We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio to your Saves list
Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio
1.0 of 5 Inn   |   San Marco 2624, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 433 Venice B&B and Inns
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel is perfect budget accommodation, nothing flash. While the room is very small the decor is charming in line with the venetian style. The room and bathroom were very clean and air conditioning and wifi worked well. The hotel is located minutes from San Marco Square and other attractions. My only criticism is that they seemed pushy for us to pay in cash for the room, before check out date too.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    87
    44
    25
    18
See reviews for
25
121
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel was prompt and courteous to respond to emails prior to my stay. I requested a quieter room.

The location is great and very close to St.Marks Square. The room was very small but looked authentic to the venetian style, I have to say.. it was clean and well presented.. The air-con was very noisy and didn't seem to be cool enough. But hey, your in a great location and the whole of Venice is on your doorstep.. Close to the Academia water bus stop.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, in fact extended our stay by one night from the 3 previously booked.. It is an excellently located hotel, and our room overlooked the bay. It is in the centre, with a very helpful and friendly staff and very spacious room with a kitchenette, a entrance room and a big bathroom. The only downside is that housecleaning is not everyday, but this was hardly a problem for us, since fresh towels can be picked up from the reception.

Our experience of Trieste was beautiful because we had a nice place to come back to every evening!

Room Tip: find a bay facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel is very close to the academia bridge and a short walk to San Marco Square. We booked a room in the "Residenza" section of the hotel which is the better side. Our room was remarkably large by European standards as was our bathroom. Everything was very clean as well. Breakfast was an adequate European style breakfast consisting of coffee, juice, pastries, cookies, and bread. The staff upon check-in were very helpful and nice. The only unusual thing was that they have guests enter through a back door with a buzzard every time you come back to the hotel. You look up at the camera then staff buzz you in. Not a major issue considering the rates are reasonable when compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

As we were there for just one day, staff asked us to pay and fulfill the checkout formalities at the time of check in only, with the excuse that there will be rush in the morning. It was very rude just at the check in moment and there was no rush in the morning.
Location was hard to find and was too much away from the main bus stop. So I highly recommend against this if you have too much luggage. Entry, exit path is also very shady and there were no lights in the stairway.
Room was well decorated from inside at it is shown in the pictures but there was no view from windows.
Breakfast was just ok..
In short for the price we paid, it was total disaster

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here because it was one of the few reasonably priced hotels in Venice (especially near the San Marco area!). The front desk workers were extremely friendly and spoke good english... although no one told us there was breakfast at the hotel! I happened to notice a mention about breakfast being provided on the booking website just now as I was preparing to write reviews. It would have been nice for them to mention or remind us that there is breakfast there since food in Venice overall is super expensive.

We did not stay in one of the fancy rooms pictured, but our small room was sufficient for what we needed on our budget trip. There was a tiny blood stain on the sheets so we asked for new ones. Otherwise the room was very clean.

The shared bathrooms were OK. They were actually kept surprisingly clean although they got a little bit less so later at night after the maids had probably left for the day. For the most part we didn't have to wait at all to use the restrooms/showers and they were right outside of our room so that was no problem. One morning when we woke up earlier (around 7/7:30am) we did have to wait a while for a shower.

Overall, I would recommend this place to anyone who is on a budget and doesn't need "fancy" accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio

Address: San Marco 2624, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes walking from St. Mark's Square 'Hotel San Maurizio' offers a dual solution for your stay in Venice. Offering an affordable & practical 1-star hotel with rooms with private bathroom or with shared bathroom, characterized by its low price and hard to surpass quality.The rooms have a private bathroom, are decorated in Venetian style, have queen-sized beds ,can accommodate one or two persons and offer hair-dryer,air conditioning/heating, Free toiletries. The exposed beams and parquet floor give the rooms a pleasant intimacy.Those with shared bathrooms have, in the harmonious simplicity of Arte Povera decor, space for up to three people with an additional bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Residenza San Maurizio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.