We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Casanova Suite!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Abadessa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Priuli, Cannaregio 4011, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 382 hotels in Venice
Singapore
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
188 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
483 helpful votes 483 helpful votes
“Romantic Casanova Suite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Upon arrival at the Marco Polo airport, we collected our pre-booked 72 hours travel ticket outside the arrivals hall (look for a blue/pink machine). From the Arrivals Hall, then turn left and saw a trolley point with the sign to the docks. Walked about 5-7 minutes under shelter to find the Alilaguna ticket booth, then collect our pre-booked Blu line ferry tickets (one way). It was all so easy. Long lines to buy tickets, better book online first!

About 35-40 minutes later, we had arrived at the second stop, Fondamenta Nuove. After crossing 3 very small bridges and about 8-10 minutes later, we had arrived at the garden gates of the Palazzo Abadessa. I loved staying at Venetian palazzos furnished in a traditional way. Had wanted to stay here in previous visits but either our beloved room 24 was booked or the Palazzo requires a minimum 2 nights stay during peak seasons/weekends.

Finally, we were able to stay 2 nights here during summer, and enjoy its much talked about gardens (indeed well tendered to, simply lovely!). However, having arrived at 10am after more than 16 hours of travelling, our suite was not ready. Not a problem, toured the Natural History Museum and had a nice lunch. Bought drinks and fruits from the huge supermarket nearby and checked in after 2pm.

This is probably our 6th trip to Venice. Somehow, by choosing hotels that are centrally located as well as google maps before the trip helps us in not spending 100 or more euros for a water taxi. Thus, we are proud to say that we have never taken a water taxi while in Venice! Pay for a 2 or 3 day transport card as we have witnessed a lady being fined 59 euros without a valid ticket!

However, upon entering suite 24, my heart sank a little - on the first look, the actual room had appeared much smaller than the pictures on their website. But we soon realised it was enough space even for 3 persons as there is a Queen and Single bed in there. In addition, there was a writing /dinning desk with two arm chairs, safe and flat screen TV. Wifi was free and fast, too!

The bathroom was huge - twin sinks, separate tub and shower cubicle. However, the whole bathroom looked a little gloomy due to its light brown tiles being used, with no marble in sight. Before entering the bathroom, there is a small walk in area with a big closet, so lots of space to stow clothing and belongings for a longer stay.

Though the suite 24 faces a small pedestrianized road with partial views of a bridge and canal (look left from the suite), it was blissfully quiet both in the day as well as at night. And so we recover from our jet lag here, with rather soft mattresses, but comfy for a great night's sleep. However, spray yourself with anti-mosquito liquid as there are signs of the insect in the suite during summer (though not sure of other seasons?).

Breakfasts, with quality offerings but limited range (its a boutique hotel, what do you expect?), starts a little too late at 8.30am. For jet lagged people like us, we would prefer 7-7.30am breakfasts ... Though it is not fully ready each time we had breakfasts before the official time, it was fine for us as having breakfasts in the summer garden was quite, as they say in Italian, Bellissimo!

We took advantage of the summer season to visit nearby Stra (take a bus from Piazzale Roma) for its Villa Pisani as well as Vicenza (take a train) for its Villa La Rotonda and Villa AValmarana ai Nani. Both were great day trips, believe me! Also had some fun at the Casino di Venezia and came away with a free lunch and dinner, lucky us!

Needless to say, the common areas of the Palazzo is wonderfully decorated with oil paintings, antique furnitures, Murano glass chandeliers, decorated ceilings, nice carpets and stained glasses. Also loved its spirally anitque stone staircases to the Piano Nobile floor, nice! Our suite's wall was covered in silk, the ceiling was also painted with Italian designs though we much prefer biblical frescoes and there is a gorgeous Murano chandelier.

As for the hotel's location, frankly, I would say its especially easy to find and near the Ca d'Oro vaporetto stop. However, if you are after the great views of the San Marco basin or are a first time visitor to Venice, then I would say the San Marco area is better for you. After a wonderful two nights here, we stayed a 3rd night at the Hotel Savoia e Jolanda for the Redentore fireworks, bellissimo again.

Room Tip: We loved room 24, the red Casanova suite. Book early as its very popular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    311
    62
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
74
242
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

chose Palazzo Abadessa based in trip advisor reviews. Surprisingly, I do not agree and was disappointed. For first timers to Venice, I advise finding a hotel near Piazza de san marco or the rialto. This hotel is near ca d'oro, which is a bit of a walk to the sites in venice. Getting lost in Venice may be a charm, but it can get tiring. My biggest complaint with the hotel is the mattress. We had a bed that was two twin beds placed next to each other. The mattress was subpar and not comfortable. It sagged in the middle with barely there support elsewhere. I am highly surprised at the number of rave reviews.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We are a couple in our twenties currently travelling around Europe. We could not be more happy about our stay at Palazzo Abadessa.

