We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of All'Angelo Hotel

Save Saved
You added All'Angelo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
All'Angelo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 403, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #233 of 382 hotels in Venice
Tinley Park, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

What a wonderful location! The hotel was quaint and appeared to be very old. Staying there was a bit of an adventure, but we enjoyed ourselves and loved being able to walk everywhere. On our last trip to Venice, we stayed on the island of Lido, and even though that room was nicer, with a lovely view, the commute back and forth to the "real" Venice was a pain. Staying so close to St. Mark's square was perfect.
At 1:00 in the morning of our first night at the All'Angelo Hotel, my husband woke up with water dripping onto him from the ceiling above. Two things: we weren't on the top floor, and it wasn't raining. No idea what was dripping. We called downstairs and they told us they only had a smaller room available. We took it because ... well, what choice did we have? Anyway, the room seemed to be the exact same size. Didn't matter. We just wanted to get back to sleep. The management told us that they'd have a mini-suite available for us the next day as an upgrade for our inconvenience. That was nice. The following morning we moved all our stuff over there, but within minutes decided to return to the interim room. Even though the suite had a full bathtub, it only had one of those handheld showers. We prefer stationary showers, which the interim room had. And a lovely shower it was. Really great. The bathroom was crazy small, but the shower was awesome.
Anyway, when we told the manager behind the desk that we'd stay in room 107, he asked if we were bothered by the smell. We shook our heads. We hadn't noticed.
Unfortunately, we did notice the smell soon after. Yeah... it wasn't great. I think we may have been over their garbage area, or sewer spot. We're the sort of people who roll with the punches, however, and not really wanting to change rooms again, we decided to tough it out. We slept with the windows open and that helped.
Breakfast was good, and we enjoyed ourselves in Venice. We spent very little time in the room, so the slight misadventure didn't really impact us all that much.

Room Tip: Our first floor room had a bit of a smell. Third floor room was nice, but check out the ceiling befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you so very much for your nice review about our Hotel All'Angelo! We were happy to read that you enjoyed our location (we are less than 5 minutes walk from the most beautiful square in the world!). We were sorry that you experienced a problem with your room, however we are happy that you enjoyed the alternative room we gave you. Our staff is always at guest's disposal, for anything he may need and it is a pleasure, for us, to take good care of our clients. We hope to be able to meet you again, in the future, always here at the Hotel All'Angelo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    172
    95
    57
    42
See reviews for
83
200
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked this hotel through natwest your points and e bookers and it looked fab on the web with a 4 star rating, how images can be deceptive!! the location was spot on and for us this was the only thing the brochure got right, the hotel was in a very poor state of repair, our room, which was an upgrade with a canal view, had a leaking ceiling from abaove, the beds were rock hard and the a/c was not working at all and the room was ridiculously hot. For us a 4 star rating is one below the very best you can get, well this hotel just wasn't anywhere near a 4 star, 3 star maybe but really 2 stars would be nearer the mark. The location really was the only thing that deserved a 4 star rating. Very very poor, but loved Venice!!

Room Tip: canal view room a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager. at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you for taking time to write a review about our Hotel All'Angelo. We are sorry you did not enjoy our hotel, however we can assure you that the photographs of the web-site refer to our hotel and not to some other places. Please note that, should you not like your room, our front desk staff is always at your full disposal to show you a different one; or more than a different one... untill you are completely satisfied. Please also note that the air conditioning cannot be switched on untill the month of May (yesterday, March 26th 2013, we experienced a snow-fall with an average temperature of +2,5°C), so if the room was hot you could have switched the heating off... or, once again, contact our front desk about it. All of our staff stays with great pleasure at your disposal to help you. Instead, we are pleased you enjoyed our unbeatable location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

just yards from Piazza San Marco!
Our room even had a view of the Campanile! It was spacious, the beds were comfy, and the ensuite shower room was lavishly equipped with warm, thick towels.
Breakfast consisted of a vast range of continental breakfast items, plus scrambled eggs and bacon, unlimited coffee and smiling waitresses.The addition of fresh fruit to the tinned fruit cocktail would have been nice.
The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful.
Tv...had over 800 stations but no guide booklet in the room so no idea if any were English language (we couldn't find one). We could have asked Reception, but weren't really that bothered!

