We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Well Located and Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Abadessa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Priuli, Cannaregio 4011, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 382 hotels in Venice
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very Well Located and Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

First, let me describe how to get here, since those who arrive by some means other than water taxi, may have to do some searching, but it is well worth it!

On the vaporetto line #1 from Ferrovia (Train Station) or Piazzale Roma (bus station) going towards San Marco, get off at the Ca' d'Oro stop. From the stop, there is only one alleyway extending from the Grand Canal into the city. As you emerge onto the Stradanuovo (you'll know it - it's a main shopping thoroughfare) you'll see a Grom (gelateria) to your left. Take note, you'll want to go back several times per day for their gelato. In front of you, across the street and to the right is a large fabric store, and just to the right of the fabric store is another little alleyway. It looks a little narrow and it may look like a dead end, but it is not. There is a large sign at the end of the alley for the "Partido Democratico". If you look on the wall at the entryway to the alley there is a microscopic green sign for Palazzo Abadessa. You'd never see it just passing by, but if you're looking for it you can catch it. Follow the alleyway back, it will turn to the right and then to the left and spit you out right in front of this beautiful hotel.

Now, for the review: This is our second trip to Venice, and this hotel was perfect for what we wanted. We were looking for a place that exuded the history and style of Venice at its prime, that made us feel like we were staying in an old palazzo, not a renovated, cookie-cutter hotel. This place fit the bill perfectly! The room was small, but about what we anticipated for Venice, and from the pictures of other rooms, I think we probably got one of the smallest ones in the palazzo (room 19 - maybe it was a cheaper option, we were thrilled with it, if you want something bigger, ask to see other rooms.) The walls are upholstered, the floor is wood, the ceiling is composed of exposed wooden beams, the lighting was Murano glass chandeliers and sconces, and our windows opened up onto the canal behind the hotel. Also, while I think Europeans in general have yet to discover the joys of pillow top mattresses, memory foam, and luxurious bedding (we live here and travel frequently - we have adjusted our expectations in this regard), this hotel bed and bedding were nicer than most.

The front desk had a bowl of fresh fruit in our room for our arrival that seemed like just a nice gesture, but ended up serving as breakfast for our early morning departure a few days later! The bathroom is updated and very modern, although there is no bath, only a shower. The hot water adjustment was a little sensitive, but we never ran out, and it got PLENTY hot!

There was some noise from the canal until about 10:00 p.m. with an infrequent boat or passers-by, but it never disturbed our sleep. Occasionally we could also hear the guests above us through the creaky floor, but it never bothered us. Guests should keep in mind that this is a renovated home, and you are staying in bedrooms, so your expectations of soundproofing should reflect that - we could hear conversations in the hallway while inside our bedroom and assumed the reverse was true. However, the hotel is small enough that I never felt like there were groups of people passing by our door, just the occasional guest coming back or leaving his/her room.

The only concern I would have visiting this hotel during another season: we visited the first week of March when temperatures still dipped below freezing at night. We slept with both windows wide open and the shutters closed to keep the room at a comfortable, slightly cool, temperature. My wife and I enjoy having a cooler room. We never turned on the heat in our room, and I cannot imagine how stifling this room might be in the summer without air conditioning. There was no air conditioning unit in the room that I could see, unless the heater acted as a dual unit (common in many homes and hotels). You may want to inquire first if you are going to be sleeping here in July or August. With a canal room, keeping the windows open in hotter weather may not be feasible with mosquitos, and not having air circulate could be horrendous.

One of the best features of this hotel: breakfast! I was wowed. Two kinds of prosciutto, salami, three types of cheeses, at least five or six fresh platters of fruit, sliced and ready to eat. Bowls of fresh fruit salad. Amazing baskets full of cream and chocolate-stuffed pastries, cereal, yogurt, various fruit juices (including my favorite: blood orange!), bread, toast, and coffee service. It was perfect for getting off to a good day of walking and exploring!

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel for singles, couples, or groups of adults. We travel frequently with our three young children and would not have wanted them here. We have rented apartments in Venice with more space and less honeymooners where our kids can be themselves and have fun without disturbing other guests. If you are in a similar situation, I would recommend you check out an apartment rental rather than a small and quaint establishment like this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a canal view will likely be noisier. Room #19 is small but charming and perfect for a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    65
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
75
246
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stepping through the doors is like stepping back into time. It's exquisitely decorated. If the Medici had a home in Venice it surely would have been like this. Not for people with children ( too many antiques and sumptuous fabrics to spoil) but perfect for romantic couples get away or dreamers who long for the beauty of the past. Not in the middle of the touristy section but close enough to still walk over if you choose. Just a short walk from one of the first water taxi stops from the train station ( the stop for the hotel is the second or third stop and that is priceless if you have spent an exhausting day traveling) but also a short walk to St Mark's Square make the location ideal. It is quiet and serene, the staff are amazingly helpful. The breakfast was tasty and the rooms were spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay here! When we arrived the staff at the front desk were so warm and welcoming and even upgraded our room! The lobby is beautiful and the room was pure luxury! There is a complimentary breakfast in the morning which is delightful but the best thing about the hotel was definitely the staff! Everything about this hotel was great! Absolutely wonderful!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our five day stay. The service was excellent throughout. Matteo was especially helpful in giving us directions to various sites and recommendations for restaurants. The breakfast was delicious, the rooms were clean and well appointed. Location was off the tourist track, yet a short walk from the Ghetto, Rialto Bridge and vaporetto site. We were made to feel as though we were guests in a palace.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was a classical Venetian experience. Rooms were beautifully decked, clean and neat, well maintained for such an old building. The breakfast was generous and enjoying it in the hotel's tastefully decorated lawns was an experience to remember. Very well located and extremely helpful and courteous staff. Perhaps a little expensive but in the end worth every penny. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I struggled to find a place in Venice at reasonable price. But at the end I choosed this one, taking the superior room because we were 3 people and becuase I read that the standard ones were not big and sometimes located on the ground floor, so you get the risk to be disturbed by all the noise of the lobby (breakfast, people getting in and out etc.)
The hotel is not located in the San Marco district, but it does not matter, as it takes some 20 min to get there. It is really close to the Ca d'Oro palace, so you have vaporettos and gondolas at your fingertips. Also the hotel has its own gate to the canal, so a taxi can bring you there.

The lobby, stairs and "common areas" are just what you expect from the website...just great and you can easily get how the palaces are in Venice.
The room is big and really great. The bathroom is huge, with shower and separated tub. Not new, but very clean and in good shape.

Bed conditions were also good. So we had a good sleep. Even if winter there is very cold, you realize that you do not need the air heating, it is enough with the radiators, otherwise it is realy warm.

Breakfast is not outstanding but you get fruits, croissants, cakes, jam, and coffee or capuccino. So more than fine for me.

By the way: the taxi from the airport costs 110 EUR, the vaporetto 20 EUR each and does not leave you close to the hotel, which with suitcases is a nightmare. So if I come back I'll for sure take the watertaxi. Is not cheap but I think it is worthy.

Room Tip: Take the superior ones, on the first floor, avoid the ones on the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed for one week in December and had a great time. We were upgraded half way through when a deluxe room came available. Wonderful breakfast buffet. This hotel is in a location very convenient to many of the attractions. Easier to get to than it sounds from the hotel description. Very good value in the off season.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Abadessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Address: Calle Priuli, Cannaregio 4011, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Venice
#10 Family Hotel in Venice
#12 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#29 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Abadessa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Abadessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Abadessa Hotel
Palazzo Abadessa Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Abadessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.