We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Venice-Beautiful hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Abadessa to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Priuli, Cannaregio 4011, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great location in Venice-Beautiful hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and would definitely come back! The hotel personnel were most accommodating and very nice. The Palazzo is such a beautiful structure and we were amazed to find out that it had only been a hotel for about 10 years. We were able to walk to many good restaurants and it was easy to get a vaporetto from this location as well. The breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed the lovely garden setting each morning while we had breakfast. We enjoyed this hotel very much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    68
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
80
260
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was our first trip to Venice and stayed here for 4 nights.
Our room was over looking the the garden, quiet, clean and suited our needs. Breakfast was nice and just the right way to start the day. Location of the hotel was just right. It's just on the outskirts of the main tourist area so very quiet.
It was easy to find and get around from. Lots of nice restaurants close by to enjoy and just down the road is an "Irish" pub servicing a nice cold beers with a relaxed atmosphere to sit outside and watch the people go by.
The staff were friendly and helpful when we needed advice. They also arranged for a water taxi when we left to take us to the airport, much appreciated.
I can't fault the Palazzo Abadessa. It obviously had a lot of history and character, next time I'll have to explore its origins a little more. Saturday nights they treat the guests to evening drinks which was a nice unexpected treat.
Look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for 7nights , this was our second visit to Venice. The location of the hotel is superb with easy access to all of the major attractions of Venice( of which there are many ) , it is surrounded by very good restaurants offering meals from Pizzas to 200 Euro /head banquets. They provided a very good breakfast , continental style , only cooked item being boiled eggs but lots of hams, cheeses, fruit, cakes, etc. The staff were very friendly and helpful.The hotel also had a delightful garden where you could eat breakfast or have a drink. The only complaint was the size of the rooms , a classic double is too small for a 7day stay, there was very limited storage and nowhere to sit other than on the bed . Also the air conditioning was not up to the job which meant having the windows open, on the garden side this was no problem but on the canal side it was quite noisy both late at night and early in the morning. As we expressed disappointment with our first room we were moved twice but generally all " classic doubles " suffered from the same problem of size which was compounded by low dark ceilings. As we enjoyed the other aspects of the hotel so much we asked to see other rooms , on the second floor there are fabulous rooms with high ceilings , junior suites , which we will have next time

Room Tip: Don't have a classic double if you intend to stay for more than a couple of nights , splash out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and thought the location was great. A 10-15 minute walk to crowded San Marco Square but well worth it! Our first trip to Venice 3 years ago we stayed right in the heart of San Marco. This time knowing more about areas we opted to stay at this hotel. We had a huge 2 story room, the staff are extremely attentive, the breakfast is great but for us the highlight was the lovely garden where you could have breakfast, a quiet drink or just sit and enjoy the peace and tranquility in an area where the only greenery is a few roof top gardens and potted plants. Venice is an amazing city and a totally unique experience but we loved going back to the Palazzo Abadessa a true oasis.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The staff was very kind. We had a harrowing trip in the rain at night from the boats to the hotel and the attendant (sorry to forget his name) was very helpful and accommodating.
The rooms were not as large as other places but we felt this magical feeling of history once we entered. The ceilings were of wooden pillars still with the original medieval painting on them. I felt I was doing a bit of disservice to art when the steam from my shower rose up around the paint. However, I'm sure they have treated the pillars with something to protect them from moisture.
The décor was beautiful and the view upon the canal was tremendous. I particularly enjoyed breakfast. Not only was it very good, one of the best we had in Italy, but the hotel is right on the canal so you can watch the passer's by on the calm waters while enjoying your coffee. Very magical!
The location is terrific as it was central to all the markets and restaurants of Venice.
Extremely enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: The canal view is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at this Palazzo in 2008 and returned again 5 years later. Our experience was still great, and I could basically copy the same review here, although the management has passed on to the next generation, and some small changes were done (e.g. the breakfast room is now a guest room, due to the fact that the hotel has to have first floor rooms to be categorizes as a hotel) So now breakfast is served in the foyer (or outside). The only real annoying part are the pigeons in the backyard. They literally invade your breakfast table by the dozens as soon as you turn your head. A simple faux owl would fix that...We will return in 2018!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lahore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed in August in this wonderful little haven. Its literally an island away from the rest of the world. We were there for just 2 days and the minute we arrived we were wondering if there was a way we could extend our stay - unfortunately we had already got bookings elsewhere. But if you got to Venice, Abadessa is the way to go. The staff (our particular favourite was Michelle) is so helpful and they all speak perfect English. The rooms are so rustic, and we felt as if we were of the stately order in historical Italy - the hotel was once an Austro-Hungarian embassy and so added to its historical appeal. Our view was of the garden, and housed four family members ever so comfortably. The smell of Lillies are now reminiscent to us of Abadessa, The quaint breakfast was so healthy and lovely. There is thought given to every detail in the hotel which makes it so homely. Not to mention all the main tourist attractions are walking distance. I'd not only recommend this hotel to everyone, but if ever I return to Venice I would stay in Abadessa again and again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Abadessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Address: Calle Priuli, Cannaregio 4011, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#12 Family Hotel in Venice
#13 Business Hotel in Venice
#29 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Abadessa 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Abadessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Abadessa Hotel
Palazzo Abadessa Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Abadessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.