7 Business Hotel in Venice
#9 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antiche Figure 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just 300 metres from Santa Lucia Station, this hotel features a beautiful garden café where you can relax with a drink after a day sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Antiche Figure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Figure Hotel
Antiche Figure Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Antiche Figure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.