Room Tip: 318 has a view of the campanile, but one feels a bit like Quasimodo..the Bells! the Bells! Take ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Sir,
we really appreciated your nice review about our Hotel and all the suggestions are welcome to improve our service.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you in the next future.

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Don't think we could have chosen a better location, right in the hub, minutes walk from all the attractions, the hotel is simple and traditional, the room was massive, as was the bathroom with plenty of clean towels which were hot and fluffy just what was needed after hours sightseeing !
Continental breakfast had plenty of choice, I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to friends, good value for money

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Madam,
it's a great pleasure to read your comment , we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our location and quality of our services.
We hope to welcome you again very soon !
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good Hotel, with helpful friendly and attentive staff in a great location just off St Marco's Square .. highly recommended this hotel as a base to stay in the middle of most attractions. Resaurants and bars in close proximity.

Room Tip: We had room 302 which was big and spaceious, with high ceilings and large windows looking out out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Sir,
we appreciate so much your review on tripadvisor and we are so happy to read you spent a nice stay with us.
it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you in the next future
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We entered a different world through this hotel situated just 100 metres from Piazza San Marco. Our luggage was taken up to our 4th floor rooms; toilet with bidet, lower room with sofa, wardrobe and furniture and adjoining shower and bathroom (though no plug for bath!!). Stairs to mezzanine with huge bed, television and mini bar, but the best thing was the view from the full height window onto a right angle of canals and the classic Venetian vista of tall buildings, funnel chimneys and walls suffering from the depravation of centuries of water. From this window we were able to watch tourists taking gondola trips,lines of umrella'd visitors crossing the canal by the small bridge, limousine water taxis picking up fares from the hotel's canalside as well as early morning refuse barges and delivery boats. But the hotel itself was fascinating. A book on the reception desk explained that in the middle of the 20th century the owner had been interested in modern art and the bar had been a meeting place for Futurist painters at the time Peggy Guggenheim was living in the city and founding her own museum on the other side of the Grand Canal. The hotel has a collection of this art some original, some signed artist's proofs as well as litho prints and posters. These are displayed, albeit in ageing frames, throughout the hotel and it is worth wandering around the hallways to see a large photograph of Picasso and other works of art. Our room included a Le Corbusier print and various posters. Unfortunately we were unable to look into other rooms. On a more prosaic subject the buffet style breakfast was enough to set you up for a day's sightseeing and I can recommend taking a traggheto across the Grand Canal. This only takes a few minutes and costs just 2 euro but is quite an experience as it is customary to take this gondola trip standing whilst the wakes of ferries and water taxis passing at 90 degrees crash against the sides of the boat. We were warned of the high price of coffe in Venice but 2 coffees at a smart cafe next to the Accademia Art Gallery only cost 2.80 euro for the 2 and even at Marco Polo Airport it was only 3 euro so half the price of Costa in the UK. So, if you have an interest in art and want to see a completely different way of life wake up smell the coffee get over to Venice and stay at the All' Angelo.

Room Tip: recommend any room with canal view, wander hallways rather than use left
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
we would like to thank you for your very interesting review about our Hotel All'Angelo. Not many of our valued clients have a wide knowledge of contemporary art as you showed us writing your own, personal review. We were particularly happy to read you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the canal view bedroom we allocated. We sincerely hope to meet you again and stay at the All'Angelo once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sobral, CE
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

All Angelo Hotel is an excellent hotel, simple, traditional and elegant. Rooms excellent and very close to Piazza San Marco. The service staff is very attentive and they do everything to make your stay comfortable and quiet.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that have views of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam
it's a pleasure to read such a nice review about our hotel and our staff.
You will be more than welcome in the next future, thanks again and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to All'Angelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about All'Angelo Hotel

Address: San Marco 403, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — All'Angelo Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your All'Angelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Angelo Hotel Venice
Angelo
Albergo All Angelo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage All'Angelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.