We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extremely convient place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Selvadego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Selvadego to your Saves list
Palazzo Selvadego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 1124/B, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Montreal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An extremely convient place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel belongs to the Monaco hotel located on the grand canal. The check-in is done at the hotel, but the check-out is done at the Monaco Hotel. If you take a water taxi, you will be dropped of at the Monaco hotel (if you take the Vaporetto you will be dropped a few steps from the Monaco hotel) but you can also ask someone at the front desk of the Monaco hotel to help you with your luggage and bring it to the Palazzo Selvadego at no extra charge. The location of this hotel is perfect. You are right on the Piazza San Marco, you have an ATM right in front of the hotel incase you need to withdraw some money. You are also right next to a Gondola Station. The hotel has paid Wifi, but since you are right next to the HardRock Café, you can get access to a free Wifi there (I believe the password for the wifi is hardrock or hardrockcafe). Also, unless you have the breakfast included in your hotel stay, the regular price for the breakfast is 35 euros per person and the breakfast is served at the Monaco Hotel. Personally, I would recommend opting out of this option and going to have breakfast at numerous local cafés around for much cheaper (but be careful, the cafés located right on the Piazza San Marco are among the most expensive in Venice!).
Our room was comfortable and the bathroom was clean, but I also noticed many dusty places around the room and on the ceiling. I would recommend this place for its location and proximity to the most important touristic attractions in Venice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    91
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
18
122
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

We visited Venice for 3 nights at the end of June and stayed at this hotel due to the central location having only 3 days to tour the city. The hotel was an excellent choice, literally right at an entrance to St marks square. The room was very comfortable and was large with a big bathroom. We didnt have a view to speak off although there were 3 windows which let in lots of natural light. Breakfast at the Monaco was excellent, we sat for an hour each morning right on the canal watching the gondoliers get ready for the day and watching thr cruise ships go by. This was always the most relaxing part of our day and we look forward to our morning to sit with a nice glass of prosecco (which is included). I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a central stay to explore the wonderful sights of Venice!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

- good staff
- excellent room
- excellent location
- average price

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Palazzo Selvadego was located very close to the San Marco waterbus stand, thereby making it very easy to commute to any other part of Venice.. You can take the Alilaguna waterbus to this stop from the airport, or take a tour of the grand canal using boat 1 or 2. It was less than two minutes walk from St. Mark's square, basilica and Doge's palace, the must see attractions of Venice.

You check in at Hotel Monaco and Grand Canal, arguably one of the nicest hotels in Venice. Palazzo Selvadego and Hotel Monaco, I assume, have the same owner, and have shared staff. After you check in, the Monaco hotel staff take you to Palazzo Selvadego (which might be difficult to find otherwise). The service at the hotel was very good. The staff at the tiny reception area in Selvadego spoke good English, was helpful in giving directions and suggestions for places to go.. I would say that you get the Hotel Monaco service at Palazzo Selvadego price..

I was in a single room. Even though it was small in size, it was adequate in all respects, and believe me, rooms in Venice are small in general.. The room was well kept, well-furnished, had a safe, and a nice big bathroom with modern fittings.. It is not as fancy as Monaco, but great nevertheless.. The only downside was that Palazzo doesn't have its own restaurant.. So, you have to go to Monaco or outside for breakfast and other meals..

In summary, I had a very pleasant stay at Palazzo Selvadego.. It seemed to have a good balance of price, service, and location.. I might stay here again..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILADELPHIA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

1 minute from St Marks. Nice size room, very nice bathroom, beamed huge ceiling, soooo comfortable. Block and a half from the Grand Canal! Location! Location! Location! Superb.
Tied in with the the Hotel Monaco less than a block away where you had breakfast. Very good breakfast but the view outside on the deck next to the Gondola's was perfect. You couldn't ask for more in Venice!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was the nicest hotel that we stayed at during our trip to Italy. Beautiful, clean room with a couple of windows that opened up overlooking the restaurant behind us. It was actually nice to look out and see everything going on outside. The bathroom was so nice, double sinks, and the shower was very roomy. The location was great too, just a very short walk from Piazza San Marco, although it was a little hard to find, we just asked for help and soon found it. The best part of all was having breakfast at Hotel Monaco, everything was delicious! And we sat outside overlooking the Canal and the Gondoliers. It was the most beautiful view that I have ever seen!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This absolutely delightful hotel tucked away on a side street by the Piazza San Marco was hard to find but well worth the search. It surpassed my expectations by far. The next time I visit, however, I will follow the suggestion of the concierge. He said to go directly to the easy-to-find Hotel Monaco and tell them that you are registered at the Palazzo Selvadego, The bellman will take you there--and carry your luggage as well. Note: The Palazzo is actually part of the Hotel Monaco, and the breakfast they serve at the Hotel Monaco is worth the short walk and the extra expense.

Room Tip: We had rooms in various parts of the hotel. The area is quiet at night, and even rooms in the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Selvadego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Selvadego

Address: San Marco 1124/B, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#99 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Selvadego 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Four Star Superior Hotel, owned by the Benetton Group, as the Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal, started to be a hotel from the end of the XII century on, when it was already chosen by ambassadors, prelates and important people of the Venetian life.With its late-Gothic facade in Venetian Byzantine style it surely is one of the most remarkable and significant examples of the Venetian architecture of the late thirteenth century. Today, the 34 rooms of Palazzo Selvadego are equipped with every comfort and immersed in a calm and relaxing atmosphere and are able to transmit from the first moment the uniqueness of this building, thanks to its design and also to the exposed beams in the rooms. Services include safety box, minibar, TV, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries in the bathrooms and a kettle with various teas and coffee available to the client. Breakfast is served in the restaurant of the Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal which is just 70 meters from the Palazzo Selvadego and according to the weather it will be served on the magnificent terrace of the Restaurant "Grand Canal" with breathtaking views on the Grand Canal and St. Mark’s Basin. This place has always been the meeting point of the mundane life in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Selvadego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Del Selvadego Venice
Palazzo Del Selvadego Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Selvadego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.