We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Venetian palace hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Abadessa to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Priuli, Cannaregio 4011, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Venetian palace hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was a classical Venetian experience. Rooms were beautifully decked, clean and neat, well maintained for such an old building. The breakfast was generous and enjoying it in the hotel's tastefully decorated lawns was an experience to remember. Very well located and extremely helpful and courteous staff. Perhaps a little expensive but in the end worth every penny. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    70
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
81
265
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I struggled to find a place in Venice at reasonable price. But at the end I choosed this one, taking the superior room because we were 3 people and becuase I read that the standard ones were not big and sometimes located on the ground floor, so you get the risk to be disturbed by all the noise of the lobby (breakfast, people getting in and out etc.)
The hotel is not located in the San Marco district, but it does not matter, as it takes some 20 min to get there. It is really close to the Ca d'Oro palace, so you have vaporettos and gondolas at your fingertips. Also the hotel has its own gate to the canal, so a taxi can bring you there.

The lobby, stairs and "common areas" are just what you expect from the website...just great and you can easily get how the palaces are in Venice.
The room is big and really great. The bathroom is huge, with shower and separated tub. Not new, but very clean and in good shape.

Bed conditions were also good. So we had a good sleep. Even if winter there is very cold, you realize that you do not need the air heating, it is enough with the radiators, otherwise it is realy warm.

Breakfast is not outstanding but you get fruits, croissants, cakes, jam, and coffee or capuccino. So more than fine for me.

By the way: the taxi from the airport costs 110 EUR, the vaporetto 20 EUR each and does not leave you close to the hotel, which with suitcases is a nightmare. So if I come back I'll for sure take the watertaxi. Is not cheap but I think it is worthy.

Room Tip: Take the superior ones, on the first floor, avoid the ones on the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed for one week in December and had a great time. We were upgraded half way through when a deluxe room came available. Wonderful breakfast buffet. This hotel is in a location very convenient to many of the attractions. Easier to get to than it sounds from the hotel description. Very good value in the off season.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We chose this hotel in Venice because we wanted to stay in the one of the typical palazzos converted to a hotel. The hotel was located in the heart of Venice and served as a great base for our Venetian explorations. It is situated right on a canal so a water taxi directly to the hotel dock is an easy means of transport to the city. We took a water taxi to the hotel and found the hotel very well prepared to receive guests via their canal entrance. Upon arrival, the hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Almost as quickly as we were off our water taxi our bags had already been carried up to our room for us. The hotel staff gave a quick yet through tour of our suite and we enjoyed a bottle of complimentary bottle of prosecco. The breakfast is adequate but nothing exquisite. The hotel is literally an old world palace. This comes with character and charms as well as various quirks. The entrance is grand with an original staircase. There are tall ceilings and period pieces with antique décor. The dividers of our room appeared to have been built in modern times. In the bathroom of our room (located in a loft in the second floor of the suite) we could clearly hear people talking in the room next to us. The garden area looked like an ideal place to enjoy a glass of wine. Unfortunately, the weather didn't cooperate for us to be able to relax there. It was definitely an expensive hotel but worth the experience of staying in a palace with a great location if this is what you are looking for in a Venetian hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Booking a place to stay in Venice can be fairly daunting. I knew I'd found something special when I came across the Abadessa. We booked the early bird offer and for under €400 we got 3 nights accommodation including breakfast in one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Location is perfect: 2 minute walk to Rialto bridge, 15/20 minute walk to St.Marks square and countless restaurants and shops right on your doorstep. The vaperetto stop Ca'dore is right beside you and there is also a gondola dock. The hotel itself is stunning, pure old world decadence. Staff were friendly and always so helpful. Breakfast is traditional European buffet style, the coffee and cakes are amazing. When we checked in we were shown to room 19 overlooking the canal which was lovely however as all the floors are so old, whoever was staying above us kept us awake walking back and forth on the floorboards. When we mentioned this to the receptionist he kindly offered to change our room. He showed us a choice of two rooms on the second floor. We opted for room 25 which was beautiful! Our luggage was moved while we went out exploring. Everything in the room was spotless and extremley spacious. The Palazzo Abadessa is perfection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I researched hotels in Venice for weeks and chose the Abadessa to begin our Cruise in October.
From the moment we arrived we were treated like the royalty who lived in this beautiful, historic place in1540.
Our rooms were incredible, like something out of a Bond movie. I can't say enough about our experience. We wanted to start our trip in a very special place and we could not have done better. Being treated to a glass of house wine out in the courtyard after a busy day was a perfect way to begin a wonderful evening. The morning coffee served in your own personal pitcher with steamed milk was a perfect way to start our day. It was the most wonderful coffee we had on our trip.
You will not go wrong with this hotel. it is located in a very convenient area. We also very much appreciated the fact that the hotel is located on a canal and our water taxi pulled directly to the back door. We pulled the exterior bell rope and the staff opened the door and assisted with our luggage. We really appreciated this when we saw other travelers hauling luggage all over town, up and down steps and across bridges.
If you want the feel of a perfect authenic experience in Venice this is your place. The staff is wonderful. Enjoy!!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

charming palazzo with very atmospheric but well maintained rooms, in a charming situation, only a short walk to everywhere.

Lovely breakfast and Darwin the host is as helpful as the other reviews say. You'd be a fool to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stayed in both a suite and a classic room. If you don't want to overspend.... the Classic rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Abadessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Address: Calle Priuli, Cannaregio 4011, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Venice
#17 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#28 Family Hotel in Venice
#29 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Abadessa 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Abadessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Abadessa Hotel
Palazzo Abadessa Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Abadessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.