We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location – accommodating staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Antiche Figure

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Antiche Figure to your Saves list
Hotel Antiche Figure
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce, 687 | Fondamenta S. Simeon Piccolo, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Perth
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good location – accommodating staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Located on the grande canal directly opposite the Venice SL train station.

Stayed one night following a cruise. Upgraded to the residential suites located about 50 metres down the laneway next to the main hotel. Our suite was modern with a small kitchenette, living room with fold out bed suitable for children, main bedroom and good sized bathroom. Well maintained other than being a bit dusty.

Main hotel has a couple of dining rooms and some outdoor seating – the breakfast is a reasonable continental one with good coffee.

Staff very helpful and able to recommend nearby restaurants, activities etc as well as the best way to walk to St Mark’s and other must do’s. Nearby laundrette if you need to do some washing.

We took the ‘free’ trip to Murano arranged through the hotel and while you’ll be subjected to some hard sell on the island the glass blowing demonstration and the private water taxi ride more than made up for it!

No bargain in terms of price but excellent service and great location for train or cruise connections.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,028
    416
    47
    6
    3
See reviews for
456
1,417
50
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

It was a great hotel that was just across the train station. So convenient. Near the water taxi stations too so you could just get the tickets and hop on to any stops including st marks square and the Rialto bridge.
Breakfast was simple and nice. The first thing the reception staff did was to orientate us and give us a map with detailed explanations. Always greeting you with warmth. They are a gem.

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the grand canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

On arrival, the staff upgraded us to a suite. This did mean walking down an alley and the room had no view, but it was a lovely, large room, with a four poster bed. The room was cleaned well each day and breakfast was nice. Great location- bit of a walk to st. Mark's square but close to vaparetto and train station, and restaurants and shops nearby. Free wifi in the hotel which is a fantastic benefit you don't often get.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

While traveling Italy for a month we decided to check out Venice for a night and book the Hotel online. Once you arrive at the train station, you simply walk across a bridge to the hotel..5 minutes..We arrived to two lovely ladies at the font desk. They could not have been kinder...particularly to our older moms who were traveling along with us. They immediately offered to upgrade us to a room with a view of the canal for a very nominal cost and explained the best way to spend two days in venice. They made restaurant reservations for us and literally made us feel right at home? The rooms are very clean and the bathrooms are on par with united states five star hotels . While we were out that evening, the tide came in for one of the famous Venice November "floods"...the moms had boots so no big deal but the hotel staff were ready to come "rescue" us with waders and boots if we need it. They did take our shoes and dried them out for us to pick up in the am Amazing. The breakfast in the am is complimentary and a typical venetian breakfast...the hotel offered a complimentary trip to Murano to check out the glass making..they arranged the whole thing. We will return as out of a month of travel..this hotel was our very favorite..only wish we could have stayed longer..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I recently stayed at Hotel Antiche Figure with my husband and 3 teenage children. it was absolutely wonderful! Even before I booked with them, they promptly and thoroughly answered some questions I had via email. The reservation process was a breeze. I was originally going to book 2 rooms to fit my family, but they offered me a residential suite with a kitchen and a verandah that would fit all of us for almost the same price so I took it. We came in on the train and when we arrived, we were so happy with the location - very close to the train station and on the Grand Canal! The front desk staff were very friendly and extremely helpful in telling us how to get around the city - even giving us a map with a suggested sight seeing itinerary and route - which we did and it was perfect. The suite was excellent and stocked with an abundance of towels and toiletries. It was quiet and the beds were comfortable and we all slept very well. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and the server who made us our cappuccinos and hot chocolates was delightful, as was every single member of the hotel staff. I will definitely be going back to this hotel!

Room Tip: Just book directly with the hotel and communicate your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint James, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife, mother, and I stayed in Venice for two nights at the Antiche Figure. It is a great hotel right across the Grand Canal from the train and near the bus terminal. That may sound like a negative in most cities but as there are no cars at all in Venice it is truly a blessing as the walk to/from the hotel with your luggage is minimal. Also it is near these two transport hubs but far enough that you do not have many travelers passing by. As well there are no industrial areas at all so other than the occasional Vapporetto passing on the Canal or the sound of some overly enthusiastic tourists walking down the street there was no noise at all! Also the train station and bus terminal are two of the major vaporetto stops so we never had an issue with waiting for our next boat.

We stayed in a triple room and found it to be very comfortable. The beds and pillows were the best of all the hotels we stayed in Italy. The bathroom was beautiful. The elevator was new but did creek. This is likely due to the age of the building (you would never know except for the elevator noise).

The breakfast was served in the back of the hotel in two rooms with approximately 10 tables. The spread was generous and included meats, cheeses, bread, pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, and coffee. We found that we were not hungry until the mid-afternoon after eatting.

The staff were all very friendly and spoke english. We had some afternoon coffees after a long day of walking around the lagoon in the front area of the hotel. It is very relaxing.

The hotel has free wifi in the lobby as well a computer for guests to use. The front desk told us the rest of the building would be wired for free wifi at the end of November so that should be helpful for any future guests.

Overall we loved our stay in Venice and found that the hotel location enabled us to really take advantage of the vaporettos as well as walk anywhere we needed to go. We would reccomend this hotel to any travelers and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel Antiche Figure is everything the other travellers have said. It's position just 5 minutes from the railway station and bus terminal make it an ideal location.
To explore Venice from the hotel is easy as it stands on the banks of the 'Grand Canal'.
The staff without exception were excellent, friendly, knowledgeable and above all genuine in their desire to be helpfull.
The hotel itself was spotlessly clean with good size rooms free internet in the lobby area and a great selection for breakfast.
I cannot fault anything and would not cnsider staying anywhere else the next time I visit this wonderfull city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Antiche Figure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antiche Figure

Address: Santa Croce, 687 | Fondamenta S. Simeon Piccolo, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Venice
#5 Business Hotel in Venice
#9 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antiche Figure 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just 300 metres from Santa Lucia Station, this hotel features a beautiful garden café where you can relax with a drink after a day sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Antiche Figure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Figure Hotel
Antiche Figure Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Antiche Figure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.