We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Abadessa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Priuli, Cannaregio 4011, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 382 hotels in Venice
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolute Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in May and found the hotel to be everything we expected after reading the reviews over the last year. This hotel is an absolute gem! From it's lovely quiet secluded garden to the clean and well appointed rooms to the absolutely wonderful pleasant and helpful staff this hotel deserves the highest praise. Complementary Proseco, fruit and chocolates in the room and cocktails on the Saturday evening out in the garden. We felt welcome from the moment we arrived and would love to return. It is well located and close to all of the main attractions although once in the garden you could be forgiven for believing you were miles away. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    65
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
75
246
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights in room 21 at the Hotel Palazzo Abadessa. The room was very nice; however, it should be noted the bathroom is located in an upstairs loft and requires climbing a flight of stairs each time you have the need to go there. The hotel has an absolutely beautiful garden and it is quiet nice to sit in while enjoying a glass of wine. The peonies were in full bloom while we were there and their aroma was fantastic. The staff was very professional and courteous and the hotel is in a great location while being a little off the beaten path. All in all a very nice stay.

Room Tip: The bathroom in room 21 is in a loft area above the bedroom. The stairs are a bit difficult to mane...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Absolutely stunning hotel. Nice breakfast that can be taken in the small but pretty and quiet garden. Room and overall décor amazing, lovely attention to detail. Location quite good, close to gondola crossing to Rialto market.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Palazzo Abadessa hotel for 3 nights. It was extremely clean, quiet hotel and beautiful area. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the hotel garden. The bathroom was nice but cold. The room itself was lovely decorated but small. The complimentary bottle of champagne and fruit in our room was a nice welcoming. Hotel location was fine. I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor Co.Down
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed in Palazzo Abadessa Hotel for 4 nights (12th to 16th March) for our 30th wedding anniversary. The hotel was beyond our expectations - extremely friendly, helpful staff, beautifully decorated rooms in old venetian style - a true palace! The complimentary bottle of Prosecco and bowl of fresh fruit in our room was a nice touch. Our spacious (classic) room on the ground floor was cosy, warm and homely and overlooked the canal and bridge. Excellent spacious shower, fresh towels daily. Cleaning of rooms was of a very high standard too. Breakfast was amazing - great variety of fresh fruit, fruit juices, cereals, bread rolls, hams and cheeses etc, beautifully presented buffet style.The hotel's pretty garden is a nice place to enjoy your breakfast or unwind with beverages if the weather allows! Excellent location in a very quiet, picturesque area and close to Strada Nuova (which has a great variety of shops and restaurants and even a McDonald's!) and the Ca D'oro vaporetta stop. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone and we would stay here again and again if we return to Venice! Totally worth it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'classic' room which was on the ground floor, just off the main hallway wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Several of our art history group stayed here during our time in Venice and once again were hugely impressed by the beautiful rooms and wonderful service in your hotel. Thank you very much - we look forward to our return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The decor was incredible as were the friendly, professional staff. The Concierge had an excellent knowledge of the island, regional highlights and current events. I would highly recommend this establishment to those looking for a top quality place to stay in Venice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Abadessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Address: Calle Priuli, Cannaregio 4011, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Venice
#11 Family Hotel in Venice
#13 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#29 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Abadessa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Abadessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Abadessa Hotel
Palazzo Abadessa Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Abadessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.