We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility and Quality in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Abadessa to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Priuli, Cannaregio 4011, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London.England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tranquility and Quality in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in room 23 which is a corner junior suite overlooking the small canal at the rear of the hotel. The room itself is large with twin aspect windows and a large very comfortable double bed. The airconditioning worked well and it was quite hot at the time of our visit. There is a small entrance passage between the room and the bathroom which contains the wardeobe and cupboards with safe. This leads to the bathroom which has a shower but no bath. The bathroom is long and thin, so quite cramped for two people to use at the same time, but this was the only slight problem with this room. Is it really a junior suite, or just a large room? We weren't worried - it was a nice place to be and, by Venice standards, a reasonable price. The main positives about the hotel are that it is has a quiet location, but is just a few steps from Strade Nuove, the main shopping drag in this part of the city, and a few more from the Ca D'Oro museum and Vaporetto stop. It's in, but near the southern boundary of, the less fashionable Cannareggio part of town, but given the proximity of good shops, restaurants and transport, this is an advantage as it is relaxed and peaceful. Also, the hotel has a lovely green garden where you can have the excellent buffet breakfast or relax at other times of the day - a major point in our choice of this hotel and one we really appreciated. The owners and staff are delightful and very helpful in advising on all arrangements. Like other reviewers, we used the private taxi motor boat service for getting to and from the airport, which does indeed cost 110 Euros, but worth every penny/cent if you have a lot of luggage. Otherwise, it would be easy to walk from the Ca D'Oro vaporetto stop in about 4 minutes. Overall: a fantastic place to stay in Venice. do try the Vecia Cavana restaurant nearby for truly lovely food (cakes and puddings particularly) and exellent old-fashioned friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Musician101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
st. catharines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a lovely little boutique hotel but it may have been a little too quiet for us as I felt I needed to whisper everywhere I went. The hotel staff is very welcoming and they let you know that this is your new home in venice which is very sweet!! The room is very large and is beautifully designed. Our stay was short, only one night. We arrived from a cruise via water taxi early in the morning and the hotel looked after our luggage until check-in at 2:00 p.m. which was convenient. We had breakfast in the gardens which is stunning. I would advise you to get down early for breakfast as it does not seem like they replentish the items frequently and I seen that some people where disappointed with the limited selection. Venice hotels are expensive and this one is certainly up there at over 350 Euro per night. This hotel is located in the back canals of the neighbourhood near the Rialto Bridge. Walking the back streets to the hotels seemed a little "sketchy" considering the amount of graffiti along with the warning from the front desk to be aware of pick pockets but they seem to be everywhere nowadays.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allreadythere2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed for eight wonderful nights at the Palazzo Abadessa. This small converted palazzo is perfectly situated in quiet location in Canareggio only a couple of minutes from the busy Strada Nuova - so offers the best of both worlds. Managed by a small, hardworking team, this hotel was at the other end of the scale from the large corporate groups we try to avoid whenever possible. Although we've stayed in many different hotels in Venice over the years, this one is the best. Our 'red' room was delightfully furnished in venetian style and although we overlooked the campiello, this was advantageous as it was completely quiet and cool. The hotel benefits from a pretty garden, perfect for relaxing with a cool drink after a busy day of sightseeing. One point here, more an opportunity than a criticism ... the iron seats are firm and the garden would benefit from some comfy chairs or at least some thick cushions to replace the existing ones.

The breakfast buffet offers a good selection and the waitress has to work very hard to serve guests with drinks, clear tables and replenish the buffet - all at the same time.

Special mentions must go to Darwin who is very helpful and always has a smile and pleasantry for each guest. Also, we must mention Rogiolo who looks after the desk at night and was extremely kind, polite and helpful.

We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonHappytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Venice is a unique city, having no cars, buses or trucks, some of the narrowest streets and alleyways but still playing host to a huge number of tourists for much of the year. So it is a pleasure to find a hotel that provides most of the expected comforts of luxury accommodation and is yet located in a part of town that escapes the madness surrounding St Marks and the Rialto area. The small size of the city means that you can still walk from St Marks to the Abadessa in 20 minutes (as long as you do not get lost in the maze of narrow lanes). The building is old and charming but has been converted into a hotel with large rooms and comfortable furniture. There is a large and very welcoming garden in which a magnificent breakfast is served at a very civilised time (not starting until 8.30am) and all the staff are always welcoming and helpful.

