We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' del Campo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ca' del Campo Hotel to your Saves list
Ca' del Campo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 511 | Campo della Guerra, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I choose this Hotel for our Honeymoon in Venice. I emailed the Hotel twice to say that it was our Honeymoon and the holiday rep phoned them. The Hotel is very close to St Marks Square, but away from the crowds, which was lovely. The Hotel has a security front door, entry by pressing the buzzer. The reception is on the 4th.... yes 4th floor, thats when the lift is handy. The staff were pleasant. The room was clean, airy and it was nice to have air conditioning. Breakfast was very good. Comfortable beds and soft linen. You will notice that at the start of this review I mentioned that myself and the holiday rep contacted this hotel to say that it was a honeymoon booking, but we were disappointed that they didn't make a special effort for a special event. I have emailed the hotel about this and they sent their apologises to us both. But overall this is a average 3 star hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadelcampo, Direttore at Ca' del Campo Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

as discussed during our exchange of e-mails I just have to contact you again and apologise again for having forgotten to serve you bottle of wine scheduled for the honeymooners with your travel agency.
We are anyhow pleased to learn that in spite of this unforgivable forgetfulness for which we are willing to send you a refund you have found our hotel on the average of its category.
Kindest regards,

Gianfranco Vio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    150
    25
    8
    1
See reviews for
54
196
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here at the end of August for 3 nights, chose hotel as so close to San Marco Square, and all sights. It was my daughter's 21st birthday on the day we arrived. We were given a large room on the 3rd floor. We liked the quirkiness of the hotel, going to the reception on the 4th floor and back down to the room. After we had checked in, we went for a look round (have to say we had no problem finding the hotel, we used the hotel's map on their website), came back to find a bottle of champagne in our room called 21! It was a lovely gesture and made her birthday extra special. Staff were lovely and helpful, we enjoyed the breakfast on the top floor, in the eaves! 2 minutes from San Marco Square, and maybe 10 minutes from Rialto Bridge. Hotel is clean and we slept well (probably from all that walking!). Venice is a truly beautiful place to visit, love the alleyways and finding little shops, bars and trattorias hidden away. Would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadelcampo, Manager at Ca' del Campo Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

in receipt of the nice comment written on Tripadvisor on your recent stay at our hotel we would like to thank you for having published such a positive comment because our main aim is to try to make our guests happy while they are here with us.
Hope to see you here again and kindest regards,

Gianfranco Vio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

With so many choices of hotel in Venice I choose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. We booked 2 connecting rooms. The rooms was big and spacious. The bathroom small but clean and tidy. Getting to the hotel as everyone says was a little confusing but we found it easily and then discovered an even shorted way to get to St Marks Square. The hotel felt very secure with a buzzer to get in and then super helpful staff. Thanks to the staff when we left very early they got breakfast ready so we didn't leave on an empty stomach. The location is really good. Its a few minutes walk to St Marks Square and about a 12 min walk to the Grand Canal and Rialto bridge - of course it take a lot longer when looking in all the shops along the way. A minute away from the Hotel is a small grocery store where you can get much cheaper water and sandwiches, alcohol etc. Any easy alternative if needed. Go over the bridge outside the hotel and down the alley and its just past the corner on the first street on the left.
We were recommended a great restaurant 30ms from the hotel (no service charge). The main thing I'd recommend is to be aware as to whether you are paying a service charge in a restaurant. On one occasion we got hit with this - annoying since we didn't expect it. The hotel also set us up with a great trip to a glass factory on Murano. We got a boat tour through Venice (which was amazing and normally expensive) and then the glass tour. It was well worth. it. Thanks for a great stay. Nice to stay at a hotel where they believe in proper customer service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadelcampo, Manager at Ca' del Campo Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

in receipt of the nice comment written by you on Trpadvisor about your recent stay at our hotel we wish to thank you for letting us known that you have had a great stay here and that you have appreciated the hotel service and our staff.
We thank you very much for all your good reports you may do on our hotel to all your friends and having said that we believe in a proper service.
Kindest regards,

