We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Abadessa to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Priuli, Cannaregio 4011, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“A very special place in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Our family (2 adults and 2 teens) had a wonderful stay at Palazzo Abadessa. The hotel and garden are beautiful, and the staff was very helpful. Darwin and Sylvana were always happy to answer our questions and to make dinner reservations. The rooms were very "venetian", spacious, clean and comfortable. The included breakfast was the best we had during our entire vacation, and being able to eat in the private garden made it very memorable. We hope to return someday in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    84
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
94
318
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

What a find! A beautiful hotel 2 minutes walk from the Ca d'Oro vaporetto stop and 15 mins stroll to Piazza San Marco. Set back off one of the main tourist streets, you'd never know the tourists were anywhere near once you arrive. The hotel is a palace that was converted to a hotel about 8 years ago (we were told when we arrived) and is stunning. Murano glass chandeliers in the public areas, but so were the room lights when we got to our room.
The hotel was spotlessly clean, and offered a brilliant breakfast which you could eat either in the hotel, or outside in its private garden (which was a lovely start to the day in mid-August when we visited).
The staff were very friendly, helpful if you needed any advice on where to go or how to get there, and were more than happy to recommend places to eat and even ring and arrange bookings for you.
City breaks can be exhausting with all the walking around and queuing for the sights, but the hotel was just the antidote we needed at the end of the day - quiet, comfy beds and brilliantly located for a late evening vaporetto back from a restaurant after a drink or two!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringsted, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We visit Hotel Palazzo Abadessa in august 2010 and had the most perfect memorable stay. Hotel Palazzo Abadessa is situated central in Venice but at the same it is like an oasis when stepping into the garden of Hotel Palazzo Abadessa.. quite and beautiful. It is like entering another world when you stay at this hotel. The rooms are beautifull furnished and a tour around the hotel with a camera is absolutely recommended.

The hotel is small and that also means that you get to know the staff very well during your stay and the service is absolutely high.

We had the most fantastic stay in Venice but the stay at Hotel Plazzo Abadessa was a great part of this experience.

We hope to get back soon :o)

best regards
René & Marianne
Denmark

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

My husband, thirteen year old son and myself stayed at Palazzo Abdessa,Venice in July for 3 nights as part of our 5 week holiday from Australia. After alighting steam boat number one at Car d' Ore we had a 2 minute walk down a narrow laneway to the green door-the entrance to Palazzo Abdessa. Our initial view was the lush green garden and welcoming garden settings which we later took advantage of with our bottle of complimentary champagne. We were quickly greeted by Sylvania who was extremely friendly and knowledegeable about the history and sights of Venice, including tips of places to dine away from the large tourist areas. The palazza was serviced 24 hours and we found all staff from the lady who prepared our buffet breakfasts, day and night staff to be friendly and helpful. After Rome, this really did feel like a comforting haven to return to after a days sight seeing. The palazzo also has it's own water canal where by you can arrive by water taxi. Sylvania made herself totally available to her guests to share her knowledge when they sought it, otherwise you were left to enjoy the tranquility.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Stayed here for two nights last week and loved it. We had a standard room (11) which, while nowhere near as grand as the suites, was really lovely. We had a view of the canal from all three of the rooms windows. The walls were covered in silk covering and there were murano glass light fittings. The room was plenty big enough as had a warm and romantic charm. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff very friendly.

The best thing about the palace however is the location. Canneregio is a lovely district and within a couple of minutes walk to the no.1 Vaparetto stop at Cal d'Oro. It is however just the right distance from the maddening crowds!

Overall a great experience for our first trip to Venice and I hope to return again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I loved this hotel. I loved its charming garden, a total gem in the middle of a busy beautiful city. I loved the rooms, the lobby, the lovely sitting room, I loved it all. We had two dbl rooms and both were luxuriously furnished and decorated.

The common areas are full of antiques, beautiful period pieces. They even have some frescos what is left from them from a few hundred years ago on the walls. Great staff; they were always ready to help, and were pleasant at all times. Breakfast was consistently good every day. Location is perfect, it is in a residential area, so you are close to all the great spots in Venice but not too close to be bothered by the crowds. It is a quiet location within walking distance to everything. I will be sure to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

The hotel itself is very cool. the decor is very "venice" but looks very antique, in a good way. it has an adorable outside garden area where we sat during a thunderstorm (under a tent) drinking the free botle of prsecco they gave us.

our room was very basic but totally fine. they have bathrobes and slippers for you. Tv has channels in all different languages.

staff was very helpful and the breakfast was wonderful! proscuitto, melon, kiwi, pineapple, peaches, brioche, coffee, yogurt. so good. and included.

had a very nice stay there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
UNA Hotel Venezia
UNA Hotel Venezia
#26 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 872 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#18 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#19 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#27 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#14 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
San Marco
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#30 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Abadessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Address: Calle Priuli, Cannaregio 4011, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Venice
#15 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Business Hotel in Venice
#25 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Abadessa 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Splendia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Abadessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Abadessa Hotel
Palazzo Abadessa Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Abadessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.