We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience possible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Abadessa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Priuli, Cannaregio 4011, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 382 hotels in Venice
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best experience possible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I researched hotels in Venice for weeks and chose the Abadessa to begin our Cruise in October.
From the moment we arrived we were treated like the royalty who lived in this beautiful, historic place in1540.
Our rooms were incredible, like something out of a Bond movie. I can't say enough about our experience. We wanted to start our trip in a very special place and we could not have done better. Being treated to a glass of house wine out in the courtyard after a busy day was a perfect way to begin a wonderful evening. The morning coffee served in your own personal pitcher with steamed milk was a perfect way to start our day. It was the most wonderful coffee we had on our trip.
You will not go wrong with this hotel. it is located in a very convenient area. We also very much appreciated the fact that the hotel is located on a canal and our water taxi pulled directly to the back door. We pulled the exterior bell rope and the staff opened the door and assisted with our luggage. We really appreciated this when we saw other travelers hauling luggage all over town, up and down steps and across bridges.
If you want the feel of a perfect authenic experience in Venice this is your place. The staff is wonderful. Enjoy!!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    65
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
74
241
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

charming palazzo with very atmospheric but well maintained rooms, in a charming situation, only a short walk to everywhere.

Lovely breakfast and Darwin the host is as helpful as the other reviews say. You'd be a fool to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stayed in both a suite and a classic room. If you don't want to overspend.... the Classic rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great place, location and staff. Room was beautiful- proper palatial. Easy to find and close to everything. The breakfast was excellent (and I'm Gluten intolerant- not easy to be in Italy!). Stay here for a true romantic experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and can't fault it. The rooms are fantastic and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was huge with double hand basins. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location is just off the main street and a couple of minutes walk from the Ca d'oro water taxi stop. It's about 20 mins walk to St Marks Square. Breakfast is the usual continental selection but the quality of the food was better than other hotels we have stayed at in Italy of the same star rating. If you hear a bit of yelling from the street, don't be alarmed, it's probably just kids playing ball games in the indoor court next door. When I first heard it, I thought it was people arguing in the street but I later found out it was an indoor sports area. I only heard the noise on one of the nights we stayed, so it's not a nightly occurance. There's no elevator, so if you have problems with stairs, ask for a room on the ground floor. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again if I return to Venice.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitstable
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My sister and I stay here as often as we can. We love every minute . . . Entering the walled garden and into the sumptious interior, with it's silk lined walls, oil paintings, Murano glass chandleiers, amazing floors and hand painted glorious ceilings. The air smells of flowers, light venetian music is playing - books, magasines and newspapers are there for you to rest and relax.
All is provided by the staff and management to make you feel very special and welcome each time you appear.
Fundementa Nova - ( the waterbus stop from the airport ) is 5 mins walk away.
The Grand Canal is 2 minutes walk away and yet you can hear nothing at night - it is so peaceful.
The breakfast is The Best as well - a huge, fresh selection - and all beautifully presented.
I cannot say enough about this special piece of Venice heaven.
I always feel very lucky to be able to be there and sad to leave.

Room Tip: I have stayed in lots of the rooms and they are all stunning, perfectly lovely, beautifully decorate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My sister and I have stayed at this hotel a few times and absolutely love it. For us it is Venice. Incredible chandeliers and art everywhere. The decor is stunning and the room size very generous. The breakfast is the best in Venice and the staff very friendly and helpful. In fact I cannot speak highly enough it is our top choice every time and we visit Venice twice a year. I cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: All the ones we have stayed in have been lovely and different from each other so I cannot choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

This was by far the best hotel we've stayed in here in Europe. Our room was truly amazing, and the hotel itself was really beautiful. But most of all, the staff and management made our stay a truly memorable one. They made sure we felt very comfortable and at home. It felt like we were not just guests of the hotel but rather, a part of their family. We would definitely stay here when we visit Venice again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palazzo Abadessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Address: Calle Priuli, Cannaregio 4011, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Venice
#11 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#12 Family Hotel in Venice
#26 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Abadessa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Abadessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Abadessa Hotel
Palazzo Abadessa Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Abadessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.