To start, getting there is so easy. We understand many people arrive at the door opening onto the canal by water taxi, but we simply followed the clear directions that the hotel had provided to get us from where we dropped our car at Piazzale Roma to travel along the Grand Canal by the number 1 water bus and then walk for about 60 seconds from the Ca' d'Oro dock to arrive at the door opening onto the side lane. When we left, we were flying out of Marco Polo airport, so we simply reversed that journey and jumped on the airport shuttle bus from Piazzale Roma to the airport. All really easy, really cheap and took about an hour.

The location is wonderful. It is situated down a laneway coming off Strata Nuova - the main street through the area with countless cafes, restaurants shops to explore. You can then easily walk to pretty much anywhere in Venice (we did, although note the young and very fit legs). So the central location and easy access to the Grand Canal was a massive plus for us. But the relatively short laneway also provides privacy and shelter from the noise. We could not get over how quiet it was when relaxing in and around the hotel and we really felt like we were in our own secluded little corner of Venice. We spent time in the garden each morning and often in the afternoon and all that we ever heard was the chirps of the birds, the church bells every half hour and the sound of the occasional boat going down the small canal adjacent to the hotel.

The hotel is beautiful. The very traditional Venetian furniture, art and other decorations really added to the experience. Our room was similarly appointed and was extremely clean and comfortable with a view of the canal. We were surprised and delighted to be greeted by a complimentary fruit bowl and bottle of champagne. The garden was one of the highlights for us - whether it was enjoying the delicious and filling breakfast in the morning or reading a book and having a cold drink in the afternoon before heading out again that night.

The staff were amazing. They were so welcoming and accommodating. Nothing was a hassle and they always greeted you with a smile. They seemed adamant that they wanted to make you feel at home and like family. They succeeded.

We now consider Palazzo Abadessa our own little home in Venice. We have already recommended it to all our family and friends. We will definitely return, as soon as we possibly can.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, North Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights, room and front desk service was excellent, location is ideal, quiet and gorgeous garden, near to the grand canal. It would be nice to have had access to free tea and coffee making facilities other than at breakfast, especially at the price we were paying, though the free prosecco was a nice touch on arrival .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent two nights here recently and found it to be the nicest hotel that we stayed in during a two week Italian and Greek vacation. The place is the former embassy of the Austria-Hungarian empire. The second floor is really spectacular as the rooms all fan out from a former receiving hall with spectacular paintings, period furniture, wall and ceiling treatments and more. It is a little worn but in the same charming way all of Venice is. Our room was a very large ornate, two level suite --- the only inconvenience being that we had to walk upstairs to use the bathroom. The room was larger than most in Europe and had a nice view of the back canal. We enjoyed arriving at the back of the hotel by water taxi. It felt like a real Venetian experience. The hotel has a great garden for eating breakfast in or for having afternoon tea. The breakfast provided is very nice with fruits, baked goods, cold cuts and cheeses, fresh juices and boiled eggs. A breakfast like that can be hard to find in hotels in Italy, I found it to be on par with German hotels. It is located in a quiet sector of Canareggio but located close enough to all the main sights, yet away from the summer tourist masses. Finally, I tip my hat to the staff who were very welcoming and genuinely go out of the way to make your stay pleasant. It is a family run place and all the staff welcome you into that family temporarily.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We traveled to Venice for a 2 night stopover as part of our honeymoon. This hotel was everything we wanted. It's in a fabulous location (close walking distance to main sights but away from the main drag and close to some absolute gems of restaurants and bars). It was very venetian in style and we had a view onto a pretty little canal. The service was excellent as was breakfast. We even came back one evening and shared a bottle of Prosecco by ourselves in the stunning garden. It exceeded our expectations, we will absolutely be back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We traveled to Venice in early June. The weather was fantastic and this hotel exceeded our expectations. It was right on the canal in a very quiet and peaceful neighborhood. There were four of us, including our two daughters, ages 12 and 13. We had a quad room and it was very large and looked out on the beautiful garden. The staff was superb and most helpful. The lady who prepared breakfast was unbelievably kind and helpful. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The location is definitely away from the congestion and we enjoyed the peacefulness. Venice is so small that we had no problems at all in walking from our hotel to the center of it all. This is a great hotel and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palazzo Abadessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Address: Calle Priuli, Cannaregio 4011, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Venice
#10 Family Hotel in Venice
#10 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#25 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Abadessa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Abadessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Abadessa Hotel
Palazzo Abadessa Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Abadessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.