Gianfranco Vio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is a short walk from the Piazza San Marco. Do not follow the map on the hotel website. Its quite useless. Instead just take the lane next to the clock tower at the Piazza. The Vaporetto will drop you to the San Marco stop. Just walk straight to the Piazza and walk past the Basilica on the right of you and take a small right and look up to the clock tower. Take the immediate left. Its very simple actually. We found the hotel conveniently located and could walk either to Riaalto on the right of take a left and walk to Piazza San Marco. All the restaurants and bars are in and around. The rooms are cosy and reasonably modern. Its a small and intimate hotel and the staff are generally very friendly. There was a slightly elderly gentleman at the front desk who was extremely kind and helpful. Thank you sir. The hotel organizes a water taxi to Murano. They will call the glass factory to send a boat. Once there, you have to make your way back via the public Vaporetto. This was a lovely touch. We did buy some lovely stuff from Murano. If you have time, visiting Burano is not a bad idea.
The breakfast was a bit of a let down. Especially the coffee. I would suggest that the management place a coffee machine on self service. Eitherways breakfast is not a meal period for the Italians and I guess this is not really an issue.
Overall a very nice hotel with and excellent location. Good quality rooms with very friendly personnel. Will recommend to everybody!

Thank you folks.

Tushna and Shanker

Room Tip: Take the rooms with a view of the waterways...nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadelcampo, Manager at Ca' del Campo Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

in receipt of your comment written on Tripadvisor we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed staying at our hotel and we wish to thank you for saying that you will recommend us to everybody.
Thank you also for suggesting us to place a coffee machine at self service which we have taken in consideration.
Thank you again and kindest regards,

Gianfranco Vio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I spent four nights at this hotel in August 2013, visiting Venice with a friend.
The hotel is only a few minutes’ walk from St Mark’s Square, ideally located for exploring Venice. The hotel’s website has a very useful map, showing the position of the hotel and all the surrounding points of interest. We still had difficulty finding the hotel from the water taxi drop-off at San Marco – the Venice streets are much narrower than we expected from looking at the map!

The hotel rooms are spread over four floors of an old, fairly narrow building. We were really pleased with ours, which consisted of two separate rooms (one double and one single) plus a bathroom. The rooms were air-conditioned, and we had a room safe (free) and flat-screen TV. Although the furniture was traditional it all felt quite new, and was cleaned very well every day with fresh towels.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. Breakfast was continental with no cooked food, just cereals, breads, yogurt, cheese etc. with a choice of fruit juices, tea and coffee. The hotel did not offer other meals, but there was a great choice of cafes and restaurants in the immediate area.

There were two reception desks in the hotel, on the first and fourth floors, which we found quite confusing. However, the hotel staff were all extremely helpful. My friend’s suitcase had been left behind in UK (by Monarch airlines). Although the mix-up was nothing to do with the hotel they went out of their way to make sure the case was delivered as soon as possible.

I would thoroughly this hotel for its location, room comfort and general ambience, and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadelcampo, Manager at Ca' del Campo Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

We wanted to thank you for writing a positive comment on Tripadvisor in relation to your recent stay with us and for letting us know that you found the hotel to your liking. It is always a great satisfaction for us to know that our customers have enjoyed and appreciated the hotel and our service but the greatest satisfaction is to learn that they hope to come back again.
Warm regards,

Gianfranco Vio / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon around Italy.

We were pleasantly surprised by being upgraded to a suite on arrival, with a conplimentary bottle of prosecco - was a lovely touch.

Breakfast was served in a small room on the floor your room was in, so was nearly private - as there were only 4 rooms on our floor - this was nice as it gave us a relaxed start to our day.

The only small thing was having to buzz in after being out and having to collect our key each time, this was not enough of an issue to be annoying or detract from our great experience of the hotel.

The location is very close to st marks square so it very convenient for all the main sights.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadelcampo, Manager at Ca' del Campo Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

we wanted to thank you for the positive comment you wrote on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to learn that after all you enjoyed the location of the hotel and our service. We also wanted to inform you that soon we will provide our customers with electronic keys eliminating thus that they shall ring the bell to take their keys and then having to turn them back.
Hoping that you may return to our hotel again, we are, with kindest regards,

sincerely yours

Gianfranco Vio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Good hotel which is ideal for a couple of nights.

Pros: rooms are spacious and clean

Cons: The breakfast spread was quite average and we realised that the milk and yoghurt had turned stale (they were replaced though) but in hindsight it maybe better to avoid the breakfast and eat elsewhere

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadelcampo, Manager at Ca' del Campo Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

in receipt of your comment made on Tripadvisor on your recent stay at our hotel we would like to thank you for considering our hotel fairly positive and recommendable for not more then a couple of nights because of the breakfast that you have found rather repetitive. We will take note of this and we will try to make all possible improvements.
Kindest regards,

Gianfranco Vio / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' del Campo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' del Campo Hotel

Address: San Marco 511 | Campo della Guerra, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#92 Family Hotel in Venice
#118 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' del Campo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ca' del Campo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca Del Campo Hotel
Ca Del Campo Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' del Campo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.