We had read about noise from a nearby school and there is certainly frequent sound from the playground but that is short-lived and certainly does not intrude into the peaceful ambience of this property and is well finished by the evening.

This is not a cheap hotel and for the price paid, the bathroom was quite inadequate, being very small and with a shower whose water temperature had a mind of its own and a toilet seat that was not very stable. Also the television had very limited English language programming (only CNN and BBC World). Venice is an expensive city but everyone was so friendly that these privations did not really matter (much). Of course, as with many Venice properties, there was no lift, so pack lightly as you may have to climb stairs regularly.

Access to the hotel is either via a narrow lane into the garden or directly from the small canal straight into the main building. If coming from the airport get the water taxi to come straight to the canal dock.

We would be happy to return to Venice and if we do, we could not think of anywhere better than Abadessa, at least for its quietness, wonderful staff and, oh yes, that breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterbuderim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife & I stayed here for a long weekend for her 40th birthday & had a lovely time.
From the arrival at the hotel's jetty via a james bond-eque private water-taxi (thoroughly recommended even though it was 90 euros each-way!) to the pleasant drink we had in the peaceful garden before we were picked up, nothing was too much trouble.
The staff were all very pleasant, especially Darwin who always greeted us with a smile & asked how our day was going or had been.
The rooms, whilst not the biggest, were perfectly adequate for our needs & nicely decorated with low ceilings & wooden beams adding to the ambience. On arrival there was a complimentary bottle of prosecco on ice & some fruit in the room, which was a nice touch.
Location-wise the hotel is really well appointed, situated a couple of minutes walk to the ca' d'oro vaporetto water bus stop & about 10-15 mins walk from the Rialto bridge. If you walk the other way from the hotel you'll be at the vaporetto stop to go to the islands of Murano/Burano too.
A really nice thing to do in the morning is to walk from the hotel the short distance to the traghetti gondola stop (near the vaporetto) & pay a couple of euros to cross the grand canal right next to the Rialto market, once there you can pick up some lovely fresh fruit/veg to munch on in a nice shaded doorway as you meander through the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gogsfromscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We travel to Venice regularly and have stayed in a wide spectrum of hotels unfortunately Palazzo Abadessa dosen't quite meet expectations.
It's a nice old Palazzo (but so are many others in Venice) with a very nice garden particularly good for an enjoyable summer breakfast. Unfortunately the breakfast buffet is generally quite poor in selection qulity and quantity and does not live up to the description nor the cost of the room. Weve had far superior elsewhere for less, and certaintly re hydrated orange juice from a machine is not aporopriate.
The lack of a bar and very limited range in the mini bar seems very shorted sited with such a nice garden to sit and enjoy a night cap on a summers evening another missed opportunity !
Generally the rooms are nicely decorated and well maintained but the lack a bath in a superior room was not expected nor made clear at booking.
Service was generally pleasant for the routine but less than helpful when a more unusual request for a late check out was met with a rather stern and blunt 12:00.
There are far better hotels with gardens in close proximity my advice for the price would be to seek them out, I doubt we'll be certaintly at the current room rate.
One word to sum up dissapointed!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Surreytravelmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had six nights at the hotel in May. We chose a room called a "junior suite" that turned out to be a room with a small alcove and of course the bathroom. The room was very large by Venice standards and beautifully decorated. The hotel is a small one and has a large and quite peaceful garden attached that allows you to get a rare piece of outdoor serenity in this city. The staff at the hotel (mainly front desk) were always helpful and courteous and were able to recommend local restaurants for dinner etc. I would highly recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#1 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#13 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,483 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 2,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#10 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,589 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Abadessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Address: Calle Priuli, Cannaregio 4011, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Venice
#14 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#22 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#24 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Abadessa 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Abadessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Abadessa Hotel
Palazzo Abadessa Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing