We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want an original palazzo experience....stay here!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Priuli, Cannaregio 4011, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 381 hotels in Venice
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“If you want an original palazzo experience....stay here!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We chose this hotel in Venice because we wanted to stay in the one of the typical palazzos converted to a hotel. The hotel was located in the heart of Venice and served as a great base for our Venetian explorations. It is situated right on a canal so a water taxi directly to the hotel dock is an easy means of transport to the city. We took a water taxi to the hotel and found the hotel very well prepared to receive guests via their canal entrance. Upon arrival, the hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Almost as quickly as we were off our water taxi our bags had already been carried up to our room for us. The hotel staff gave a quick yet through tour of our suite and we enjoyed a bottle of complimentary bottle of prosecco. The breakfast is adequate but nothing exquisite. The hotel is literally an old world palace. This comes with character and charms as well as various quirks. The entrance is grand with an original staircase. There are tall ceilings and period pieces with antique décor. The dividers of our room appeared to have been built in modern times. In the bathroom of our room (located in a loft in the second floor of the suite) we could clearly hear people talking in the room next to us. The garden area looked like an ideal place to enjoy a glass of wine. Unfortunately, the weather didn't cooperate for us to be able to relax there. It was definitely an expensive hotel but worth the experience of staying in a palace with a great location if this is what you are looking for in a Venetian hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    296
    63
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
68
229
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Booking a place to stay in Venice can be fairly daunting. I knew I'd found something special when I came across the Abadessa. We booked the early bird offer and for under €400 we got 3 nights accommodation including breakfast in one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Location is perfect: 2 minute walk to Rialto bridge, 15/20 minute walk to St.Marks square and countless restaurants and shops right on your doorstep. The vaperetto stop Ca'dore is right beside you and there is also a gondola dock. The hotel itself is stunning, pure old world decadence. Staff were friendly and always so helpful. Breakfast is traditional European buffet style, the coffee and cakes are amazing. When we checked in we were shown to room 19 overlooking the canal which was lovely however as all the floors are so old, whoever was staying above us kept us awake walking back and forth on the floorboards. When we mentioned this to the receptionist he kindly offered to change our room. He showed us a choice of two rooms on the second floor. We opted for room 25 which was beautiful! Our luggage was moved while we went out exploring. Everything in the room was spotless and extremley spacious. The Palazzo Abadessa is perfection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I researched hotels in Venice for weeks and chose the Abadessa to begin our Cruise in October.
From the moment we arrived we were treated like the royalty who lived in this beautiful, historic place in1540.
Our rooms were incredible, like something out of a Bond movie. I can't say enough about our experience. We wanted to start our trip in a very special place and we could not have done better. Being treated to a glass of house wine out in the courtyard after a busy day was a perfect way to begin a wonderful evening. The morning coffee served in your own personal pitcher with steamed milk was a perfect way to start our day. It was the most wonderful coffee we had on our trip.
You will not go wrong with this hotel. it is located in a very convenient area. We also very much appreciated the fact that the hotel is located on a canal and our water taxi pulled directly to the back door. We pulled the exterior bell rope and the staff opened the door and assisted with our luggage. We really appreciated this when we saw other travelers hauling luggage all over town, up and down steps and across bridges.
If you want the feel of a perfect authenic experience in Venice this is your place. The staff is wonderful. Enjoy!!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

charming palazzo with very atmospheric but well maintained rooms, in a charming situation, only a short walk to everywhere.

Lovely breakfast and Darwin the host is as helpful as the other reviews say. You'd be a fool to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stayed in both a suite and a classic room. If you don't want to overspend.... the Classic rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great place, location and staff. Room was beautiful- proper palatial. Easy to find and close to everything. The breakfast was excellent (and I'm Gluten intolerant- not easy to be in Italy!). Stay here for a true romantic experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and can't fault it. The rooms are fantastic and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was huge with double hand basins. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location is just off the main street and a couple of minutes walk from the Ca d'oro water taxi stop. It's about 20 mins walk to St Marks Square. Breakfast is the usual continental selection but the quality of the food was better than other hotels we have stayed at in Italy of the same star rating. If you hear a bit of yelling from the street, don't be alarmed, it's probably just kids playing ball games in the indoor court next door. When I first heard it, I thought it was people arguing in the street but I later found out it was an indoor sports area. I only heard the noise on one of the nights we stayed, so it's not a nightly occurance. There's no elevator, so if you have problems with stairs, ask for a room on the ground floor. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again if I return to Venice.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitstable
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My sister and I stay here as often as we can. We love every minute . . . Entering the walled garden and into the sumptious interior, with it's silk lined walls, oil paintings, Murano glass chandleiers, amazing floors and hand painted glorious ceilings. The air smells of flowers, light venetian music is playing - books, magasines and newspapers are there for you to rest and relax.
All is provided by the staff and management to make you feel very special and welcome each time you appear.
Fundementa Nova - ( the waterbus stop from the airport ) is 5 mins walk away.
The Grand Canal is 2 minutes walk away and yet you can hear nothing at night - it is so peaceful.
The breakfast is The Best as well - a huge, fresh selection - and all beautifully presented.
I cannot say enough about this special piece of Venice heaven.
I always feel very lucky to be able to be there and sad to leave.

Room Tip: I have stayed in lots of the rooms and they are all stunning, perfectly lovely, beautifully decorate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palazzo Abadessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Also Known As:
Palazzo Abadessa Hotel
Palazzo Abadessa Venice
Palazzo Abadessa
Address: Calle Priuli, Cannaregio 4011, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
#10 Business Hotel in Venice
#16 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Abadessa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Splendia, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Abadessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Abadessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Abadessa to your Saves list