We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of All'Angelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added All'Angelo Hotel to your Saves list
All'Angelo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 403, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #236 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Brighton
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We couldn't have asked for more. The room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom massive, staff friendly and great breakfast. The location was fantastic - just a minute from the square. We enjoyed sitting overlooking the canal, sipping tea and wine watching the gondolas go by. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Sir, Madam

we thank you so much for your comments , guest's satifaction is our goal and it's a great pleasure to read that you enjoy your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again as precious guest.
best regards

Elisabetta Pagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    193
    119
    54
    56
See reviews for
101
279
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The location of this hotel was absolutely divine and as this was my first time in Venice where the hotel was located was perfect.

The staff of the hotel are extremely helpful and friendly, they go out of their way to help and is was a pleasant surprise to have a cake waiting for us in our room as it was our honeymoon.

The rooms themselves are clean and simple and that's about it, the beds are not overly comfortable and are very hard.

Favourite part of this hotel... sitting on the ledge overlooking the canal watching the boats go by

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Madam,
we are glad to read that you enjoy your stay in Venice and appreciate our location and staff.

We hope to welcome you again in the next future!

best regards

Elisabetta Pagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Not having stayed in Venice before we are not able to tell how this compares to other similar priced accommodation in the city so can only rate this against what we are used to.
Previous reviews were accurate. Our room was large and kept well clean. we did not have a view and so the room was dark and needed lights on all the time. Few maintenance issues with light bulbs needing replacing which required prompting to get fixed
Breakfast OK if you like cereals and pastries. Eggs and bacon cold.
Strong smell of sewage in public areas especially in lobby and as this was the only WiFi area you would not wish to access the internet for too long!!!
Reception staff not very warm or welcoming and so we avoided using them as a reference point.
Location worked well for us. Only 5-10 mins stroll from water taxi and around the corner from San Marco.
Great buzzy pizza place next door and on the last evening we found a smashing place to eat Dreams Planet Pub ( see sep review)

Room Tip: Beware many rooms do not have a view and are very dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Sir, Madam
I'm sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations

rooms with canal view are available with an additional supplement and should be reserved in advance, of course in a city like Venice, where all the palaces are very closed one next to each other, a canal view room makes a big difference.

The smell...yes in happens sometimes and there's really nothing to do, it depends of the very low tide .

The staff... I'm proud to say that the reception staff is very very friendly and warming with our clients and , reading the guest's comments , I'm sure they are doing well...

best regards


Elisabetta Pagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The location and surrounding atmosphere made up for any of the short comings of the hotel. The appeal of the hotel was helped by it being in a 17th Century building and if you like history this hotel is a good starting place in Venice. The upside of the stay was the helpful staff and street entrance bar which offered a happy hour, not to be missed. Rooms were a bit small and stuffy, especially when the zircon did not work. But when in Venice your there for the atmosphere and history and the Angelo is not a bad starting point.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

many thanks for your review, very glad to read that you really appreciate the unique athmosphere of a XII century palace, preserved and restored several times since then in order it more consistent with its ancient form


Hope to welcome you in the magical Venice...

Best regards

Elisabetta Pagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I had a very pleasant stay at this hotel, the reception staff were mainly friendly which is nice as they are the first and last people you deal with. Rooms were cleaned everyday and were very comfortable, perfectly suitable for our needs. Plenty of wardrobe space and the bathroom was lovely. The breakfast was really nice as there was something for everyone. Very enjoyable long weekend, I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Office Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Mrs Carolyn,

it's a great pleasure for us to read your comment about our hotel and our services, we always do our best to satisfy our valued guests and what you wrote means that we are doing well!!!
A big thank from me and my staff and , of course, we hope to welcome you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This hotel,is in a fantastic location just near the St Marks square. All the staff are excellent & friendly, he staff on the reception were very helpful and had all the information we needed. They even helped me with my basic Italian! The breakfast was faultless with lots of choice, bacon,eggs etc. Our room was a lovely large clean room,with great bathroom with a great shower. The room was above the reception area which allowed my phone, ipad etc to connect to the WiFi from downstairs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you for taking some of your time to leave such a nice review about our Hotel All'Angelo if Venice, Italy! We are glad you enjoyed our very central location: we really are one stone's throw from San Marco's Square! We understand we met your expectations, therefore this gives us joy and satisfaction: your happiness is our only goal!! We hope to welcome you again, perhaps in the near future, always here... always at the Hotel All'Angelo! And thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My partner booked this Hotel as part of a British Airways package for a suprise treat for my birthday. On arrival we were shown to our room and the bell boy would not leave without a tip, whilst it is normal standard practice to give a tip we didnt want showing to our room and had no money to give him as we had just arrived. He seemed determined to wait, not a great start.

The room we were given was 308, I have trouble believing this is a 4 star hotel on sight of this room! Lucky to give it 1 star. The furniture was broken and decrepid, the mini bar did not work, the phone did not work, the curtains did not close, Air conditioning didn't work, there were marks all over the walls, the room was small and there was a loud, low humming noise in the room which would have made sleeping difficult. This was awkward as it had been a suprise treat and I did not want to have to complain about where he had booked.

I walked down to reception (phone didn't work) and explained these things and asked to be moved rooms. The chap on reception told me he would see what he could do. 5 minutes later we were moved to a very nice room with a lovely view, the kind I would expect for a 4 star hotel. We were happy for the rest of the stay in the Hotel, although the air con still did not work in our new room, I didnt want to ask to be moved again as we didn't need it and I didn't want to be moved back to the room from hell. The location was brillliant, the breakfast was lovely and looking at previous comments the breakfast room must have moved as the room was bright and airy. Large selection of cakes/pastries, meats, rolls, scrambled eggs, bacon etc. The room was cleaned everyday and have no complaints about the cleanliness.

So as per the title of my review it was very good and very bad. The first room we were given should not be offered to paying guests. Looks like you only get a decent room if you complain, not my idea of running a successful business.

Room Tip: If offered room 308 say no!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Madam,

we are grateful to whom that help us to improve our services but we are really upset when we read such a review that seems done only to damage us and our work.

First of all I strongly refused what you declare about our bell boy, no one ask for a tip, never!

Second, room 308 is a standard double room in perfect conditions, minibar works, heating works and anyway there is a maintenance man at guest's disposal for any needs.
Despite this, you were moved and for all your stay in a JUNIOR SUITE WITH CANAL VIEW and without any additional supplement.
Before thinking of your impressions about our business it looks like you need to pay more attention in making hotel bookings...just to be sure do not waste your expectations

best regards



Elisabetta Pagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to All'Angelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about All'Angelo Hotel

Address: San Marco 403, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — All'Angelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your All'Angelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Angelo Hotel Venice
Angelo
Albergo All Angelo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage All'Angelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.