We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Abadessa to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Priuli, Cannaregio 4011, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The decor was incredible as were the friendly, professional staff. The Concierge had an excellent knowledge of the island, regional highlights and current events. I would highly recommend this establishment to those looking for a top quality place to stay in Venice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    82
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
87
299
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We're very glad we stayed at this hotel. Our room, number 16, had a nice garden view, a pretty ceiling with large beams, Murano lamps, and 2 couches. You could occasionally hear guests outside since we overlooked the entrance, and there was occasional muffled singing and some athletic sounds (I guess we were next to a small school), but it was never a problem. Our two morning hosts, Darwin and his father, were extremely friendly, and the breakfasts were good. Our friends stayed one floor above in room 24, a very pretty room with damask (?) wallpaper, a very pretty chandeleir, and a pretty and original fresco ceiling from the 1600's. They didn't have a garden view, but they didn't mind. Our free bottle of prosecco was a nice treat, along with the fresh fruit bowl. This hotel, only a 5 minute walk from the Ca d'Oro vaporetto stop (where you can get on the number 1 vaporetto all day to go up and down the Grand Canal), is a pleasant and elegant surprise with its pretty antiques and pretty garden. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel. Very easy to get to hotel with the directions they provide. From the moment we arrived the staff were helpful and polite. The decor is lovely and reminds you of Venice's glorious past. The Managers (father and son from the Philippines) bent over backwards to make our Honeymoon memorable and they upgraded us for free as we requested a room with a canal view and they couldn't provide that. The buffet breakfast was beautifully presented and had a wide range to choose from. Location wise it was a 10 minute walk to San Marco Square if you know where you are going. We didn't so it took us awhile however we saw a lot of Venice by stumbling around. We recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

From the welcome we received as the water taxi drew in to our departure we were always treated with warmth and courtesy. On arrival we were offered an upgrade to our room and were delighted to have two beautiful rooms to enjoy, each with character aplenty as well as being extremely comfortable. Breakfast was great and the weather was nice enough to enjoy it sitting outside in the garden. We were given good advice at all times by the staff, including on the public transport strike and the variable weather. The location was easy walking distance to most of the sites of Venice and an easy walk to the waterbus back to the airport. Highly recommended for anyone deserving of a treat in Venice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at this beautiful hotel. From arrival we were made to feel welcomed and valued. We stayed in Room 23 which was a junior suite - it was extremely comfortable and superbly decorated; the bathroom was quite long and narrow and the shower a little cramped but there was no problem. My cousin stayed in the adjoining room No. 24 (the red room) which was about the same size but the bathroom was very large. The sheets were changed on a daily basis as were the towels. Fruit and a welcome bottle of prosecco were left in our room and the staff were very happy to provide ice and serve it for us.
Coffee, hot chocolate and drinks were always available as well as little snacks. Breakfast was good - mainly fresh fruits, croissants and pastries, ham and cheeses. All beautifully prepared and presented.
However my overall impression of this charming hotel was of courtesy and service. This was our third trip to Venice, should we re-visit in the future, I would stay nowhere else!

Room Tip: All rooms looked very good. We had a corner suite - two windows looked onto the canal, the third o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitstable
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had another wonderful stay at your beautiful Palazzo and met some lovely people who were also staying there.
You manage to create the most welcoming, joyous and contented atmosphere.
Thank you for giving us umbrellas to get back to the airport in the pouring rain.
We gave them to incoming visitors to Venice who were thrilled to have such pretty pink umbrellas.
See you soon we hope xxMarilyn Phipps

Room Tip: They are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

First, let me describe how to get here, since those who arrive by some means other than water taxi, may have to do some searching, but it is well worth it!

