We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Venice hotel/B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Ca' Le Vele

Save Saved
You added Locanda Ca' Le Vele to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Locanda Ca' Le Vele
Cannaregio 3969, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 152 Specialty lodging in Venice
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good Venice hotel/B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is located at end of alley....as is the case with many Venice hotels. It is located just off Strada Nuova, walking area filled with the usual shops and restaurants/cafes. It is a very short walk from the Ca d'Oro water bus (vaporetto) stop. Our rate was 170 euros for large room overlooking little canal. This is only room (out of 8 total rooms) overlooking canal. Our friends paid less for room next to ours; their room was considerably smaller. Price was worth it more for the size of the room than the view. Simple, but very nice, breakfast is served to your room when you want it. Bathroom was modern and clean. Owners were very helpful and friendly. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I would stay in the room with the canal view because it was a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    46
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
122
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This may just be my most favorite B&B ever! We stayed for four days in July, and did NOT want to leave. I reminisce of this place often since the end of our European vacation.

Locanda Ca'Le Vele was the sweetest little B&B; and of course, run by the most charming Venetian brothers, Ivan and Max. Service was exceptional! Location was perfect... we skipped the vaporettos and walked/got lost in Venice to explore all of its beauty and glory. The breakfasts provided by Max and Ivan was also pretty fabulous... coffee, juice, and pastries.

It was just... perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Truely wonderful experience. Great owners who are wonderfully welcoming and helpful. Our room was truely venetian styled and overlooking a canal. Service was impeccable. Absolutely delightful location about 15 minutes walk to St. Mark's square. So it is close to the Rialto Bridge and Grand Canal. BUT it is located in a true Venetian neighbourhood with local restaurants and bars where you can sit, enjoy and watch the flow of people going by. And this comes with a bonus Local prices, not tourist prices.

Highly recommended. We will go back.

Thak you for hosting us. Tom and Nadine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel based on the ratings on Trip Advisor and overall we have been very satisfied. We arrived by train and walked to the room with our trolleys in less than half an hour through a lovely lane that crosses the Cannaregio area. Even though we showed up before the official check-in time (we just wanted to leave our luggage there), we were immediately allowed into the room.

We have been given a spacious double with two windows watching the small channel nearby and a not too small bathroom which had obviously been recently renewed. Our 2 kids slept on a sofa bed whose mattress was a bit too shallow and hard for my tastes (even though the kids did not complain). The room was very clean and had nice typical Venetian furnishing which you can see from the photos plus a modern flat screen TV set (no sat tv but entry of channels, some with English audio) and working free wifi. The was also a lock inside the closet, but I could not figure out how to use it and I did not bother asking. The surroundings were very quiet and we have never been bothered by outside noise (our kids go to sleep rather early).

You may have read from other reviews about the room service breakfast which was fairly satisfying for Italian standards, but which may be a bit too limited if you are used to Continental or English Breakfast. The staff easily accommodated our requests for the kids (lukewarm milk) and they were always on time (breakfast is served between 8 and 10am according to your preferences. I believe this might be a bit too late for some early birds).

We were able to leave our luggage at the hotel after checking out so that we could spend some more time in the city before leaving in the evening.

The location is great: you have many shops nearby, including Mc Donald's just around the corner (if you just want to grab something quick for dinner), a supermarket, several good middle range restaurants (osterie) . Vaporetto stops are very close both for Canal Grande and also to the nearby islands (Murano, Burano, etc...) - stops Ca d'Oro and Fondamente Nove respectively . I was able to walk to Piazza S Marco in 10-15 minutes of minutes one morning I wanted to take pictures before dawn - obviously at that time you don't have to fight people walking in the opposite direction. Rialto bridge is even closer and you will cross some nice little bridge getting there.

We were visited by a handful of mosquitos at night (which is to be expected during Summer in such a city). Maybe a mosquito net for the window would be a good addition (if allowed by the municipality).

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our family occupied three rooms for four days after disembarking from the Royal Princess. The hotel is centrally located with transportation (vaporetto, gondola, water taxi), restaurants and shops nearby. The rooms were tastefully decorated in the Venetian style, clean and spacious. The air conditioning was a blessing during those 44 C.days! Breakfast was more than enough and tasty.
Ivan and Max were very helpful in guiding and suggesting sights, shops and restaurants to be visited. Would love to return in the future !!
You must visit a gelateria Grom, just around the corner,for the best gelato in Venice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This 6 room hotel is run by two brothers Max and Ivan. From the moment you walk into this beautiful little Venetian hotel you feel like you are staying with family. The rooms are stunning. Decorated in Venetian style. We stayed in the double superior, with a canal view. We were located a few steps from the water taxi pick up, which made it easy with the luggage. You are also within a ten minute short walk to the vaparetto stop. Our room was a pleasant surprise. It was quite large with a queen bed. We had an armoire and a beautiful table with four chairs where we were served a typical Italian breakfast. We also had a couch and of course a flat screen TV. Fully air conditioned as well. The bathroom was quite large and very modern. Very clean!!!!! It is very difficult in Italy to find hotel rooms that are fairly large to our Canadian or North American standards. The price for this hotel was very reasonable considering it only took us 15 minutes to walk to St. Marks square. Once you were familiar with all the little alley ways and bridges it was very easy getting around. We walked everywhere! Everything was so close! The Rialto bridge was a few short steps from St. Marks. There are many gondola starting points within walking distance, and don't worry about eating, there are cafes, restaurants, Trattoria's every where around you. Max and Ivan gave us a map and marked all the easy routes for us. Both of their English was excellent and they were extremely laid back and friendly. Staying at Locanda Ca Le Vele truly helped us immerse ourselves into Venice. Love the staff, location, room, Ivan and Max! Love this hotel and they will see us again for sure! Thanks Ivan and Max for making our visit to Venice memorable! Ciao

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Simply outstanding quality and value in Venice. Large rooms of a quality and standard exceeding many 4 star hotels. A great location for visiting all of the city's key destinations. I could not more highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Locanda Ca' Le Vele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca' Le Vele

Address: Cannaregio 3969, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 152 Specialty lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Locanda Ca' Le Vele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca` Le Vele Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Ca' Le Vele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.