We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Rosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Rosa to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Rosa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio 389, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very nice hotel, convenient location close to railway station.
Good breakfast , big room, clean and nicely equipped
Very friendly and really helpful staff. Thanks for our good time in Venice, hope to see you again in next trip to Venice

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    134
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
69
112
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were traveling by train and this was nice and close to the station which was great. The room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable but the beds could be a little longer for tall people like me. Our room was opposite reception which concerned me but to my surprise, noise really didn't travel into the room. We paid for internet but as is often the case around Europe, it could only be used on a single device at a time. Breakfast was very basic and the juice in the machine very bland. A few more options at breakfast would be great, and have the pastries out rather than have a waiter meter them out as you arrive at your table. The room had a working safe which we appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just returned from our 3-night stay here and do plan on coming back and recommending this great hotel. Clean, great service, good breakfast and great location. Very lose to the train station. It is off the main streets, which makes it even more ideal to be away from the tourist crowds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Conveniently located within a short walking distance of the train station this was great budget hotel. Our twin room was cosy and clean with a bathroom, balcony and outdoor setting. The fabric covered walls were interesting which added to the character of the place. Breakfast and wifi were available at the hotel for an additional charge. Staff were friendly and helpful. Security was also good out of hours.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

typical of venice on small street near train station and water taxis but far enough away tucked away on a small alley way once inside very nice staff great rooms clean and decorated old world style gives a real feel of the city breakfast was good great value would stay there again highly recommend

Room Tip: i saw 4 rooms all nice but the room we had was big 334 and had a third bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

just come back from this hotel?? more like hostel, poor night staff, lots of huffing and puffing, (except for lovely man on one night) my single room (10) was 2metres by 2 metres! beware if put in this room, I was woken at 5.35 am on two out of four mornings by delivery of linen being thrown down stairs and banging into wall, (15 sacks the 1st time) then not being able to get back to room after poor breakfast because cleaners and linen blocking door. Most rooms nothing like photos on website. Bar never open, Mr Huff Puff said it was but was never there, didn't see anyone buy a drink in a four day stay, even though in most evenings for a group review of the day.

Room Tip: just don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elenamarazzi, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Rosa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Mrs. Maturestudent54,

we are very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay in our property.

All the rooms have fire proof doors , so they are heavy and quite sound proof. Unfortunately sometimes in a Hotel there are noises we can't avoid 100% but we try to harm less than we can our guests.Now we will try harder

If someone wants a drink from the bar the receptionists can prepare it. We don't have a person dedicated only for the bar, but we do on request.

We hope a day you'll change your mind and give us another chance to stay in our property.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Villa Rosa is cheaper than most in Venice, so a suspicious traveller might start looking for reasons. Well, the bedrooms are a bit old fashioned, particularly the furniture, although this doesn't affect the comfort. Everything was clean. Staff are very helpfull. This is a small hotel, so don't expect a huge range of facilities, but you can get a cup of coffee when you need one and the reception has a nice seating area.
The hotel is at the end of a tiny alleyway which is easy to miss. It's very convenient for the transport options of bus/train station and vaporetti. The area is touristy because of its proximity to the station, but a few minutes walk takes you away from all this.
One warning: the whole of Venice is a mosquito zone, even in January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rosa

Address: Cannaregio 389, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Rosa 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosa Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.