On the vaporetto line #1 from Ferrovia (Train Station) or Piazzale Roma (bus station) going towards San Marco, get off at the Ca' d'Oro stop. From the stop, there is only one alleyway extending from the Grand Canal into the city. As you emerge onto the Stradanuovo (you'll know it - it's a main shopping thoroughfare) you'll see a Grom (gelateria) to your left. Take note, you'll want to go back several times per day for their gelato. In front of you, across the street and to the right is a large fabric store, and just to the right of the fabric store is another little alleyway. It looks a little narrow and it may look like a dead end, but it is not. There is a large sign at the end of the alley for the "Partido Democratico". If you look on the wall at the entryway to the alley there is a microscopic green sign for Palazzo Abadessa. You'd never see it just passing by, but if you're looking for it you can catch it. Follow the alleyway back, it will turn to the right and then to the left and spit you out right in front of this beautiful hotel.

Now, for the review: This is our second trip to Venice, and this hotel was perfect for what we wanted. We were looking for a place that exuded the history and style of Venice at its prime, that made us feel like we were staying in an old palazzo, not a renovated, cookie-cutter hotel. This place fit the bill perfectly! The room was small, but about what we anticipated for Venice, and from the pictures of other rooms, I think we probably got one of the smallest ones in the palazzo (room 19 - maybe it was a cheaper option, we were thrilled with it, if you want something bigger, ask to see other rooms.) The walls are upholstered, the floor is wood, the ceiling is composed of exposed wooden beams, the lighting was Murano glass chandeliers and sconces, and our windows opened up onto the canal behind the hotel. Also, while I think Europeans in general have yet to discover the joys of pillow top mattresses, memory foam, and luxurious bedding (we live here and travel frequently - we have adjusted our expectations in this regard), this hotel bed and bedding were nicer than most.

The front desk had a bowl of fresh fruit in our room for our arrival that seemed like just a nice gesture, but ended up serving as breakfast for our early morning departure a few days later! The bathroom is updated and very modern, although there is no bath, only a shower. The hot water adjustment was a little sensitive, but we never ran out, and it got PLENTY hot!

There was some noise from the canal until about 10:00 p.m. with an infrequent boat or passers-by, but it never disturbed our sleep. Occasionally we could also hear the guests above us through the creaky floor, but it never bothered us. Guests should keep in mind that this is a renovated home, and you are staying in bedrooms, so your expectations of soundproofing should reflect that - we could hear conversations in the hallway while inside our bedroom and assumed the reverse was true. However, the hotel is small enough that I never felt like there were groups of people passing by our door, just the occasional guest coming back or leaving his/her room.

The only concern I would have visiting this hotel during another season: we visited the first week of March when temperatures still dipped below freezing at night. We slept with both windows wide open and the shutters closed to keep the room at a comfortable, slightly cool, temperature. My wife and I enjoy having a cooler room. We never turned on the heat in our room, and I cannot imagine how stifling this room might be in the summer without air conditioning. There was no air conditioning unit in the room that I could see, unless the heater acted as a dual unit (common in many homes and hotels). You may want to inquire first if you are going to be sleeping here in July or August. With a canal room, keeping the windows open in hotter weather may not be feasible with mosquitos, and not having air circulate could be horrendous.

One of the best features of this hotel: breakfast! I was wowed. Two kinds of prosciutto, salami, three types of cheeses, at least five or six fresh platters of fruit, sliced and ready to eat. Bowls of fresh fruit salad. Amazing baskets full of cream and chocolate-stuffed pastries, cereal, yogurt, various fruit juices (including my favorite: blood orange!), bread, toast, and coffee service. It was perfect for getting off to a good day of walking and exploring!

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel for singles, couples, or groups of adults. We travel frequently with our three young children and would not have wanted them here. We have rented apartments in Venice with more space and less honeymooners where our kids can be themselves and have fun without disturbing other guests. If you are in a similar situation, I would recommend you check out an apartment rental rather than a small and quaint establishment like this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a canal view will likely be noisier. Room #19 is small but charming and perfect for a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Palazzo Abadessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Address: Calle Priuli, Cannaregio 4011, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Venice
#17 Business Hotel in Venice
#19 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#30 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Abadessa 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Abadessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Abadessa Hotel
Palazzo Abadessa Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Abadessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.